
  
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Dear: 
 
 

Important Information Regarding Your Dependent(s)’s Health Benefit Coverage 
 

 
The Dependent Eligibility Verification process requires documentation to verify coverage eligibility for the  
dependent(s) listed on the reverse side of this letter.  A chart is also included on the reverse side that provides  
the relationships eligible for coverage and a description of what documentation is required for that relationship.   
As shown in this chart, required documentation varies based on your relationship to your dependent(s). 

 
Note:  DO NOT send original documents or the actual certified copy, which would have a raised seal.  A copy  
of the documents with the seal clearly visible is acceptable.  Maintain a copy of the documents you submit for  
your own records, since we will NOT RETURN the documents you submit. 

 
Each piece of documentation must have your SSN written on it, must be attached to this letter, and then sent to:  
State Health Benefit Plan, Dependent Verification Unit, P. O. Box 38342, Atlanta, GA  30334.  Your depen- 
dent(s)’s coverage will be retroactively suspended to the coverage effective date if the required documentation  
is not received and approved within 45 days of the date of this letter.  The Plan has the authority to determine  
whether or not the documentation satisfies the Plan’s requirements.  Every effort allowable under the law will  
be made to recover from you any and all payments previously made by the SHBP on behalf of your ineligible  
or undocumented dependent(s). 

 
If you do not have the required documents available, you may contact the following for assistance: 

 
• For certified copies of marriage licenses, begin by contacting the County Clerk in the county and state in  

which you applied for the marriage license.  If you were married in Georgia, begin by contacting the  
Department of Human Resources (DHR), Vital Records Office at 404-679-4702. 

• For certified copies of birth certificates, contact the DHR, Vital Records Office located in the state in which  
your dependent was born.  In Georgia, the number is 404-679-4702. 

 
Any fees associated with obtaining documents are your responsibility.  If you have any questions related to this  
letter, contact the SHBP Dependent Verification Unit at 800-610-1863 Option 7 or, in the Atlanta calling area  
404-656-6322 Option 7. 

 
Thank you for your attention to this matter. 

 
Sincerely,  

 
 

State Health Benefit Plan 
 
 
 

Tim Burgess, Commissioner

 
2 Peachtree Street, NW 
Atlanta, GA 30303-3159 
www.communityhealth.state.ga.us Sonny Perdue, Governor 



 
Relationship Required Document(s) 

Spouse Copy of certified marriage certificate or copy of your most recent Federal Tax Return 
(filed jointly with spouse) with financial information blacked out and including 
legible signatures of you and your spouse.   

Natural Child 
or Student 
Child 

Copy of certified birth certificate listing parents by name.  Birth cards without parent 
information are not acceptable. 

Stepchild 1. Copy of certified birth certificate showing your spouse is the natural parent; and 
2. Copy of certified marriage certificate showing the natural parent is your spouse and 
3. Notarized statement that dependent lives in your home at least 180 days per year 

 
MEMBER’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER MUST BE 

             WRITTEN ON EACH DOCUMENT.  DEPENDENT 
VERIFICATION CANNOT BE COMPLETED IF YOUR 

  SSN IS NOT INCLUDED. 
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