#### HOSPICE APPLICATION CHECKLIST

For your convenience, an application checklist has been created to outline the required documents for each application submission. Please upload all required documents in the Hospice application packet. As a reminder, all policies and procedures must be established as part of the requirements for regulations and readily available upon request. *To prevent any delays in the application review process, please submit all documents at once.* 

Upon application submission and payment, if required, you will receive an acknowledgement email. Applications are reviewed in the order they are received by our office. The initial review time frame is *60 business days* from the application submission date. Failure to submit documents accurately and timely can result in a longer review period.

The official rules for Hospice are on record with the Georgia Secretary of State's Office at <a href="http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/">http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/</a>. A courtesy copy of the rules for Hospice can be found on Healthcare Facility Regulation Division website at <a href="https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations">https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations</a>.

The link to access the online application portal is <a href="https://forms.dch.georgia.gov/Forms/HFRD-Applications-and-Waivers-Intake">https://forms.dch.georgia.gov/Forms/HFRD-Applications-and-Waivers-Intake</a>. All written correspondence regarding the status of your application will be sent to the email address provided on your application. If additional documentation is requested, you will receive an email from <a href="workflow@dch.ga.gov">workflow@dch.ga.gov</a>. Please open the email from <a href="workflow@dch.ga.gov">workflow@dch.ga.gov</a>, click on the link at the bottom of the email OR copy and paste the entire link in browser, and upload the requested documents. Please continue to monitor your email, including your Junk/Spam folder for emails from <a href="workflow@dch.ga.gov">workflow@dch.ga.gov</a>. This is an automated response, and replies will not be read.

For information regarding Change of Ownership (CHOW), review Frequently Asked Questions on DCH website - https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facilities-provider-information/hfrd-chow-faq .

For questions regarding Hospice Rules and Regulations, surveys, plan of corrections, permits, facility letters, Administrator and/or contact information update, i.e., email address, phone numbers, email the Hospice Team at hfrd.hospicehh@dch.ga.gov .

For general application questions, email the HFRD Applications and Waivers Team at hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov.

Note: Application fees are non-refundable. All licensure fees must be paid in full prior to receiving a permit or license.

# Initial

1. A completed Application for a license to operate a Hospice, signed and dated.

# Note: 10 County limit on initials

- 2. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of photo ID
- 3. Notarized Affidavit of Compliance (Select Hospice)
- 4. Notarized Affidavit for Hospice Nursing Services and County Approval
- 5. Satisfactory determination letter, dated within 12 months of the application submission date, from the DCH Georgia Criminal History Check System (GCHEXS). All administrators and individual owners with 10% or more ownership interest must complete a fingerprint-based background check through GCHEXS. The owner of the facility may request access to GCHEXS by going to GCHEX. For Fingerprint Background Check rules and regulations, visit the Secretary of State website at 111-8-12. For additional information, please visit DCH OIG, or by calling at 404-463-7154 or by emailing at gchexs.user@dch.ga.gov.

Note: If there are no individuals that own 10% or more interest, provide a letter on company letterhead stating this information. The letter must be signed by the owner or owner representative.

- 6. Copy of Business License from local city/county government. The business license must be current with the facility name and address. If you are unable to obtain a business license, provide a written explanation from your local government stating the reason.
- 7. Copy of Secretary of State, Certificate of Incorporation, if incorporated; or if not incorporated, listing of IRS Tax ID number is acceptable.
- 8. Hospice budget plan for 1st year.
- 9. Description of services as defined by the Governing Body. Rule 111-8--37-.07 (1)-(6)
- 10. Designation of the individual responsible to act for the administrator during any period the administrator is absent and the individual responsible for the Quality Management program.

# Rule111-8-37-07 (5)(f)

- 11. Staff list, indicating whether employed, contracted, or volunteer.
- 12. Name, qualifications, and signed job description (including copy of professional license if applicable) of administrator. Meets qualification requirements of either (check): Licensed healthcare professional with one year supervisory or management exp. in a hospice setting; or Education, training, and experience in health service administration with two years supervisory or management Experience in a hospice setting.

Job duties requirements must include:

- -Ensures that policies are developed w/ the IDT team
- -Ensure employment of qualified staff
- -Ensures policies and procedures are implemented
- -Ensures a qualified DON and sufficient staff
- -Ensures there is an orientation, training, & supervision for every employee and that they complete these programs
- -Ensures that there are effective communication mechanisms for staff, patients, and families.
- 13. Names, qualifications, and signed job descriptions for all staff members, including verification of licensure where applicable.
- 14. Copy of orientation curriculum. Hospice concepts and philosophy Patient Rights Hospice policies and procedures includes Reporting of abuse and neglect, disaster preparedness, and fire safety and emergency evacuations. **Rule 111-8-37-.13(2)**
- 15. Evidence of an initial health screening for each employee and volunteer completed by a MD, DO, NP, or PA, TB screening and Hepatitis vaccinations or signed documentation of refusal/declination. **Rule** 111-8-37-.13(5)
- 16. Copies of any contracts for professional services from independent contractors.
- 17. Copy of procedure for reporting abuse or neglect requirement for employees/volunteers and

confirmation that all employees/volunteers have completed abuse or neglect training. **Rule 111-8-37-.13(4)** 

- 18. A signed statement from a licensed pharmacist (GA License) that policies and procedures for management of drugs and biologicals have been reviewed and approved. Provide a copy of the pharmacist's license. Rule 111-8-37-.21 (2)(a)
- 19. Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees).

# **Change of Ownership (CHOW)**

- 1. A completed Application for a license to operate a Hospice, signed and dated.
- 2. Copy of Secretary of State, Certificate of Incorporation & Articles of Incorporation
- 3. Copy of tax identification number
- 4. Copy of the executed legal transaction documents for the business entity (Bill of Sale, closing documents, etc.). This document(s) must be signed by the previous governing body/owner and disclose the effective date of change of ownership/closing.

Note: While the sale is pending, the CHOW application can be submitted and note that the bill of sale will be submitted when the sale is completed. This will allow HFR to start the review process prior to the ownership change.

- 5. Organizational charts of the governing body pre- and post-sale transaction
- 6. Copy of Business License from local city/county government. The business license must be current with the facility name and address. If you are unable to obtain a business license, provide a written explanation from your local government stating the reason.
- 7. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of photo ID
- 8. Satisfactory determination letter, dated within 12 months of the application submission date, from the DCH Georgia Criminal History Check System (GCHEXS). All administrators and individual owners with 10% or more ownership interest must complete a fingerprint-based background check through GCHEXS. The owner of the facility may request access to GCHEXS by going to GCHEX. For Fingerprint Background Check rules and regulations, visit the Secretary of State website at 111-8-12. For additional information, please visit DCH OIG, or by calling at 404-463-7154 or by emailing at gchexs.user@dch.ga.gov.

Note: If there are no individuals that own 10% or more interest, provide a letter on company letterhead stating this information. The letter must be signed by the owner or owner representative.

## New Hospice Inpatient Unit (IPU) or Residential Unit

- 1. A completed Application for a license to operate a Hospice, signed and dated.
- 2. Submit the floor plan for review by this office
- 3. An attestation statement indicating that the IPU site will be owned and operated by the same governing body and that one medical director will assume responsibility for the medical component at this location
- 4. Attach organizational chart delineating lines of authority, professional and administrative control for the hospice and the additional site
- 5. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of photo ID

# Georgia Department Of Community Health Healthcare Facility Regulation Division Health Care Section 2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SE, East Tower 17th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30334

	APPLICATION FOR A LICE	NCE TO OPERATE A HOSPIC	E	
	(PLEASE T	YPE OR PRINT)		
Pursuant to provis	sion of O.C.G.A § 31-7-170 et seq. application	n is hereby made to operate a Hospice v	which is identified as follows:	
SECTION A: IDENT	TIFICATION			
Date of Application:				
Type of	☐ Initial	☐ Name Change	Other	
Application	☐ Change of Ownership(CHOW)	☐ Address Change		
	☐ Change of Services	☐ Bed Capacity Change		
Name of Hospice	, ,	. , ,	County	
Street Address		City and Zip Cod	е	
E-mail Address		Telephone:		
		FAX:		
Mailing Address (If dif	fferent from Street Address)			
Name of Administrato	or	Official Title		
Official Name and Ado	dress of Governing Body			
omoiai riamo ana ria	aroso or Coverning Body			
Counties Served By H	Hospice			
Section B: TYPE (	OF OWNERSHIP (Check Only	v One)		
PROPRIETARY (Pr	ofit):	NON-PROFIT:		
☐ Individual	☐ Partnership	☐ State	☐ Hospital Authority	
☐ Corporation	☐ LLC	☐ County	☐ Church	
☐ Other(Specify) ☐ City		•	☐ Other(Specify)	
Agent for Service – Name Address and Telephone Number				
Proof of Ownership A	ttached:			
☐ Certificate of Incorp	poration (Copy)			
Other:	1 ()/			

SECTIO	SECTION C: SERVICES PROVIDED						
☐ Home Care Only	☐ Free Standing Acute Inpatient Services # of Beds	Combined	Residential Services	☐ Free Sta Residential # of Beds_	Services		
	Address:	Address:		Address:			
	N D: STATEMENT OF COMPL at this hospice will comply with the Ru	_	ulations for Hospi	ces. Chapter 290-9-4	3. pursuant to the		
Official Co	ode of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.)	31-7-170 et s					
application	application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.						
Signature of	Signature of Administrator or Executive Officer of the Governing Body  Title  Date						
TO BE FILLED OUT BY STATE AGENCY ONLY							
DATE RE	CEIVED	<del> </del>					
LICENSE	NUMBER ISSUED		APPROVED	HOME CARE SERVICE	DDOCDAM DIDECTOR		
EFFECTIV	/E DATE			HOWLE CARE SERVICE	I NOGINAIN DINECTOR		

FORM 3533 (REV. 06/2006) Page 2

# O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(f)(1)(B) Affidavit

By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a **license**, **permit or registration**, as referenced in O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1, from the **Department of Community Health**, **State of Georgia**, the undersigned applicant verifies one of the following with respect to my application for a public benefit:

1)	I am a United States	citizen.			
2)	I am a legal permane	ent reside	ent of the	United States.	
3)	I am a qualified alien of Nationality Act with Homeland Security o	an alie r other f	n numbe ederal imr	r issued by t nigration agen	the Department of cy.
	My alien number iss other federal immigra				
The undersigned appli has provided at least of § 50-36-1(f)(1)(A), with	one secure and verifial			•	•
The secure and verifia	ble document provide	d with th	is affidavi	t can best be o	classified as:
In making the above and willfully makes a shall be guilty of a vio such criminal statute.	false, fictitious, or fra	udulent	statement	or representa	ation in an affidavit
Executed this the	_day of	_, 20	_ in,	(city)	, (state).
			Signature	of Applicant	
			Printed Na	ame of Applica	nt
SUBSCRIBED AND S	WORN BEFORE ME	ON THIS	STHE		
DAVOE					
DAT OF	20	)	_		

# Brian P. Kemp, Governor

Russel Carlson, Commissioner

2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SE, East Tower, 17th fl. | Atlanta, GA 30334 | 404-657-5700 | www.dch.georgia.gov

# **AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE**

I,, the under	ersigned duly authorized representative of
Name of Owner/Applicant	ersigned duly authorized representative of
, hereby Governing Body Name	attest that in furtherance of its application
for licensure, said entity has developed policies	and procedures mandated under the
rules and regulations indicated below. If the app	plication for licensure is approved by the
Department, these policies and procedures sha	Il be implemented immediately by the
facility. Additionally, Governing Body Nan	understands that once licensed, it is
subject to unannounced periodic inspections at	which time the policies and procedures
shall be readily available for review for sufficience	cy and compliance with applicable
rules and regulations. Deficient policies and pro	ocedures may subject the facility to
sanctions pursuant to Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 11	1-8-25.
1) Assisted Living Communities Chapter 111-8-63	
2) Home Health Agencies Chapter 111-8-31	
3) Hospices Chapter 111-8-37	
4) Narcotic Treatment Programs	



5)	Personal Care Homes Chapter 111-8-62	
6)	Private Home Care Providers Chapter 111-8-65	
This	_day of, 20	
		Signature of Authorized Representative
		Business/Facility Name
	BED AND SWORN ME ON THIS THE	
	=20	
NOTARY		
IVIY Comm	ssion Expires:	

Georgia Department of Community Health Healthcare Facility Regulation Division

# Affidavit for Hospice Nursing Services and County Approval

	Name of Parent Facility			
	Name of Affiant (Authorized Representative of Parent Facility governing body):			
	Parent Facility Address:			
	COUNTY OF			
	STATE OF:			
	BEFORE ME, the undersign sworn, deposed as follows:	ed authority pers	sonally appeare	d who, being by me duly
Α.	I, the above-named Affiant, affidavit the attestations made	•	knowledge of th	ne matters addressed in this
В.	I am over eighteen (18) year affidavit in support of the facts	-	ım of sound min	nd and capable of making this
C.	named Parent Facility located the Healthcare Facility Regulo.C.G.A. §§ 31-7-170et seq.	d at the above list lation Division, a Short Title known	ed address whic s a Hospice, as as the Georgia	the governing body of above- th is currently licensed through pursuant to and defined in Hospice Law, and Ga. Comp. R. & known to as the governing body of
D.	I swear or affirm that the Lice	nsee has	(total nu	mber of facilities) located at:
	1			
	2			
	3.			
	Us	se additional shee	ts if necessary.	
Ε.	Pursuant to the aforementione to the following county(s):	ed body of laws, th	e Affiant request	s to provide hospice services
	1.	2.		3.
	4.	5.		6.
	7.	8.		9.
L	1	lse additional she	ote if pococcary	



# Georgia Department of Community Health Healthcare Facility Regulation Division

Affidavit for Hospice Nursing Services and County Approval

Page 2 of 2

- **F.** I understand that on-site nursing services must be available within one hour of notification where terminally ill patients or the patient with an advanced and progressive disease who has contracted for nursing services experiences a symptom management crisis situation.
- **G.** I understand the Hospice must be able to present, when requested, documentation including date and time received of each notification or request where a terminally ill patient or patient with an advanced progressive disease request nursing services and document the nurse's on-site arrival time.
- **H.** I understand the Hospice must maintain an on-call log for all calls received after normal business hours, the log record must contain, but not be limited to, the of name of caller, date and time of the call, arrival time of the nurse to the residence, and the purpose of the call. These records must be kept for a minimum of two (2) years as defined by the governing body of laws.
- I. I understand that Licensee must remain in substantial compliance with the Healthcare Facility Regulation Division, Rules, and Regulations for the Hospice to maintain licensed access to the requested counties, and that such license may be disciplined by citations, fines, and up to revocation by Healthcare Facility Regulation Division for Licensee's failure to substantially comply with the Rules.
- **J.** I hereby submit this Affidavit for the Healthcare Facility Regulation Division's consideration to grant licensed access for the counties referenced above to the above-named Licensee.
- **K.** I understand and acknowledge that the Healthcare Facility Regulation Division will rely upon the sworn statements made herein in making a determination regarding the licensed access to service the counties requested.

Signature of Affiant	Date of Signature
Printed Name of Affiant	
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON	
THIS THEDAY OF	20
Notary Public	
My Commission Expires:	

# **SCHEDULE OF LICENSURE ACTIVITY FEES**

Licensure Activity	Fee	Frequency
Application Processing Fees:	\$300	Upon submission
New Application		
<ul> <li>Change of Ownership</li> </ul>		
<ul> <li>Change in Service Level (Requiring on site visit)</li> </ul>		
Name Change		
Initial Li ense Fee	Varies by program	Submitted prior to
(Same an annual licensure activity fee for each		issuance of license
program type)		
Involuntary Application Processing fee subsequent to	\$550	
unlicensed complaint investigation		
Follow-up visit to periodic inspection	\$250	License renewal date
LICENSES	5	
dult Day Centers		
Social Model	\$250	Annually
Medical Model	\$350	Annually
mbulatory Surgical Treatment Centers (ASC)*	\$750	Annually
ssisted Living Communities (ALC)		
25 to 50 beds	\$750	Annually
51 or more beds	\$1,500	Annually
Birthing Centers	\$250	Annually
Clinical Laboratories*	\$500	Annually
Community Living Arrangements*(CLA)	\$350	Annually
Drug Abuse Treatment Programs* (DATEP)	\$500	Annually
End tage Renal Disease Centers (ESRD)		
1 – 12 stations	\$600	Annually
13 - 24 stations	1,000	Annually
25 or more stations	\$1,100	Annually
Stand Alone ESRD Facilities Offering Peritoneal Dialysis Only	\$800	Annually
Eye Banks	\$250	Annually
Home Health Agencies*(HHA)	\$1,000	Annually
Hospices*(HSPC)	\$1,000	Annually
Hospitals*	¢2F0	Annually
1 to 24 beds	\$250	Annually
25 to 50 beds 51 or more beds	\$750 \$1.500	Annually
	\$1,500 \$250	Annually
C M s - Intermediate Care Facilities / MR (private)	\$250	Annually
Narcotic Treatment Programs (NTP)	\$1,500 \$200	Annually
Memory Care Certificate for Assisted Living/Personal Care Homes	\$ <b>2</b> 00	Annually
Nursing Homes  1 to 99 beds	\$500	Annually
100 or more beds	\$750 \$750	Annually
Personal Care Homes (PCH)	\$13U	Ailliually
2 to 24 beds	\$350	Annually
2 to 24 beds 25 to 50 beds	\$350 \$750	Annually
51 or more beds	\$1,500	†
51 of filore beds	\$1,500	Annually

Private Home Care Providers*(PHCP)	Per Service			
Companion Sitting	\$250	Annually		
Personal Care Services	\$250	Annually		
Nursing Services	\$250	Annually		
Traumatic Brain Injury Facilities	\$250	Annually		
X-ray Registration	\$300	Initial Application Only		
MISCELLANEOUS FEES				
Civil monetary penalties as finally determined		Case-by-case basis		
Late Fee – 60 days past due	\$150	Per instance		
Permit replacement	\$50	Per request		
List of Facilities by license type (electronic only)	\$25	Per request		

# **ACCREDITATION DISCOUNT INFORMATION**

\*Eligible for a 25% discount if currently accredited by a nationally recognized accreditation organization approved by the department as having standards comparable to specific state licensure requirements and a complete copy of the current decision is submitted to the department at the time of annual license fee renewal. Currently the department will accept current accreditation at the level Medicare (CMS) accepts for deemed status from a CMS approved organization. Below is the list of the current accreditation organizations approved by this department.

Accreditation Organization	Program
Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC)	Ambulatory Surgery
Accreditation Commission for Health Care, Inc (ACHC)	CLA, HHA, Hospice, PHCP
American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities (AAAASF)	Ambulatory Surgery
American Osteopathic Association Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (AOA/HFAP)	CAH, ASC, Hospital
American Association for Blood Banks (AABB)	Clinical Laboratory
American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI)	Clinical Laboratory
Center for Improvement in Healthcare Quality (CIHQ)	Hospital
Commission on the Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)	CLA, DATEP, PHCP
COLA	Clinical Laboratory
College of American Pathologists (CAP)	Clinical Laboratory
Community Health Accreditation Program (CHAP)	Hospice, PHCP
Council on Accreditation (COA)	CLA, DATEP
Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL)	CLA, DATEP, PHCP
Det Norske Veritas Healthcare (DNV Healthcare)	CAH, Hospital
The Joint Commission (JC)	ASC, CAH, CLA, Clinical Laboratory, DATEP, HHA, Hospice, Hospital, PHCP

#### **ANNUAL LICENSE RENEWAL PAYMENTS**

The Rules and Regulations for General Licensing and Enforcement Requirements, Chapter 111-8-25, require licensed providers to pay licensure activity fees **annually**. The department no longer mails annual licensing fee invoices. **The annual fees are due October 31**<sup>st</sup> **and collected through December 31**<sup>st</sup> **each year without penalty.** A late fee of \$150 is automatically added to your balance on January 1<sup>st</sup> each year.

## A new and simplified way to view and understand annual fees:

Fees paid between October and December 31<sup>st</sup> are good for the following *calendar* year. For example, if your annual fees are current, fees paid in November 2021 are good for Calendar year 2022.

Regardless of when your initial licensing fee was paid, the payment is good for that *calendar* year. For example, if you pay your initial license fee in June and are licensed in August 2021- The initial license fee is good for *calendar* year 2021. The renewal fee due in October 2021 is for calendar year 2022.

#### How and where to pay annual licensing fees:

You must pay your annual licensing fees in our payment web portal. This link is permanently located on the Healthcare Facility Regulation Home page. Here is the direct link for your convenience.

https://forms.dch.georgia.gov/Forms/Payments

The department accepts Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express. ACH payments are also accepted using your checking account.

LICENSURE ACTIVITY FEES COLLECTED BY THE DEPARTMENT ARE <u>NOT</u> REFUNDABLE.

If you have questions regarding annual licensing activity fees, please send your inquiry to:

HFRD.payments@dch.ga.gov