
 The Georgia Department Community of Health - www.dch.georgia.gov 

 

 

Criminal Records Check 
Frequently Asked Questions 

Georgia Department of Community Health 

General 
 
What is a fingerprint records check? 
A fingerprint records check is done using the fingerprints of the individual by the Georgia Bureau of 
Investigation (GBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) in response to a request by DCH. 
 
Who has to have a fingerprint records check done? 
The owner(s) of Community Living Arrangement, Personal Care Homes, and Private Home Care.  Also, the 
Directors/Managers of Personal Care Homes require a GBI and FBI fingerprint check. 
 
How long will it take DCH to issue a determination letter once I am finger printed? 
It normally takes 48 hours for DCH to receive the fingerprint results from the GBI and FBI.  Once the 
fingerprint results are received, you should receive a determination letter within the next 5-7 days. 
 
How long is a Satisfactory Criminal Records Determination good for? 
It depends. Generally, a satisfactory criminal records check is good for 12 months.  
 
 
Fingerprints 
 
How do I submit fingerprints? 
For more information and to learn how to submit electronic fingerprints, refer to the Criminal Records 
GAPS/COGENT Instructions. 
 
How long does it take to get results back from GBI/FBI? 
On an average, it takes 24-48 hours to receive a response from the GBI and FBI.  
 
Can I use fingerprint cards from the police department to submit to DHR? 
No. You must be fingerprinted per the GAPS/COGENT Instructions. 
 
Can I submit my fingerprint cards directly to the GBI/FBI? 
No. You must be fingerprinted per the GAPS/COGENT Instructions. 
 
Can I get fingerprinted at my local law enforcement agency? 
No.  You must get fingerprinted at a Cogent/GAPS location. 
 
As an owner coming from another facility or opening a second location, do I have to do my 
fingerprints over? 
It depends. If it has been less than a year since you received a satisfactory fingerprint check determination, 
you do not have to have your fingerprints done over again as long as you can show proof of the satisfactory 
determination. If it has been more than a year since the last fingerprint check and you open another business, 
you will have to be fingerprinted again. 



 The Georgia Department Community of Health - www.dch.georgia.gov 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Criminal Records Check 
Frequently Asked Questions 

Georgia Department of Community Health 

Covered Crimes - Owners 
 
What are the crimes that will keep a person from owning a Community Living Arrangement, Personal 
Care Home, or Private Home Care Provider business? 
A covered crime is being arrested, charged or convicted of any of the following crimes 
 

1. A violation of Code Section 16-5-1, relating to murder and felony murder; 
2. A violation of Code Section 16-5-21, relating to aggravated assault; 
3. A violation of Code Section 16-5-70, relating to aggravated battery; 
4. A violation of Code Section 16-5-70 relating to cruelty to children; 
5. A violation of Code Section 16-5-100, relating to cruelty to a person 65 year of age or older; 
6. A violation of Code Section 16-6-1, relating to rape; 
7. A violation of Code Section 16-6-2, relating to aggravated sodomy; 
8. A violation of Code Section 16-6-4, relating to child molestation; 
9. A violation of Code Section 16-6-5, relating to enticing a child for indecent purposes; 
10. A violation of Code Section 16-6-5.1, relating to sexual assault against persons in custody, detained 

persons, or patients in hospitals or other institutions; 
11. A violation of Code Section 16-6-22.2, relating to aggravated sexual battery; 
12. A violation of Code Section 16-8-41, relating to armed robbery; 
13. A violation of Code Section 30-5-8, relating to abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a disabled adult or 

elder person; or 
14. Any other offense committed in another jurisdiction that, if committed in this state, would be 

deemed to be a crime listed in this paragraph without regard to its designation elsewhere. 
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Covered Crimes – Directors, Managers, Administrators, and Employees 
 
What are the crimes that will keep a person from working as a Director, Manager, Administrator, and 
Employee at a Personal Care Home? 
 
A covered crime is being arrested, charged or convicted of any of the following crimes: 
 

1. A violation of Code Section 16-5-21, relating to aggravated assault; 
2. A violation of Code Section 16-5-24, relating to aggravated battery; 
3. A violation of Code Section 16-6-1, relating to rape; 
4. A felony violation of Code Section 16-8-2, relating to theft by taking; 
5. A felony violation of Code Section 16-8-3, relating to theft by deception; 
6. A felony violation of Code Section 16-8-4, relating to theft by conversion; 
7. A violation of Code Section 16-9-1 or 16-9-2, relating to forgery in the first and second degree, 

respectively; 
8. A violation of Code Section 16-5-1, relating to murder and felony murder; 
9. A violation of Code Section 16-4-1, relating to criminal attempt as it concerns attempted murder; 
10. A violation of Code Section 16-8-40, relating to robbery; 
11. A violation of Code Section 16-8-41, relating to armed robbery; 
12. A violation of Chapter 13 of Title 16, relating to controlled substances; 
13. A violation of Code Section 16-5-23.1, relating to battery; 
14. A violation of Code Section 16-6-5.1, relating to sexual assault against a person in custody; 
15. A violation of Code Section 30-5-8, relating to abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a disabled adult or 

elder person; or 
16. Any other offense committed in another jurisdiction which, if committed in this state, would be 

deemed to be such a crime without regard to its designation elsewhere. 
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