Active Employee Eligibility Provisions

Eligibility rules for the plan for State employees:

"Regular full-time" means you are scheduled to work at least 30 hours a week and you work at least 30 hours a week consistently. "Full-time" employee means you are classified by your employer as a full-time employee. "Part-time" employee means you are classified by your employer as a part-time employee.

Not Eligible: Individuals classified by the employer as temporary (expected to work less than nine months), seasonal, intermittent workers or independent contractors. In general, you are eligible to enroll yourself and your eligible dependents for coverage if you meet one of the descriptions below. A regular full-time employee of a department, board, agency or commission, General Assembly, or community service board of the State of Georgia, A part-time employee of the General Assembly who had coverage prior to January 1981 or an administrative or clerical employee of the General Assembly, A full-time district attorney, assistant district attorney or a district attorney's investigator of the superior courts appointed pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section 15-18-14, A full-time secretary or law clerk employed by district attorneys and judges and employed under O.C.G.A. Sections 15-18-17- 19, A regular full-time employee who receives salary or wage

payment from a county board of health or county board of family and children services, A member of the General Assembly, A regular full-time employee of a State authority that participates in the Employees' Retirement System and participates in the Plan by paying all required contributions to

the Plan, A regular full-time employee of an entity that offers the Plan to its employees pursuant to a current contract with the Department of Community Health. In some cases, employees described above may continue SHBP coverage after resignation with 8 or more Years of Service or retirement with an annuity. (See Provisions for Eligible Annuitants, Eligible Former Employees & Those Considering Retirement or Resignation after 8 Years of Service Section details on page 79.) Employees who terminate employment with less than 8 Years of Service may be able to continue SHBP coverage through COBRA. (See Provisions for Eligible Annuitants, Eligible Former Employees & Those Considering Retirement or Resignation after 8 Years of Service

Section details on page 79.)

Eligibility rules for the plan for public school teachers:

Teachers who are employed not less than half time, which must be at least seventeen and a half (17½) hours per week, in the public school systems of Georgia are eligible to participate. An eligible teacher shall not include any independent contractor, emergency or temporary worker, or person employed by a charter school that has not elected to offer SHBP coverage, or that has revoked SHBP coverage. Eligible teachers must be employed not less than half time, which must

be at least seventeen and a half (17½) hours per week, and are further defined as: A person employed in a professionally certificated capacity or position in the public school systems of Georgia;

A person compensated in a professionally certificated capacity or position in a charter school that has elected to offer SHBP coverage and has not revoked SHBP coverage; A person employed by a regional or county library of Georgia;

A person employed in a professionally certificated capacity or position in the public vocational and technical schools operated by a local school system;

A person employed in a professionally certificated capacity or position in the Regional Educational Service Areas of Georgia;

A person employed in a professionally certificated capacity or position in the high school program of the Georgia Military College.

In some cases, employees described above may continue SHBP coverage after resignation with 8 or more Years of Service or retirement with an annuity. (See Provisions for Eligible Annuitants, Eligible Former Employees & Those Considering Retirement or Resignation after 8 Years of Service Section details on page 79.) Employees who terminate employment with less than 8 Years of Service may be able to continue SHBP coverage through COBRA. (See Provisions for Eligible Annuitants, Eligible Former Employees & Those Considering Retirement or Resignation after 8 Years of Service Section details on page 79.)

Eligibility rules for the plan for other public school employees.

Any person who is not eligible under the rules above for the plan for public school teachers, who is employed by a local school system that has not withdrawn from the plan for public school employees in accordance with requirements of the DCH, or who is employed by a charter school that has elected to offer SHBP coverage and has not revoked SHBP coverage, and who meets the following work requirements: If you are eligible to participate in the Teachers Retirement System or its local equivalent, you must work at least 60% of a standard schedule for the position, as determined by the employer, but not less than 20 hours a week, and you may not be classified by your employer as an independent contractor or emergency or temporary worker. If you are eligible for the Public School Employees' Retirement System, you must work at least 60% of the standard schedule for your position, but not less than 15 hours a week, and not be employed as an independent contractor or on an emergency or temporary basis. If you are an employee of a charter school who is not working in a certificated position or capacity, you must work at least half-time, and not be employed as an independent contractor or on an emergency or temporary basis. In some cases, employees described above may continue SHBP coverage after resignation with 8 or more Years of Service or retirement with an annuity. (See Provisions for Eligible Annuitants, Eligible Former Employees & Those Considering Retirement or Resignation after 8 Years of Service Section details on page 79.) Employees who terminate employment with less than 8 Years of Service may be able to continue SHBP coverage through COBRA. (See Provisions for Eligible Annuitants, Eligible Former Employees & Those Considering Retirement or Resignation

Eligible dependents are:

Your legally married spouse; as defined by Georgia law.

after 8 Years of Service Section details on page 79.)

- Your dependent children who are:
- 1. **Natural or legally adopted children or stepchildren under age 26**. Natural Child child for which the natural guardian has not relinquished all guardianship rights through a judicial decree. Eligibility begins at birth and ends at the end of the month in which the child reaches age 26. Adopted Child eligibility begins on the date of legal placement for adoption and ends at the end of the month in which the child reaches age 26. Stepchild eligibility begins on the date of marriage to the natural parent. Eligibility ends at the end of the month in which the child reaches age 26 or at the end of the month in which he or she loses status as a step child of the enrolled member, whichever date is earlier.
- 2. **Other children under 26.** A dependent child for whom the enrolled member is legal quardian. Eligibility begins on the date legal quardianship is established and ends at the end of

the month in which the child reaches age 26 or at the end of the month in which legal guardianship terminates, whichever is earlier.

3. Your natural children, legally adopted children or stepchildren who are disabled prior to age 26 from categories 1 and 2 above who are physically or mentally disabled prior to age 26, and are primarily dependent on the enrolled member for support and maintenance. You will be required to provide copies of certified documents such as a marriage license, birth certificate, adoption contract or judge-signed court order to verify your dependent relationship and the Social Security number.

Note: Coverage will not be updated until verification is approved. The Plan has the right to determine whether or not the documentation satisfies Plan requirements. For a Covered Dependent age 26 & older and disabled before age 26:

You must:

- file a written request for continuation of coverage within 31 days of the 26th birthday to continue coverage.
- when requested by the Plan, you must re-certify your dependent(s). If you fail to re-certify your dependent within 31 days of the request, your dependent will no longer be eligible to be covered under the Plan until verification is received. If documentation is received after 31 days, the plan will cover the dependent retroactively to the beginning of the current plan year or date of qualifying event, whichever is later, as long as the correct tier premium is paid.

To enroll a disabled child as a new dependent (must be disabled prior to age 26), you must:

- make a request within 31 days of your hire date or qualifying event date OR add the child during the Active Open Enrollment period; and
- provide medical documentation that must be approved by the Plan.