How Does Medicaid Pursue Recovery?

Estate Recovery will occur when the State files a
statement of claim against the estate of a deceased
Medicaid member. Notification will be mailed to the
representative of the estate to advise them of the
claim. The personal representative should contact the
Estate Recovery Unit to receive detailed information
about the recovery process.

What is a Lien?

“Lien” means a claim, encumbrance or charge
against the Medicaid member’s real or personal prop-
erty on account of medical assistance paid to the
member correctly under the State Plan. A lien may be
placed on the real property of a member who is an
inpatient of a nursing facility, intermediate care facili-
ty for the mentally retarded, or other institution or a
lien may be placed on both real and personal proper-
ty of a member after the member’s death.

How Should Notification Be Given of a

Medicaid Member's Death?

The provider, attorney, personal representative, or

case manager (if applicable) should contact the Estate

Recovery Unit by fax (see contact information on back

of brochure) to provide notification of a member's

death within 30 days of death. The initial notification

should include:

- Full name of the deceased member;

- Medicaid ID number and/or social security number;

-+ Date of death;

- Name, address, and telephone number of the
personal representative and/or attorney handling
the estate.

Once notification has been received, the representative
and/or attorney will be contacted promptly by DCH
and advised in detail on how to proceed with the
recovery process.

Do You Have Questions?

Please call our office for any further assistance.
Phone: (770) 916-0328
Fax:  (678) 569-0066

Georgia Department of Community Health
Estate Recovery Unit
6300 Powers Ferry Road, Suite 600-288

Atlanta, GA 30339
www.dch.georgia.gov

Online access to Georgia government

The Medicaid Estate Recovery Unit is administered
by Health Management Systems, Inc. under con-
tract with the Department of Community Health.
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What is Estate Recovery?

Estate Recovery is a program, required by the feder-
al government in every state, in which the assets of
deceased Medicaid members are used to reimburse
the taxpayers for long term care provided through
Medicaid.

Funds are recovered from the member's estate after
his/her death for the cost of these services. The
total value of the estate must be valued over
$25,000 for estate recovery to apply. An estate
includes all real and personal property (homes,
land, vehicles, cash, bank accounts) held individual-
ly or jointly. All assets of a deceased Medicaid
member are subject to recovery including property
held with a life estate interest.

Why does Georgia have an Estate

Recovery Program?

The Medicaid program is a joint federal/state program.
Federal law, enacted in 1993, requires states to devel-
op and enforce an Estate Recovery Program. The
Department of Community Health (DCH) has the
responsibility to recover money paid on behalf of the
Medicaid member up to the full amount that Medicaid
paid. This requirement was established by Title XIX of
the Social Security Act.

To ensure that Georgia complied with the federal
requirement for estate recovery, Chapter 111-3-8 of
the Rules of the Department of Community Health for
Medical Assistance was passed which establishes and
governs the Estate Recovery Program.

Who is Affected By Estate Recovery?

The Estate Recovery Program applies to a person
who receives any of the following services paid for
by Medicaid:

- A person of any age living in a nursing home;
- A person of any age living in a long-term care
program outside their own family's home;

- A person 55 years of age or older who has a
worker coming to their home to help them

with health care needs.

An example would be a nurse
that comes to the member's
home to help with medica-
tions or to change bandages.

Another example would be
a worker who comes to the
member's home to help
with bathing, cleaning, or
getting dressed.

What Medicaid Expenses Must Be

Reimbursed?

Qualified expenses incurred by Medicaid on behalf of
affected members for any services provided in a long-
term care facility or in the home when provided as an
alternative to institutionalization must be reimbursed.
Recoverable in-home services include:

- Nursing facility services

- Personal care services

-+ Home and community-based
services

-+ Hospital services

- Prescription drug services

Are There Any Exceptions to Estate

Recovery?

In order to protect the family of the Medicaid
member, the following rules must be observed
before any money can be collected:

+  The Medicaid member must have passed away
and the surviving husband/wife must have also
passed away. Until both have passed, recovery
will be delayed.

-+ The Medicaid member must not have depend-
ent children younger than 21 years of age.
Until the child reaches age 21, recovery will
be delayed.

- The Medicaid member must not have any
dependent children of any age with a disability
or blindness that has been confirmed by a gov-
ernment agency. Recovery will be delayed until
the disabled/blind child has also passed away.

What is an Undue Hardship?

The Medicaid program will waive or delay recovery if
an undue hardship exists. The two conditions for an
undue hardship are:

-+ The asset to be recovered is an income-producing
farm of one or more of the heirs, and the annual
gross income is limited to $25,000 or less;

-+ Recovery of assets would result in the applicant
becoming eligible for governmental assistance
based on need and/or medical assistance
programs.

If the heir feels he/she could be considered for an
undue hardship waiver, a request may be made within
30 days of receiving Medicaid's notice against the
estate, or upon the sale, transfer, or conveyance of
the real property subject to a TEFRA lien. The Estate
Recovery Unit will provide detailed instructions on
how to file for an undue hardship waiver in the
Medicaid notice.



