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Medicaid and Estate Recovery 
 

 

Overview 
By law, Estate Recovery is the reimbursement claim that 

Medicaid has against the estate of a deceased Medicaid 

member. Since 1993, states have been required to have an 

Estate Recovery Program under the provisions of the 

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. 
 

Estate Recovery by the Georgia Department of Community 

Health (DCH) applies to Medicaid members who at the time 

of their death: 
 

Were of any age and an inpatient in a nursing 

facility, intermediate care facility for people with 

mental retardation or other mental institution. 

Were 55 years of age or older when they received 

home- and community-based services instead of 

care in an institution. 
 

The Estate Recovery statute has existed in Georgia since 

1981. Only estates with a gross value of less than $25,000 

are excluded from Estate Recovery. 
 

The Definition of “Estate” 
For Estate Recovery, the estate is defined as all real 

and personal property under the probate code, and real 

property passing by joint tenancy, right of survivorship, life 

estate, survivorship, trust, annuity, homestead, or any other 

arrangement. The estate also includes excess funds from a 

burial trust or contract, promissory notes, cash and personal 

property. 
 

Notifiying DCH about a Member’s Death 
DCH must be notified in writing within 30 days of the death 

of the Medicaid member by mailing notice to the Georgia 

Department of Community Health, Estate Recovery Unit, 

P.O. Box 1984, Atlanta, GA 30303. NOTE: If the personal 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Hardship Criteria 
 

The following criteria will be used to 

determine whether an undue hardship 

exists: 

The asset to be recovered is the 

sole income-producing farm of one 

or more of the heirs, is the sole 

income source of the family, and 

the annual gross income is limited 

to $25,000 or less; or 

The recovery of assets would result 

in the applicant becoming eligible 

for governmental public 

assistance based on need and/or 

medical assistance programs. 

http://www.dch.georgia.gov/
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An Overview of Medicaid’s Estate Recovery 
 

representative of an estate makes a distribution either in whole or in part of the property of an estate without 

having reimbursed the Medicaid agency, the personal representative may be held personally liable for the 

amount of the Estate Recovery claim. 
 

Delayed Recovery 
Recovery is delayed if: 

The deceased member’s spouse is still living. 
 

The deceased member has a living child under the age of 21. 
 

The deceased member has a living child of any age who is blind or permanently and totally disabled 

pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
 

Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act (Pre-Death) Liens 
According to the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act (TEFRA), Medicaid may place a lien on the home of 

a member who is institutionalized if there is not a reasonable expectation that the member will return home. 

However, recovery on the lien will be delayed as long as any of the following persons are living in the home: 

The member’s spouse. 
 

The member’s living child under the age of 21. 
 

The member’s living child of any age who is blind or permanently and totally disabled pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. 

A sibling of the member who has an equity interest in the home and was living in the member’s 

home for at least one year on a continuous basis immediately before the date that the member was 

institutionalized. 

A child of the member who was living in the member’s home for at least two years on a continuous 

basis before the date that the member was institutionalized and who has established to the 

satisfaction of the department that he or she provided care that permitted the member to live at home 

rather than be institutionalized. 
 

For More Information 
For additional information, contact the Medicaid Estate Recovery Unit at 770-916-0328 or visit the DCH 

website at www.dch.georgia.gov. Members with questions about Medicaid Estate Recovery may submit them 

to GAEstateRecovery@dch.ga.gov, or write to Georgia Department of Community Health, Estate Recovery 

Unit, 900 Circle 75 Parkway, Suite 650,  Atlanta, GA 30339, or fax to 678-569-0066.  For program 

information, please visit the following website: http://hms.com/ga/medicaidrecovery/ 

http://www.dch.georgia.gov/
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