
 
DRUG ABUSE TREATMENT AND EDUCATION PROGRAM APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

For your convenience, an application checklist has been created to outline the required documents for each 
application submission.  Please upload all required documents in the Drug Abuse Treatment and Education 
Program (DATEP) application packet.  As a reminder, all policies and procedures must be established as part of the 
requirements for regulations and readily available upon request.  
 
Upon application submission and payment, if required, you will receive an acknowledgement email.  
Applications are reviewed in the order they are received by our office.  The initial review time frame is 
30 business days from the application submission date.   

 

The official rules for Drug Abuse Treatment and Education Program are on record with the Georgia 
Secretary of State’s Office at  http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/.  A courtesy copy of the rules for Drug Abuse 
Treatment and Education Program can be found on Healthcare Facility Regulation Division website at 
https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations . 

 
The online application portal can be accessed at https://gahles.dch.georgia.gov/.  All correspondence regarding 
the status of your application will be sent to the email address provided for the contact person on your 
application. If additional documentation is required, you will receive an email from 
hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov containing a link to the application portal and a verification code. Please 
open the email, copy the invitation code, and paste it into the provided link to check your application status. 
Upload the requested documents, confirm that all documents have been uploaded, and click submit. A 
confirmation email will be sent, indicating that your documents will be reviewed within 14 business days. Failure 
to upload the requested documents will result in the denial of your application. 
 
For information regarding Change of Ownership (CHOW), please review Frequently Asked Questions on DCH 
website - https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facilities-provider-information/hfrd-chow-faq . 
 
For questions regarding DATEP Regulations, surveys, plan of corrections, permits, facility letters, Administrator 
and/or contact information update, i.e., email address, phone numbers, email the Behavioral Health Team at 
hfrd.drug@dch.ga.gov. 
 
For general application questions, email the HFRD Applications and Waivers Team at 
hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov . 
 
Note:  Application fees are non-refundable.  All licensure fees must be paid in full prior to receiving a 
permit or license. 
 
Initial 
1.  Evidence from Georgia Secretary of State that the corporation, LLC, etc. Is registered, if applicable. If not 
applicable, provide other supporting documentation showing legal authority.    
2.  Documentation of city/county zoning approval or applicable documents 
3.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
4.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
5.  A copy of proof of ownership/legal control of the property (deed, lease, or bill of sale)  
6.  Fire Safety Inspection Report or Certificate of Occupancy performed by the state fire marshal, the proper local 
fire marshal or state inspector, with no violations or hazards. (The inspection must be dated within 12 months of 
application submission date).     
7.  Facility Floor Plan (To include areas conducive to privacy for counseling, group activities, reception/waiting 
areas, and bathrooms which to ensure privacy for collection of urine specimens and/or any other areas DATEP 
services will be offered). 
8.  Certificate of Occupancy for the building or other supporting documentation 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Frules.sos.state.ga.us%2Fcgi-bin%2Fpage.cgi%3Fd%3D1&data=04%7C01%7Csandy.dawson%40dch.ga.gov%7C3cdcf1116ee54b84749308d9b4d17163%7C512da10d071b4b948abc9ec4044d1516%7C0%7C0%7C637739633946343711%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000&sdata=V%2BMM%2FT8BDKir0cNWLZau0VY%2BwnXkuusJ5oCTZC95QKU%3D&reserved=0
https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations
https://gahles.dch.georgia.gov/
mailto:hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov
https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facilities-provider-information/hfrd-chow-faq
mailto:hfrd.drug@dch.ga.gov
mailto:hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov


9.  Provide a copy of the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment Certification or Waiver (CLIA) if diagnostic 
drug testing is performed on-site. If testing will be performed off-site, provide a copy of the CLIA of the vendor 
that will be performing the drug testing.   
10.  Sanitation Agreement or Invoice  
11.  Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees) 
 

Change of Ownership (CHOW) 

1.  Evidence from Georgia Secretary of State that the corporation, LLC, etc. Is registered, if applicable. If not 
applicable, provide other supporting documentation showing legal authority.     
2.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
3.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
4.  A copy of proof of ownership/legal control of the property (deed, lease, or bill of sale) 
5.  Copy of the executed legal transaction documents for the business entity (Bill of Sale, closing documents, etc.).  
This document must be signed by the previous governing body/owner and disclose the effective date of change of 
ownership/closing. 
Note:  While the sale is pending, the CHOW application can be submitted and note that the bill of sale will be 
submitted when the sale is completed.  This will allow HFR to start the review process prior to the ownership 
change. 
 
Relocation 
1.  Documentation of city/county zoning approval or applicable documents  
2.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
3.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
4.  A copy of proof of ownership/legal control of the property (deed, lease, or bill of sale)  
5.  Fire Safety Inspection Report or Certificate of Occupancy performed by the state fire marshal, the proper local 
fire marshal or state inspector, with no violations or hazards. (The inspection must be dated within 12 months of 
application submission date).     
6.  Certificate of Occupancy for the building or other supporting documentation 
7.  Facility Floor Plan (To include areas conducive to privacy for counseling, group activities, reception/waiting 
areas, and bathrooms which to ensure privacy for collection of urine specimens and/or any other areas DATEP 
services will be offered). 
8.  Provide a copy of the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment Certification or Waiver (CLIA) if diagnostic 
drug testing is performed on-site. If testing will be performed off-site, provide a copy of the CLIA of the vendor 
that will be performing the drug testing.  (For new relocation address) 
9.  Sanitation Agreement or Invoice  
10.  Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees) 
 
Initial Branch 
1. Evidence from Georgia Secretary of State that the corporation, LLC, etc. Is registered, if applicable. If not 
applicable, provide other supporting documentation showing legal authority.     
2.  Documentation of city/county zoning approval or applicable documents 
3.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
4.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
5.  A copy of proof of ownership/legal control of the property (deed, lease, or bill of sale)  
6.  Fire Safety Inspection Report or Certificate of Occupancy performed by the state fire marshal, the proper local 
fire marshal or state inspector, with no violations or hazards. (The inspection must be dated within 12 months of 
application submission date).     
7.  Facility Floor Plan to include area conducive to privacy for counseling, group activities, reception/waiting areas 
and bathrooms which assure privacy for collection of urine specimens and/or any other areas DATEP services will 
be offered. 
8.  Certificate of Occupancy for the building or other supporting documentation 
9.  Sanitation Agreement or Invoice  
10.  Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees) 
 
Relocation of a Branch
1.  Documentation of city/county zoning approval or applicable documents  
2.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
3.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
4.  A copy of proof of ownership/legal control of the property (deed, lease, or bill of sale)  



5.  Fire Safety Inspection Report or Certificate of Occupancy performed by the state fire marshal, the proper local 
fire marshal or state inspector, with no violations or hazards. (The inspection must be dated within 12 months of 
application submission date).     
6.  Certificate of Occupancy for the building or other supporting documentation 
7.  Facility Floor Plan to include areas conducive to privacy for counseling, group activities, reception/waiting areas 
and bathrooms which assure privacy for collection of urine specimens and/or any other areas DATEP services will 
be offered. 
8.  Sanitation Agreement or Invoice  
9.  Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees) 
 
 

 

Change in Service (add) to the Existing Program 

1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
 
Change in Service (remove) to the Existing Program 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
Add Transitional Housing Unit
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
3.  The residential transitional housing unit address(es) must be shown on the application.  If additional space is 
needed to record transitional units’ addresses, please include a separate page.  
4.  Fire Safety Inspection Report or Certificate of Occupancy performed by the state fire marshal, the proper local 
fire marshal or state inspector, with no violations or hazards. (The inspection must be dated within 12 months of 
application submission date).     
*If the transitional housing is a single dwelling, i.e., house, duplex, etc. a new fire safety inspection is required.  If 
the transitional housing unit is in an apartment complex, an updated fire inspection report from the leasing 
agent/complex is required. * 
 
Facility Name Change 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
 
Governing Body Name Change (not a change of ownership) 
1.  Evidence from Georgia Secretary of State that the corporation, LLC, etc. Is registered, if applicable. If not 
applicable, provide other supporting documentation showing legal authority.       
2.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
3.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
4.  Provide a letter on business letterhead explaining the governing body name change and the effective date. 
 
Decrease in capacity 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 

Increase in capacity 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
3.  Fire Safety Inspection Report or Certificate of Occupancy performed by the state fire marshal, the proper local 
fire marshal or state inspector, with no violations or hazards. (The inspection must be dated within 12 months of 
application submission date).     
4.  Facility Floor Plan (To include areas conducive to privacy for counseling, group activities, reception/waiting 
areas, and bathrooms which to ensure privacy for collection of urine specimens and/or any other areas DATEP 
services will be offered).  
 



Change in ASAM Level 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
 
Change in Population Served 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
 
 
 
 
MAT Services 
Please visit the portal to submit MAT Affidavit for DATEP Providers.  The instructions are as follows:   
1.  Select Facility Type:  DATEP 
2.  Select Application Type:  MAT Affidavit for DATEP Providers 
3.  Upload MAT Affidavit for DATEP Providers 
4.  Submit



O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(f)(1)(B) Affidavit

By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a license, permit or registration, as 
referenced in O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1, from the Department of Community Health, State of 
Georgia, the undersigned applicant verifies one of the following with respect to my application 
for a public benefit: 

1)________ 

2)________ 

3) _________

I am a United States citizen. 

I am a legal permanent resident of the United States. 

I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and 
Nationality Act with an alien number issued by the Department of 
Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. 

My alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or 
other federal immigration agency is:  _ 

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years of age or older and 
has provided at least one secure and verifiable document, as required by O.C.G.A. 

§ 50-36-1(f)(1)(A), with this affidavit.

The secure and verifiable document provided with this affidavit can best be classified as: 

_______________________________________________________________. 

In making the above representation under oath, I understand that any person who knowingly 
and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit 
shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20, and face criminal penalties as allowed by 
such criminal statute. 

Executed this the ____day of ____________, 20 ___  in, _______________,  _____________. 
(city)     (state). 

Signature of Applicant 

Printed Name of Applicant 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE 

_______  DAY OF___________________20 _______ 

___________________________________________ 

NOTARY PUBLIC 

My Commission Expires: 

___________________________________________ 



 

 
Medication-Assisted Treatment (MAT) Affidavit  

For  
Drug Abuse Treatment and Education Program (DATEP)  

 
 

Name of Facility: 
(DATEP Licensee)  

 
 

 
Name of Affiant:  

(Authorized Representative of 
Governing Body)  

 
 Facility Address: 

 
 

COUNTY OF:  

STATE OF:  

 

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority personally appeared who, being by me duly 
sworn, affirms as follows: 

 
A. I, the above-named Affiant, have personal knowledge of the matters addressed in this 

affidavit and the attestations made herein. 
 

B. I am over eighteen (18) years of age, and I am of sound mind and capable of making this 
affidavit in support of the facts stated herein. 
 

C. I am a duly authorized representative of the governing body of the above-named DATEP 
Licensee (hereinafter “DATEP”) which is licensed by the Healthcare Facility Regulation 
Division, as a Drug Abuse Treatment and Education Program. 
 

D. I acknowledge that DATEPs are subject to regulation pursuant to O.C.G.A. §§ 26-5-1 et seq., 
Comp. R. & Regs.111-8-19, and Comp. R. & Regs.111-8-53, hereinafter known as the “body 
of controlling laws.” 

  
E. The DATEP will adhere to all rules and regulations as outlined in the body of controlling laws.   
 
F. Buprenorphine & Suboxone will only be prescribed and dispensed by a holder of a Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA) Controlled Substance Registration Certificate permitting 
the holder to prescribe and dispense Schedule III medications for Opioid Use Disorder.  
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G. The DATEP will ensure that all Medication-Assisted Treatment (MAT) services provided by 

the DATEP are compliant with applicable state and federal laws and regulations. 
 
H. The DATEP does not function as a methadone clinic which would require licensure as a 

Narcotic Treatment Program pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 26-5-44. 
 
I. I understand and acknowledge that the Healthcare Facility Regulation Division will rely upon 

the sworn statements made herein.  
 
 
 

 

 Signature of Affiant  Date of Signature 
 
 
 
 Printed Name of Affiant 
 
 
___________________________________________________ 
     Title/Position of Affiant 
 
 
 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON 
 
 
THIS THE  DAY OF  20   
 
 
Notary Public 
 
My Commission Expires:    



 

 

 

  

Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees  
 

 
  

Licensure Activity Fee Frequency 

Application Processing Fees: 

• New Application 

• Change of Ownership 

• Change in Service Level (Requiring on site visit) 

• Name Change 

$300 Upon submission 

Initial License Fee 

(Same an annual licensure activity fee for each program 

type) 

Varies by program Submitted prior to 

issuance of license 

Involuntary Application Processing fee after unlicensed 

complaint investigation 

$550  

Follow-up visit to periodic inspection  $250 License renewal date 

 

License Type 

 

 

Fee 

 

Frequency 

Adult Day Centers    
Social Model $250 Annually 

Medical Model $350 Annually 

Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Centers (ASC)* $750 Annually 

Assisted Living Communities (ALC)   

25 to 50 beds $750 Annually 

                                                            51 or more beds $1,500 Annually 

Birthing Centers $250 Annually 

Community Living Arrangements*(CLA) $350 Annually 

Drug Abuse Treatment Programs* (DATEP) $500 Annually 

End Stage Renal Disease Centers (ESRD)   

1 – 12 stations $600 Annually 

13 - 24 stations 1,000 Annually 

25 or more stations $1,100 Annually 

Stand Alone ESRD Facilities Offering Peritoneal Dialysis Only $800 Annually 

Home Health Agencies*(HHA) $1,000 Annually 

Hospices*(HSPC) $1,000 Annually 

Hospitals*   

1 to 24 beds $250 Annually 

25 to 50 beds $750 Annually 

51 or more beds $1,500 Annually 

ICFMRs - Intermediate Care Facilities / MR 

(private)  

$250 Annually 

Narcotic Treatment Programs (NTP)  $1,500 Annually 

Memory Care Certificate  
for Assisted Living/Personal Care Homes  

$200 Annually 



 
 

 
   

 

 

Nursing Homes   

1 to 99 beds $500 Annually 

100 or more beds $750 Annually 

Personal Care Homes (PCH)   

                                                                   2 to 24 beds $350 Annually 

25 to 50 beds $750 Annually 

51 or more beds $1,500 Annually 

Private Home Care Providers*(PHCP)  Per Service  

Companion Sitting $250 Annually 

Personal Care Services $250 Annually 

Nursing Services $250 Annually 

Traumatic Brain Injury Facilities $250 Annually 

X-ray Registration $300 Initial Registration Only 

 

MISCELLANEOUS FEES  

 

Civil monetary penalties as finally determined  Case-by-case basis 

Late Fee – 60 days past due $150 Per instance 

Permit replacement $50 Per request 

List of Facilities by license type (electronic only) $25 Per request 

Returned Check Charge- as assessed by bank < $50 Per instance 

 

ACCREDITATION DISCOUNT INFORMATION 

 

 

*Eligible for a 25% discount if currently accredited by a nationally recognized accreditation organization 

approved by the department as having standards comparable to specific state licensure requirements and a 

complete copy of the current decision is submitted to the department at the time of annual license fee renewal.  

Currently the department will accept current accreditation at the level Medicare (CMS) accepts for deemed 

status from a CMS approved organization.  Below is the list of the current accreditation organizations approved 

by this department.  

 

Accreditation Organization Program 

Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC)  Ambulatory Surgery 

Accreditation Commission for Health Care, Inc (ACHC) CLA, HHA, Hospice, PHCP 

American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities (AAAASF) Ambulatory Surgery 

American Osteopathic Association Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program 

(AOA/HFAP) 

CAH, ASC, Hospital 

Center for Improvement in Healthcare Quality (CIHQ) Hospital 

Commission on the Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) CLA, DATEP, PHCP 

Community Health Accreditation Program (CHAP) Hospice, PHCP 

Council on Accreditation (COA) CLA, DATEP 

Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL) CLA, DATEP, PHCP 

Det Norske Veritas Healthcare (DNV Healthcare) CAH, Hospital 

The Joint Commission (JC) ASC, CAH, CLA, DATEP, 

HHA, Hospice, Hospital, 

PHCP 
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