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PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE CHANGES

Pursuant to the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, Official Code of Georgia (0.C.G.A.)
§ 50-13-1, et seq., the Georgia Department of Community Health is required to provide public notice
of its intent to adopt, amend, or repeal certain rules other than interpretative rules or general
statements of policy. Accordingly, the Department hereby provides notice of its intent to revise the
Rules and Regulations for Personal Care Homes, Ga. Comp. Rules & Regs., R. 111-8-62. These
rules are being proposed pursuant to the authority granted to the Department in O.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-5
and 31-2-7. An exact copy of the revised rules and a synopsis of the revisions are attached to this

public notice.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

An opportunity for public comment will be held on July 14, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. via WebEx
audio. There will be no in-person attendance at the Department of Community Health. Follow these
instructions to join the event:

1. Click here to join the online event or copy and paste the following link to a browser:

https://dchevents.webex.com/mw3300/mywebex/default.do?nomenu=true&siteurl=dchevents&servi
ce=6&rnd=0.742709392559278&main url=https%3A%2F%2Fdchevents.webex.com%2Fec3300%2
Feventcenter%2Fevent%2FeventAction.do%3FtheAction%3Ddetail %26 %26%26EMK%3D4832534b
00000004fd4876f32e2f5dad36eac80092f3e40697170ff7d9c1ddff56ce7f78d40d61c7%26siteur! % 3Dd
chevents%26confViewID%3D195307969634663596%26encryptTicket%3DSDITSWAAAARAIFCORMd
FoQj8Xoi-0UXUGVmzC1CS87MHxZUNOBVShA2%26

2. Click “Join Now.”
To join by telephone:

Call-in toll number (US/Canada)
1-650-479-3207
Access code: 127 316 8201

Oral comments may be limited to ten (10) minutes per person. Individuals who are disabled
and require assistance to participate during this meeting should contact the Office of General Counsel
at (404) 657-7195 at least three (3) business days prior to the meeting.
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Individuals wishing to comment in writing on any of the proposed changes should do so on
or before July 16, 2021. Due to reduced physical staffing at the 2 Peachtree St. location in an attempt
to limit the amount of exposure to COVID-19, DCH encourages written public comments submitted
in accordance with O.C.G.A. 50-13-4(a)(2) to be submitted via e-mail to the following e-mail address:
Public.comment@dch.ga.gov.

Any comments not able to be submitted via e-mail may be submitted via regular mail to the
following address:

Attention: Mary Peterkin

Office of General Counsel

Georgia Department of Community Health
2 Peachtree Street, NW. 40" Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303

Comments from written and public testimony will be provided to the Board of Community
Health prior to August 12, 2021. The Board will vote on the proposed changes on August 12, 2021,

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THIS 10" DAY OF JUNE, 2021

|
- { |

3 —
Frank W. Berry, Commissioner
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RULES OF
GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH
HEALTHCARE FACILITY REGULATION DIVISION

CHAPTER 111-8-62
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR PERSONAL CARE HOMES

SYNOPSIS GF REVISED RULES

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE: The Georgia Department of Community
Health proposes to revise the Rules and Reguiations for Personal Care
Homes, Chapter 111-8-62. These rules are being proposed pursuant to
the authority granted the Department of Community Health in 0.C.G.A.
§ 31-2-5and 0.C.G.A. § 31-2-7.

MAIN FEATURE OF THE REVISED RULE: Revision of the rules to comply
with portions of House Bill 987, the “Disabled Adults and Elder Persons
Protection Act of 2020,” pertaining to requirements for staffing and
memoaory care services, and to establish exemptions for aging in place.
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DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH
CHAPTER 111-8
HEALTHCARE FACILITY REGULATION

111-8-62
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR PERSONAL CARE HOMES
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Rule 111-8-62-.03 Definitions

In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires, the words,
phrases and symbols shall mean the following:

(a) "Abuse" means any intentional or grossly negligent act or series
of acts or intentional or grossly negligent omission to act which causes
injury to a resident, including but not limited to, assault or battery,
failure to provide treatment or care, or sexual harassment of the
resident.
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{b) "Activities of daily living" means bathing, shaving, brushing
teeth, combing hair, toileting, dressing, eating, laundering, cleaning
private living space, managing money, writing letters, shopping, using
public transportation, making telephone calls, grooming, obtaining
appointments, engaging in leisure and recreational activities, or other
similar activities.

{c) "Administrator”" means the manager designated by the
governing body as responsible for the day-to-day management,
administration and supervision of the personal care home, who may
also serve as the on-site manager and responsible staff person except
during periods of his or her own absence.

(d) "Ambulatory Resident” means a resident who has the ability to
move from place to place by walking, either unaided or aided by
prosthesis, brace, cane, crutches, walker or hand rails, or by propelling a
wheelchair or scooter; who can respond to an emergency condition,
whether caused by fire or otherwise, and escape with minimal human
assistance such as guiding a resident to an exit, using the normal means
of egress.

(e) "Applicant" means any of the following:

1. When the personal care home is owned by a sole
proprietorship, the individual proprietor shall be the applicant for the
license, complete the statement of responsibility and serve as the
licensee,

2. When the personal care home is owned by a partnership, the
general partners shall be the applicant for the license, complete the
statement of responsibility and serve as the licensee.

3. When the personal care home is owned by an association or
limited liability company (LLC), the governing body of the association or
LLC shall authorize the application for the license and complete the
statement of responsibility and the association shall serve as the
licensee.
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4, When the personal care home is owned by a corporation, the
governing body of the corporation shall authorize the application for the
license and complete the statement of responsibility and the
corporation shall serve as the licensee.

(f) "Assisted living care" means the specialized care and services
provided by an assisted living community which includes the provision
of personal services, the administration of medications by a certified
medication aide, and-the provision of assisted self-preservation, and the
provision of limited nursing services.

(g) “Certificate” means a certificate issued by the Department to
operate a memory care center in a licensed assisted living community or
personal care home.

(gh)  "Chemical Restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug that is
used for discipline or convenience and is not required to treat medical
symptoms.

(ki) "Department" means the Georgia Department of Community
Health operating through the Division of Healthcare Facility Regulation.

(i) “Direct care staff person” means any employee, facility
volunteer or contract staff who provides to residents any personal
services, including but not limited to, medication administration or
assistance, assistance with ambulation and transfer, and essential
activities of daily living such as eating, bathing, grooming, dressing, and

(ik) "Disabled individual" means an individual that has a physical or
mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life
activities and who meets the criteria for a disability under state or
federal law.

(i) "Employee" means any person, other than a director, utilized by
a personal care home to provide personal services to any resident on
behalf of the personal care home or to perform at any facilities of the
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personal care home any duties which involve personal contact between
that person and any paying resident of the personal care home.

(km)  "Exploitation" means an unjust or improper use of another
person or the person's property through undue influence, coercion,
harassment, duress, deception, false representation, false pretense, or
other similar means for one's own personal advantage.

(In) "Governing Body" means the person or group of persons as
defined in Georgia law who maintain and control the home and who are
legally responsible for the operation of the home.

(mo) "Health services" means the specialized assistance that may be
provided by or at the direction of either licensed healthcare
professionals, such as doctors, nurses, physical therapists or through
licensed healthcare programs, such as home health agencies, hospices
and private home care providers to address health needs that the home
is not authorized by law or regulations to provide.

(ARp)  "Injury" as used in the definition of abuse means a wrong or
harm caused by an individual to a resident which is manifested by a
physical or behavioral reaction or change in the appearance or actions
of the resident, such as, but not limited to, reddened or bruised skin not
related to routine care, crying, startling or cowering reaction by the
resident and malnutrition or pressure ulcers, such as skin breakdowns,
for which the home has not provided proper care.

(eq)  "Legal Surrogate" means a duly appointed person who is
authorized to act, within the scope of the authority granted under the
legal surrogate's appointment, on behalf of a resident who is
adjudicated or certified incapacitated. The legal surrogate may act on a
resident's behalf where a resident has not been adjudicated as
incapacitated provided that the action is consistent with the resident's
wishes and intent and is within the scope of the authority granted.
Where such authority is exercised pursuant to a Power of Attorney
executed by a resident, the facility must maintain a copy of this
document in the resident's files. The resident's duly appointed legal
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surrogate(s) shall have the authority to act on the resident's behalf as
established by written applicable federal and state of Georgia law, and
shall be entitled to receive information relevant to the exercise of his or
her authority. No member of the governing body, administration, or
staff of the personal care home or affiliated personal care homes or
their family members may serve as the legal surrogate for a resident.

(r) “Limited nursing services” means the assessment of the
physical, mental, and emotional status to determine the appropriate

level of care for an individual; the performance of health maintenance
activities, as defined in division (a)(9)(C)(ii) of Code Section 43-26-12;
and the provision of any nursing care within the direct care staff
person’s scope of practice that can be completed within seven days or

intermittently.

(ps) "Medical services" means services which may be provided by a
person licensed pursuant to Article Il of Chapter 34 of Title 43 of the
Official Code of Georgia Annotated. or appropriately licensed and
supervised nurse practitioners and physicians assistants.

(gt) "Memory care services" means the additional watchful
oversight systems, program, activities and devices that are required for
residents who have cognitive deficits which may impact memory,
language, thinking, reasoning, or impulse control, and which place the
residents at risk of eloping, i.e., engaging in unsafe wandering activities
outside the home.

(#u) "Memory care centeranit" means the freestanding or
incorporated specialized unit within a personal career home or assisted
living community that either: (i) holds itself out as providing additional
or specialized care to persons with diagnoses of probably Alzheimer’s or
other dementias or with cognitive deficits that may place the resident at
risk; or (ii) charges higher rates for care for residents with Alzheimer’s or
other dementias than for care to other residentsmemeory-careservices

or-providespersonalservicesinsecured-surroundings.
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(sv) "Non-Family Adult" means a resident 18 years of age or older
who is not related by blood within the third degree of consanguinity or
by marriage to the person responsible for the management of the
personal care home or to a member of the governing body.

(tw)  "Nursing services" means those services which may be rendered
by a person licensed pursuant to Articles | and 2 of Chapter 26 of Title
43 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated.

(ux) "On-site manager" means the administrator or person
designated by the administrator as responsible for carrying on the day-
to-day management, supervision, and operation of the personal care
home, who may also serve as the responsible staff person except during
periods of his or her own absence.

(wy) "Owner" means any individual or any person affiliated with a
corporation, partnership, or association with 10 percent or greater
ownership interest in the facility providing care to persons under the
license of the facility in this state and who:

1: purports to or exercises authority of the owner in a facility;
2. applies to operate or operates a facility;

3. maintains an office on the premises of a facility;

4. resides at a facility;

5. has direct access to persons receiving care at a facility;

6. provides direct personal supervision of facility personnel by

being immediately available to provide assistance and direction during
the time such facility services are being provided; or

7 enters into a contract to acquire ownership of a facility.

(wz)  "Permit" or "Regular Permit" means the authorization granted
by the Department to the governing body to operate a Personal Care
Home.
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(xaa) "Personal Care Home", "home" or "facility" means any dwelling,
whether operated for profit or not, which undertakes through its
ownership or management to provide or arrange for the provision of
housing, food service, and one or more personal services for two or
more adults who are not related to the owner or administrator by blood
or marriage.

(ybb) "Personal Services" includes, but is not limited to, individual
assistance with or supervision of self-administered medication,
assistance with ambulation and transfer, and essential activities of daily
living such as eating, bathing, grooming, dressing, and toileting.

(cc) “Physician” means an individual who is currently licensed to
practice medicine in the State of Georgia. For purposes of these rules, it
shall be acceptable for any services required to be performed by a
physician to be performed by any other licensed medical professional
(i.e., Nurse Practitioner, Physician Assistant, etc.) who is permitted to
provide such services under applicable state scope of practice rules and

regulations.

(2dd)  "Proxy caregiver" means an unlicensed person or a licensed
health care facility that has been selected by a disabled individual or a
person legally authorized to act on behalf of such individual to serve as
such individual's proxy caregiver and meets the requirements contained
in the Rules and Regulations for Proxy Caregivers Used in Licensed
Healthcare Facilities, Chapter 111-8-100.

(aaee) "Physical Restraints" are any manual or physical device,
material, or equipment attached or adjacent to the resident's body that
the individual cannot remove easily which restricts freedom or normal
access to one's body. Physical restraints include, but are not limited to,
leg restraints, arm restraints, hand mitts, soft ties or vests, and
wheelchair safety bars. Also included as restraints are practices
employed by the home which function as a restraint, such as tucking in
a sheet so tightly that a bedbound resident cannot move, bedrails, or
chairs that prevent rising, or placing a wheelchair-bound resident so
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close to a wall that the wall prevents the resident from rising. Wrist
bands or devices on clothing that trigger electronic alarms to warn staff
that a resident is leaving a room do not, in and of themselves, restrict
freedom of movement and should not be considered as restraints.

(bbff) "Plan of Correction" means the written plan prepared in
response to cited rule violations which identify by date certain the
specific actions that will be taken by the personal care home to come
into compliance with applicable rules.

(eegg) "Representative" means a person who voluntarily, with the
resident's written authorization, may act upon resident's direction with
regard to matters concerning the health and welfare of the resident,
including being able to access personal records contained in the
resident's file and receive information and notices pertaining to the
resident's overall care and condition. This written authorization may
take the form of an advance directive.

(dehh) "Resident" means any non-family adult receiving or requiring
personal assistance and residing in a personal care home.

(eeii) "Responsible Staff Person" means the employee designated by
the administrator or on-site manager as responsible for supervising the
operation of the home during periods of temporary absence of the
administrator or on-site manager.

(|i})  "Self-administration of medications" or "self-administered
medications" means those prescription or over-the-counter drugs that
the resident personally chooses to ingest or apply where the resident
has been assessed and determined to have the cognitive skills necessary
to articulate the need for the medications and generally knows the
times the medications are to be taken, and physical characteristics of
medications to be taken.

(ggkk) "Self-preservation" means the ability to respond to an
emergency condition, whether caused by fire or otherwise, and escape
the emergency without physical, hands-on assistance from staff. The
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resident may move from place to place by walking, either unaided or
aided by prosthesis, brace, cane, crutches, walker or hand rails, or by
propelling a wheelchair or scooter.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§31-2-7,31-2-8, 31-2-9, 31-7-2.1, 31-7-1 et seq.
and 31-8-80 et seq.

Rule 111-8-62-.04 Applicability of Rules and Exemptions

(1) These rules apply to all personal care homes unless the facility is
specifically exempted as provided in paragraph (2) of this rule.

(2) These regulations do not apply to the following facilities:

(a) Boarding homes or rooming houses which provide no personal
services other than lodging and meals.

(b) Facilities offering temporary emergency shelter, such as those
for the homeless and victims of family violence.

(c) Other facilities, homes or residences licensed by the
Department which have not been classified as personal care homes, e.g.
assisted living communities, hospices, traumatic brain injury facilities,
drug abuse treatment facilities.

(d) Facilities providing residential services for federal, state or local
correctional institutions under the jurisdiction of the criminal justice
system.

(e) Facilities regulatedlicensed by the Department of Behavioral
Health_and; Developmental Disabilities-and-Addictive Diseases.

(f) Host homes as defined in 0.C.G.A. § 37-1-20(18).

(g) Group residences organized by or for persons who choose to
live independently or who manage their own care and share the cost of
services including but not limited to attendant care, transportation,
rent, utilities and food preparation.
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(h) Charitable organizations providing shelter and other services
without charging any fee to the resident.

{i) Any separate and distinct dwelling which is classified by the
Department as a community living arrangement subject to the Rules
and Regulations for Community Living Arrangements, Chapter 290-9-37.
A facility classified as a Community Living Arrangement cannot be
operated on the same premises as a personal care home.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 26-5-1, 31-2-4, 31-2-7, 31-7-1 et seq. and 37-1-
20(18).

Fule 111-8-62-.05 Application for Permit

{1} The governing body of each home must submit to the
Department an application for a permit in the required format in order
to be eligible to operate if the application is approved.

(2) No application for licensure will be acted upon by the
Department unless it has been determined to be complete and include
all required attachments and fees due the Department as specified in
the Rules and Regulations for General Licensing and Enforcement
Requirements, Chapter 111-8-25.

{3) The application must truthfully and accurately disclose required
infarmation.
(4) Each application for a permit must be accompanied by a sketch,

plat, photos or simple drawing of the home, and grounds with
identification of all structures on the premises by the applicant. The
visual depiction must show the property, windows, doors, room
measurements, and bed placement for residents, family and/or staff
and be accompanied by documentation of ownership or lease
agreement for the property on which the home will be operated.

{5) The name of the administrator or on-site manager, who will be
working in the home, if known, must be included with the application
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for a permit. If such information is not known at the time of application,
it must be provided to the Department before a permit will be issued.

(6) The ownership of the home shall be fully disclosed in its
application for a permit. In the case of corporations, partnerships, and
other bodies created by statute, the corporate officers and all other
individuals or family groups owning ten percent or more of the
corporate stock or ownership must be disclosed in the application for a
permit as well as the registered agent for service of process.

(7) Local zoning and other local requirements regarding the proper
location and establishment of homes must be addressed by the
applicant with the responsible local officials.

(8) The filing of an application for licensure constitutes a
representation that the applicant is or will be in complete control of the
home as of a specified date.

(9) For initial application for licensure of a home with twenty-five
(25) beds or more, the applicant shall include a financial stability
affidavit from a certified public accountant affirming the applicant’s
ability to operate as a going concern for the next two years.

(910) No personal care home shall be operated and no residents
admitted without such a permit which is current under these rules and
regulations.

(11) No memory care center shall be operated and no residents
admitted without a certificate which is current under these rules and

regulations.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9, 31-2-14 and 31-7-1 et. seq.
Rule 111-8-62-.07 Governing Body

(1) The governing body is responsible for providing the oversight
necessary to ensure that the home operates in compliance with
applicable requirements: Chapter 7 of Title 31 of the Official Code of
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Georgia Annotated, administrative rules and regulations of the
Department of Community Health, Chapters 111-8-25, 111-8-62 and
111-8-100, and all other statutes, rules and regulations.

(2) The governing body must ensure that the Department has
current contact information consisting of name, e-mail address for
departmental notifications to the home, physical addresses, and phone
numbers for the governing body and the administrator or on-site
manager of the home. The governing body must ensure that staff is held
accountable for delivering any notices provided to the governing body
at the listed addresses to the governing body.

(3) The governing body is responsible for implementing policies,
procedures and practices in the home that support the core values of
dignity, respect, choice, independence and privacy of the residents in a
safe environment and in accordance with these rules. At a minimum,
the policies and procedures that are developed must provide direction
for the staff and residents on the following:

(a) The services available in the home, including, personal services,
memory care services/unitscenters and any other specialized services
such as designated proxy caregivers.

(b) Admissions, discharges and immediate transfers which ensure
that the home does not admit or retain residents who need more care
than the home is authorized or capable of providing.

(c) Refunds when a resident is transferred or discharged.

(d) Training and ongoing evaluation of staff, including specialized
training if designated proxy caregivers are provided or memory care is
offered.

(e) House rules and their enforcement.

(f) Protecting the rights of the residents as set forth in these rules;
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(g) Medication management, procurement and the professional
oversight provided for such services.

{h) Health and hygiene issues for residents and staff relating to
infection control, work policies and return to work policies, food borne
illnesses and reportable diseases.

(i) The investigation and reporting of abuse, neglect, exploitation
of residents, residents’ wandering away from the community, accidents,
injuries and changes in residents’ conditions to required parties.

{ Discipline procedures for handling conduct which is inconsistent
with the policies of the home committed by staff.

{k) Emergency preparedness, drilis and evacuation requirements.

{1 Quatity assurance and peer review mechanisms to determine
opportunities for improving care utilizing information acquired from
reports and investigations of serious incidents, including resident and
family feedback.

{m} The use of volunteers, who have unsupervised access to the
residents and their orientation regarding resident's rights and basic
safety precautions.

{n) The specific use of proxy caregivers allowed within the home
and the oversight of proxy caregivers the home requires or provides in
accordance with Georgia law, these rules and the rules for proxy
caregivers, Chapter 111-8-100.

(o) The safety and security precautions that will be employed by
the home to protect residents from harm by other residents, designated
proxy caregivers and other individuals, not employed by the home who
routinely come into the home.

{p The staffing plan which takes into account the specific needs of
the residents and also includes arrangements for staffing in the absence
of regularly scheduled staff.
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(4) The governing body must not permit any person who is a
member of the governing body, administration or staff to serve as the
representative of a resident of the home.

(5) Where a member of the governing body, administration or staff
serves as the representative payee of the resident, the home must use
the funds received for the exclusive use and benefit and in the best
interest of the resident and maintain necessary records to support such
use.

(6) The governing body must ensure that staff accepts certified mail
from the Department when sent to the licensed home.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-7-1, 31-7-2.1, 31-7-3 and 31-7-12.
Rule 111-8-62-.08 Administration
(1) Fer-hemesfirstlicensed-aftertheeffective date-of theserules.

tThe home must have an administrator, who is at least 21 years of age
and; has-eithermeets the following requirements, as applicable:

(a) Administrators of homes licensed for fewer than twenty-five
(25) beds must have either (i) an Associate's Degree or-(ii)a G.E.D.or a
high school diploma and 2 years of experience working in a licensed
personal care home or other healthcare-related setting.

(b) Administrators of homes licensed for twenty-five (25) or more
beds must hold a valid license from the State Board of Long-Term Care
Facility Administrators with an effective date no greater than sixty (60)
days from the date of hire or July 1, 2021, whichever is later.a-G-E-D—of
hi o] P i R : I
personatcare-homesrother-healthcare-related setting.
(2) The administrator or on-site manager of each personal care
home must do the following:

(a) Ensure that the policies and procedures are effective and
enforced to support the health and safety of the residents.
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(b) Designate qualified staff as responsible staff to act on his or her
behalf and to carry out his or her duties in the administrator or on-site
manager's absence. No resident shall be designated as staff.

(c) Investigate serious incidents involving residents which result in
injuries or death in order to identify and implement opportunities for
improvement in care.

(d) Monitor and document staff performance to ensure that care
and services are being delivered safely and in accordance with these
rules.

(3) Personnel must be assigned duties consistent with their
positions, training, experience, and the requirements of Rule 111-8-62-
.09.

(4) The facility must comply with the requirements of Chapter 111-
8-16, Rules and Regulations for Disaster Preparedness Plans.

(5) Each home must have a telephone which is maintained in
working order at all times and is accessible to the residents.

(6) Notification of Emergency Relocation. The home must provide
timely notification of the relocation address to the residents, their
family contacts and representatives, if any, and the Department
whenever the home must relocate the residents as a result of an
emergency situation which disrupts the provision of room and board for
the residents at the licensed location.

(7) Notification of Bankruptcy, Eviction or Change of Ownership.
The home must provide:

(a) a minimum of sixty (60) days written notice to the department
and all residents of any impending bankruptcy or property eviction that
may force discharge or relocation of residents or otherwise adversely
impact the provision of safe care and oversight; and
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(b) a minimum of thirty (30) days written notice to the department
and all residents of any impending change of ownership. The notice to
the department shall be in the form of an application which must be
approved before the permit is issued to the new owner(s).

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9, 31-7-1 et seq. and 43-27-1 et seq.
Rule 111-8-62-.09 Workforce Qualifications and Training

(1) Age Requirements. The on-site manager and all other direct-
care supervisory staff working in a personal care home must be at least
21 years of age. Non-supervisory staff providing hands-on care to the
residents must be at least 18 years of age.

(2) The administrator or on-site manager must be responsible for
ensuring that any person working in the home as an employee, under
contract or otherwise, receives work-related training within the first
sixty days of employment. Such training must include, at a minimum,
the following:

(a) Evidence of current certification in emergency first aid except
where the staff person is a currently licensed health care professional;

(b) Evidence of current certification in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation where the training course required return demonstration
of competency;

(c) Emergency evacuation procedures;
(d) Medical and social needs and characteristics of the resident
population;

(e) Residents' rights;

(f) Identification of conduct constituting abuse, neglect or
exploitation of a resident and reporting requirements to include the
employee's receipt of a copy of the Long-Term Care Facility Resident
Abuse Reporting Act as outlined in 0.C.G.A. § 31-8-81et seq.; and
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(g) General infection control principles including the importance of
hand hygiene in all settings and attendance policies whenill.

(3) At least one staff person having completed the minimum
training requirements of Rule 111-8-62-.09(2)(a) through (g) above must
be present in the home at all times resident(s) are present in the home.

. it 4 : |

(4) All direct care staffpersens, including the administrator or on-
site manager-whe-offerdirectcare-to-theresidents; must satisfactorily
complete continuing education each year, in courses, relevant to their
job duties, including, but not limited to, appropriate medication
assistance, working with the elderly, working with residents with
Alzheimer's or other cognitive impairments, working with the mentaty
retarded,-mentally ill and developmentally disabled, social and
recreational activities, legal issues, physical maintenance and fire safety,
housekeeping, or other topics as needed or as determined by the
Department.

(5) All direct_care staff, including the administrator or on-site

manager, ersand-employeesinvalved-with-the-provision-of personal
servicesto-theresidents must have at least sixteen (16) hours of

training per year.

(6) The administrator, on-site manager, and each employee must
have received a tuberculosis screening and a physical examination by a
licensed physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant within
twelve months prior to their employment with the home which
examination was sufficiently comprehensive to assure that the
employee is free of diseases communicable within the scope of
employment and physically qualified to work. Follow-up examinations
must be conducted by a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or
physician assistant of each administrator or staff person to determine
readiness to return to work following a significant illness or injury.
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Copies of information regarding staff member health must be kept in
the staff person's file accessible at the licensed home or within one hour
of the request.

{7) Criminal History Background Checks for Owners Required.
Prior to the issuance of any new license, the owner of the business or
agency applying for the license must comply with the requirements of
the Rules and Regulations for Criminal Background Checks, Chapter 111-
8-12.

(8) Criminal History Background Checks for Directors,
Administrators and Onsite Managers Required. The home must obtain
a satisfactory fingerprint records check determination for the person
being considered for employment as a director, administrator or onsite
manager. The records check determination must be done in compliance
with the Rules and Regulations for Criminal Background Checks, Chapter
111-8-12.

(9) Criminal History Background Checks for Direct Access
Employees Required. Prior to serving as a direct access employee, the
home must obtain a satisfactory fingerprint records check
determination for the person to he hired in compliance with the Rules
and Regulations for Criminal Background Checks, Chapter 111-8-12.

{10)  The administrator or on-site manager must obtain and verify a
five year employment history when possible for each employee and
maintain documentation in the employee's file. If the potential
employee has no prior employment history, then the home must retain
documentation of a satisfactory personal reference check.

(11}  Personnel file(s) for each employee must be maintained either
in the home or available for inspection by departmental staff within one
hour of request or prior to the end of the on-site survey and for three
years following the employee's departure or discharge. These files must
include all of the following:
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{a) Evidence of a satisfactory fingerprint record check
determination, if applicable.

(b) Report of a physical examination completed by a licensed
physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant.

(c) Evidence of trainings, skills competency determinations and
recertifications as required by these rules and, if applicable, the Rules
for Proxy Caregivers, Chapter 111-8-100.

{d) Employment history, if previously employed, including places of
work, employers and teiephone contacts with previous employers.

(e) Supperting documentation reflecting that the employee has the
basic qualifications as represented, e.g. personal references,
documentation of good standing by nursing board, no findings of abuse,
neglect or exploitation entered against the individual in the nurse aide
registry, satisfactory report of motor vehicle driving record where the
employee may be transporting residents.

{f) Written evidence of satisfactory initial and annual work
performance reviews, which can take the form of skills competency
checklists, for unlicensed staff providing hands-on personal care. Where
the unlicensed staff performs specialized tasks, such as health
maintenance activities, such performance reviews must include the
satisfactory completion of skills competency checklists as specified in
applicable rules. Such reviews must be conducted by staff or contractors
qualified by education, training and experience to assess that the
assigned duties are being performed in accordance with applicable rules
and accepted health and safety standards.

{12)  Where the home permits a resident to hire his or her own
companion-sitter, proxy caregiver to perform health maintenance
activities or aide of any sort, the home must require assurance that the
companion-sitter, proxy caregiver or aide so hired is familiar with
emergency evacuation routes and has documentation reflecting
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compliance with the provisions of the Rules for Proxy Caregivers,
Chapter 111-8-100, as applicable.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9, 31-7-2.1, 31-7-12 and 31-7-350.
Rule 111-8-62-.10 Staffing

(1) Fhe-home-Homes licensed for less than 25 beds must maintain a
minimum on-site staff to resident ratio of one awake direct care staff
person per 15 residents during waking hours and one awake direct care
staff person per 25 residents during non-waking hours where the
residents have minimal care needs. Homes licensed for 25 or more beds
must maintain an average monthly minimum on-site staff to resident
ratio of one awake direct care staff person per 15 residents during
waking hours and one awake direct care staff person per 20 residents
during non-waking hours. Average monthly minimum staffing levels
shall be calculated and documented by the home using methods and
forms specified by the department. Hewever-theNotwithstanding the
above requirements, all homes must staff above these minimum on-site
staff ratios to meet the specific residents' ongoing health, safety and
care needs.

(a) Staff, such as cooks and maintenance staff, who do not receive
on-going direct care training and whose job duties do not routinely
involve the oversight or delivery of direct personal care to the residents,
must not be counted towards these minimum staffing ratios. Personnel
who work for another entity, such as a private home care provider,
hospice, or private sitters cannot be counted in the staff ratios for the
home.

(b) At least one administrator, on-site manager, or a responsible
staff person must be on the premises 24 hours per day and available to
respond to residents needs, with a minimum of one staff person per

occupied floor.

(c) Residents must be supervised consistent with their needs.
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(2) All staff, including the administrator or on-site manager, who
offer direct care to the residents on behalf of the home, must maintain
an awareness of each resident's normal appearance and must
intervene, as appropriate, if a resident's state of health appears to be in
jeopardy.

{3) For purposes of these regulations, a resident must not be
considered a staff person.

{4) Alt homes must develop and maintain accurate staffing plans
that take into account the specific needs of the residents and monthly
work schedules for all employees, including relief workers, showing
planned and actual coverage for each day and night.

(5) The home must retain the completed staff schedules for a
minimum of one year.

{6} Sufficient staff time must be provided by the home such that
each resident:

{a) Receives treatments, medications and diet as prescribed.

{b) Receives proper care to prevent pressure ulcers and
contractures,

(c) Is kept comfortable and clean.

(d) Is treated with dignity, kindness, and consideration and respect.
(e) Is protected from avoidable injury and infection.

{f) Is given prompt, unhurried assistance if she or he requires help
with eating.

(g) Is given assistance, if needed, with daily hygiene, including

baths, oral care,

{h) Is given assistance with transferring when needed.
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(7) The administrator, an-site manager, or staff person must not be
under the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances while
engaged in any work-related activity on behalf of the home.

(8) A home licensed to serve more than 24 residents must ensure
that staff wear employee identification badges which are readily visibfe.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9, 31-2-14, 31-7-1 et seq. and 31-7-
250 et seq.

Rule 111-8-62-.13 Physical Plant Health and Safety Standards

(1) Each home must be in compliance with fire and safety rules
promulgated by the Office of the Safety Fire Commissioner for the
personal care homes it regulates.

(2) Each home must be in compliance with applicable local
ordinances that specifically address fire safety in homes of that size and
function. Private quarters must be maintained in such a manner as to
comply with fire safety codes and not threaten the health or safety of
residents. tn the absence of or in addition to any such local ordinances,
the following requirements must be met:

(a) Wall type electric outlets and lamps or light fixtures must be
maintained in a safe and operating condition. The home must provide
functioning light bulbs for light fixtures.

{b) Cooking appliances must be suitably installed in accordance
with approved safety practices. Where metal hoods or canopies are
provided, they must be equipped with filters which must be maintained
in an efficient condition and kept clean at all times.

{c) Space heaters must not be used, except during an emergency
situation after obtaining specific written approval of the fire safety
authority having jurisdiction over the hame.

{d) Fire screens and protective devices must be used with
fireplaces, stoves and heaters, including space heaters.
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(e) Each home must be protected with sufficient smoke detectors,
powered by house electrical service with battery back-up which, when
activated, must initiate an alarm which is audible in the sleeping rooms.

{f) Each home must have at least one charged 5 Ib. multipurpose
ABC fire extinguisher on each occupied floor and in the basement.
These extinguishers must be checked annually to assure they remain in
operable condition.

(g Each home must have a working doorbell or doorknocker which
is audible to staff inside at all times.

{h) Exterior doors must be equipped with locks which do not
require keys to open them from the inside.

(3) The electrical service of the home must be inspected by a
licensed electrician or local code enforcement official and declared free
of hazards within no more than six months prior to the date of filing the
application for a permit. A signed copy of this inspection report must be
submitted to the Department as a part of the application. Electrical
service must be maintained in a safe condition at all times. The
Department may require a re-inspection of the electrical service at any
time renovation or repair work is done in the home or there is a request
for a change in capacity or there is reason to believe that a risk to
residents exists.

(4) Where the Department has reason to believe, based on the
number of residents requiring assistance with ambulation and staffing
patterns that the home may not be able to evacuate all of the residents
to a designated point of safety within an established period of time as
determined by the fire safety officials, the Department may either
require the home to conduct an immediate fire safety drill or make a
referral for a new compliance determination to responsible fire safety
officials. The Department may also require a repeat fire safety
inspection where substantial renovations or repairs have been made to
the home.
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(5) Water and sewage systems must meet applicable federal, state,
and local standards and/or regulations.

(6) Floors, walls, and ceilings must be kept clean and in good repair.

(7) Kitchen and bathroom areas must be kept clean and sanitized,
at least once daily with disinfectant and more often as needed to insure
cleanliness and sanitation.

(8) The storage and disposal of bio-medical and hazardous wastes
must comply with applicable federal, state, and local rules and/or
standards.

(9) Solid waste which is not disposed of by mechanical means must
be stored in vermin-proof, leak-proof, nonabsorbent containers with
closefitting covers until removed. Waste must be removed from the
kitchen at least daily and from the premises at least weekly.

(10)  Aninsect, rodent or pest control program must be maintained
and conducted in a manner which continually protects the health of
residents.

(11) Poisons, caustics, and other dangerous materials must be stored
and safeguarded in areas away from residents, food preparation and
food storage areas, and medication storage areas.

(12)  The home must have an adequate hot water system that
supplies heated water, comfortable to the touch but not exceeding 120
degrees Fahrenheit (F.) to the residents for their usage.

(13) Entrances and exits, sidewalks, yards and escape routes must be
maintained free of any hazards such as refuse, equipment, unsafe
furniture, debris or any other impediments. Ice and snow must be
cleared from the home's entrances, exits and walkways.

(14)  The home must have its house number and name displayed so
as to be easily visible from the street.
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(15)  The exterior of the home must be properly maintained to
remain safe and in good repair.

(16)  The following evacuation requirements must be met:

(a) Residents who need assistance with ambulation must be
assigned bedrooms which have a ground-level exit to the outside or to
rooms above ground level which have exits with easily negotiable ramps
or easily accessible elevators.

(b) There must be an established procedure and mechanism for
alerting and caring for residents in case of emergencies and evacuating
them to safety. This procedure must include instructions and evacuation
plans posted on each floor of a home. Each sleeping room must have a
secondary exit. This secondary exit may be a door or a window usable
for escape. A plan showing these routes of escape must be posted in the
home on each floor.

(c) A home serving person(s) dependent upon wheelchairs or
scooters for mobility must provide at least two exits from the home,
remote from each other, that are accessible to these persons.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-9, 31-7-1, 31-7-2.1 and 31-7-12.

Rule 111-8-62-.15 Admission

(1) Criteria for admission and retention of residents in a home are
as follows:
(a) Persons admitted to a personal care home must be at least 18

years of age.

(b) Except for aging in place exceptions, Fthe home is permitted to
admit and retain only ambulatory residents who are capable of self-
preservation with minimal assistance, i.e. staff may assist the resident in
transferring from a sitting or reclining position and provide verbal
directions to residents who are able to self-propel to the nearest exit.
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(c) Aging in Place Exceptions. The home may allow up to three (3)
non-ambulatory residents to remain in the home to support an aging in
place strategy that is in the best interests of the resident, subject to the
requirements herein. These aging in place exceptions may be revoked
by the Department at any time, as part of the survey process, if the
facility fails to meet any of the following criteria:

(i) The resident has not experienced any significant change in a
physical or medical condition which would make continued placement
in the facility inappropriate;

(ii) The facility maintains responsibility for meeting resident needs
for continuing care provided within the scope of services the personal
care home is licensed to deliver;

(iii) The resident remains under hospice services (if the resident was
under such services at the time of the aging in place decision);

(iv) The facility monitors its performance of fire drills to ensure that
it can safely evacuate all of the residents at any time in 13 minutes or

less;

(v) The facility increases the number of documented fire drills to a
minimum of one fire drill per month, covering all shifts, as long as one
or more residents in the facility are non-ambulatory;

{vi) The facility notifies the local fire department in writing within
two (2) weeks of the change in the resident’s status to aging in place so
that there is local awareness of the presence of a non-ambulatory
resident at the home;

(vii) The facility ensures sufficient staff on all shifts to support the
safe and timely evacuation of all residents in the event of an
emergency; and
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(viii)  The facility is in substantial compliance with the department’s
rules and is not subject to any pending enforcement action by the

department.

(d) The home must not admit, or retain persons who require the
use of physical or chemical restraints, isolation, or confinement for
behavioral control.

(e) No home is permitted to admit residents who either require
continuous medical services or continuous nursing care and treatment.

(f) Medical, nursing, health or therapeutic services required on a
periodic basis, or for short-term illness, must not be provided as
services of the home. When such services are required, they must be
purchased by the resident or the resident's representative or legal
surrogate, if any, from appropriately licensed providers managed
independently from the home. The home may assist in arrangement for
such services, but not provision of those services.

(2) No home is permitted to admit or retain a resident who needs
care beyond which the home is permitted to provide.

(3) The administrator or on-site manager of a home must conduct
an interview with the applicant and/or representative or legal
surrogate, if any, of the applicant to ascertain that the home can meet
the applicant's needs. The administrator or on-site manager must
obtain a report of physical examination conducted by a by a licensed
physician, nurse practitioner or physician's assistant dated within 30
days prior to the date of admission using the specific report of physical
examination form made available by the Department on its website to
assess whether the home can meet the applicant's needs. Where a
home admits a resident without the required physical examination
pursuant to a specific request for an emergency placement made by a
governmental agency responsible for adult protective service, local law
enforcement or a case manager, the home must retain documentation
of the need for the emergency placement and obtain a copy of a
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physical examination within 14 days following the emergency
admission. The required report of physical examination form must be
completed in its entirety.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9 and 31-7-1 et seq.
Rule 111-8-62-.17 Services

(1) Personal assistance must be given to those residents who are
unable to keep themselves neat and clean.

(2) Each home must provide sufficient activities to promote the
physical, mental and social well-being of each resident.

(3) Each home must provide books, newspapers, and games for
leisure time activities. Each home must encourage and offer assistance
to residents who wish to participate in hobbies, music, arts and crafts,
religion, games, sports, social, recreational and cultural activities
available in the home and in the community.

(4) Each home must have at least one operable, non-pay telephone
which is accessible at all times for emergency use by staff. Residents
must have access to an operable, non-pay telephone in a private
location, both to make and receive personal calls. The same telephone
may meet all the requirements of this section.

(5) The daily living routine of the home must be such that a
resident may spend the majority of his or her non-sleeping hours out of
the resident's bedroom, if he or she so chooses.

(6) A home must not restrict a resident's free access to the
common areas of the home unless the resident is living in a specialized
memory care centerunit. If the resident is residing in a specialized
memory care centerunit, unrestricted access to the common areas
contained within the memory care centerurit must be provided to the
resident.
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(7) A home must not lock the resident into or out of the resident's
bedroom or private living space.

(8) Resident Needs Assessment. The home must complete an
assessment of the resident at the time of admission and update as
changes oceur that addresses the resident's care needs taking into
account the resident's family supports, the resident's functional capacity
relative 1o the activities of daily living, physical care needs, medical
information provided, cognitive and hehavioral impairments, if any, and
personal preferences relative to care needs.

{9) Written Care Plan. Utilizing the information acquired during the
admission process and the move-in adjustment period, a home which
provides proxy caregivers or memaory care must develop the resident's
individual written care ptan within 14 days of admission and require
staff to use the care plan as a guide for the delivery of care and services
to the resident. The care plan must include the following:

(a) A description of the resident's care and social needs and the
services to be provided, including frequency to address care and social
needs.

(b) Resident's particular preferences regarding care, activities and
interests.

{c) Specific behaviors to be addressed with interventions to be
used.

(d) Any physician arder or order of a nurse practitioner or physician

assistant working under protocol or job description, respectively for
assistive devices.

(e) Staff primarily responsible for implementing the care plan.

(f) Evidence of resident and family involvement in the
development of the plan when appropriate.
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(g) Evidence of the care plan being updated at least annually and
more frequently where the needs of the resident change substantially.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9 and 31-7-1 et seq.

Rule 111-8-62-.18 Precautions for Residents at Risk of

ElopementReguirementsfor-Memory-Care Services

(1) A home which serves residents with cognitive deficits which
place the residents at risk of eloping, i.e. engaging in unsafe wandering
activities outside the home must do the following:

(a) Develop, train and enforce policies and procedures for staff to
deal with residents who may elope from the home including what
actions, as specified in rule 111-8-62-.30 are to be taken if a resident
wanders away (elopes) from the home.

(b) Utilize appropriate effective safety devices, which do not
impede the residents' rights to mobility and activity choice or violate
fire safety standards, to protect the residents who are at risk of eloping
from the premises.

1. If the safety devices include locks used on exit doors, as
approved by the fire marshal having jurisdiction over the home, then
the locking device shall be electronic and release whenever the
following occurs: activation of the fire alarm or sprinkler system, power
failure to the home or by-pass for routine use by the public and staff for
service using a key button/key pad located at the exit or continuous
pressure for thirty (30) seconds or less.

. If the safety devices include the use of keypads to lock and
unlock exits, then directions for operation must be posted on the
outside of the door to allow individuals' access to the memory care
centerunit. However, if the centerunit is a whole home, then directions
for the operation of the locks need not be posted on the outside of the
door. The centerunits must not have entrance and exit doors that are
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closed with non-electronic keyed locks nor shall a door with a keyed
lock be placed between a resident and the exit.

(2) A home serving residents who are at risk of eloping from the
premises must retain on file at the home current pictures of residents
who are at risk of eloping.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9 and 31-7-1 et seq.

Rule 111-8-62-.19 Additional Requirements for SpecializedCertified
Memory Care CentersUnits-or-Homes

(1) A home must meet the additional requirements contained in
rule 111-8-62-.19 where the home serves persons with probable
diagnoses of Alzheimer's Disease or other dementia and does any of the
following:

) tdesadditl - . .

residents,

(ba) Holds itself out as providing additional or specialized care to
such residents:; or

(eb) Charges rates in excess of that charged other residents for the
provision of additional or specialized carebecause-ofthe-cognitive
Joficits of : hick l ik of ing.
(2) Written Description. The home must develop an accurate

written description of the speeiamemory care centerunit that includes
the following:

(a) A statement of philosophy and mission.

(b) How the services of the specialmemory care centerunit are
different from services provided in the rest of the personal care home.

(c) Staffing, including job titles of staff who work in the centerunit,
staff training and continuing education requirements.

(d) Admission procedures, including screening criteria.
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(e) Assessment and service planning protocol, including criteria to
be used that would trigger a reassessment of the resident's status
before the customary quarterly review.

(f) Staffing patterns, maintained within the centerunit, including
the ratio of direct care staff to resident for a 24-hour cycle.

(g) A description of the physical environment including safety and
security features.

(h) A description of activities, including frequency and type, how
the activities meet the needs of residents with dementia.

(i) The program's fee or fee structure for all services provided by
the centerunit-erhome.

() Discharge criteria and procedures;

(k) The procedures that will be utilized for handling emergency
situations.

(1) The involvement of the centerunit with families and family

support programs.

(3) Disclosure of Description. A personal care home with an

Alzheimers/dementia-special-care-unit memory care center must
disclose the written description of the centerspecialcareunit to:

(a) Any person upon request.

(b) The family or resident's representative before admission of the
resident to the centerMemery-Care-Unitorprogram.

(4) Physical Design, Environment, and Safety. The memory care

centerunit erspecialcare-unit must be designed to accommodate
residents with severe dementia or Alzheimer's Disease in a home-like

environment which includes the following:
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(a) Multipurpose room(s) for dining, group and individual activities
which are appropriately furnished to accommodate the activities taking
place.

(b) Secured outdoor spaces and walkways which are wheel chair
accessible and allow residents to ambulate safely but prevent
undetected egress.

(c) High visual contrasts between floors and walls and doorways
and walls in resident use areas except for fire exits, door and access
ways which may be designed to minimize contrast to conceal areas
where the residents should not enter.

(d) Adequate and even lighting which minimizes glare and shadows.

(e) The free movement of the resident, as the resident chooses,
between the common space and the resident's own personal space in a
bedroom that accommodates no more than four residents.

(f) Individually identified entrances to residents' rooms to assist
residents in readily identifying their own personal spaces.

(g) An effective automated device or system to alert staff to
individuals entering or leaving the building in an unauthorized manner.
A home need not use an automated alert for an exit door when the
particular exit is always staffed by a receptionist or other staff member
who views and maintains a log of individuals entering and leaving the
home. If the exit door is not always staffed, then the home must have a
system that activates an automated alert when the door is not
attended;

(h) A communication system(s) which permit staff in the centerunit
to communicate with other staff outside the centerunit and with
emergency services personnel as needed; and

(i) A centerunit or home which undergoes major renovation or is
first constructed after December 9, 2009 must be designed and
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constructed in compliance with applicable state and local building and
fire codes relevant to the centerspeeiatized-unit and the home.

(5) Staffing Requirementsand-nitial-Staff Orientation. The home
must ensure that the centereentained-unit is staffed at all times with
sufficient specially trained staff to meet the unique needs of the

residents in the center.unit-includingthefollowing: At a minimum, the

home must provide the following staffing:

(a) One dementia trained direct care staff person for every 12
residents on-site during all waking hours and for every 15 residents on-
site during all nonwaking hours based on a monthly average; provided,
however, that such ratio is adequate to meet the needs of the
residents;Medicationsforresidents-living-in-the-memery-care-unit-must
| dad I " i) both-of ——

_ ; I bl : " .
(b) One registered professional nurse, licensed practical nurse, or
certified medication aide on-site at all times;Atleastone-awakestaff
| ol - : e Efici I
Eteal i | e ithi : I e
theresidents.
(c) Two direct care staff persons on-site at all times, with at least

one on each occupied floor; and Staffwhe-priorto-caringforresidents

7
ompletedanorentation

......... a
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(d) One registered professional nurse or licensed practical nurse
on-site or available in the building at all times as follows:

(i) For memory care centers with one to 12 residents, a minimum
of eight hours per week;

(ii) For memory care centers with 13 to 30 residents, a minimum of
16 hours per week;

(iii) For memory care centers with 31 to 40 residents, a minimum of
24 hours per week; or

(iv) For memory care centers with more than 40 residents, a
minimum of 40 hours per week.

(6) tnitial-Staff Training_Requirements. The home shall ensure that

all staff are properly trained initially and on an annual basis to provide

safe, quality care to residents in the memory care center. Effective July

1, 2021, the memory care center shall meet the following training

requirements:\Within-the-first shemenths-of-employmentstaffassigned
I ; 4 Sl et e

(a) General Orientation. All staff, regardless of role, shall receive at
least four (4) hours of dementia-specific orientation within the first thirty
(30) days of working in the center. Such orientation shall include: The

T I AT S g L ot axinctiid
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(i) Basic information about the nature, progression, and
management of Alzheimer's and other dementias;

(ii) Techniques for creating an environment that minimizes
challenging behavior from residents with Alzheimer's and other
dementias;

(iii) Methods of identifying and minimizing safety risks to residents
with Alzheimer's and other dementias; and

(iv) Techniques for successful communication with individuals with
Alzheimer's and other dementias.

(b) Direct Care Orientation. All direct care staff shall receive initial
orientation training within the first thirty (30) days of caring for
residents independently that, at a minimum, includes: Commen

(i) General training, to include:

(A) Development, updating, and implementation of comprehensive
and individual service plans;

(B) Skills for recognizing physical or cognitive changes in the
resident that warrant seeking medical attention;

(C) Residents' rights and identification of conduct constituting
abuse, neglect, or exploitation;

(D) General infection control principles;

(E) Emergency preparedness training;

(F) Emergency first aid; and

(G) Cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
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(iii) A minimum of sixteen (16) hours of specialized, competency-
based training using forms specified by the department, to include, at a
minimum:

(A) The nature of Alzheimer's and other dementias;

(B) The center's philosophy related to the care of residents with
Alzheimer's and other dementias;

(C) The center's policies and procedures related to care of residents
with Alzheimer's and other dementias;

(D) Common behavior problems characteristic of residents with
Alzheimer's and other dementias;

(E) Positive therapeutic interventions and activities;

(F) Skills for maintaining the safety of the resident; and

(G) The role of the family in caring for residents with Alzheimer's
and other dementias.

(c) Ongoing Training. Direct care staff shall complete a minimum of
eight (8) hours of specialized competency-based training in dementia
care on an annual basis using forms specified by the department.

- o il Eacil | e -

(d) Hospice Training for Certified Medication Aides Administering
Morphine. The memory care center shall ensure that any medication
aide(s) who will be administering liquid morphine to any hospice
patient(s) residing in the center receive adequate training from a
licensed hospice on the safe and proper administration of liquid
morphine prior to such administration and on an annual basis
thereafter. The memory care center shall maintain documentation of all
training provided.Pesitive-therapeuticinterventionsand-activitiessuch

’ r
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(e) Training Documentation. The memory care center shall
maintain documentation reflecting course content, instructor
qualifications, agenda, and attendance rosters for all training sessions
provided. Fhe+ole-ofthe family-in-caringforresidents-with-dementiaas

: i "y
T — e "

(7) Special Admission Requirements for Memory Care Centerbsit

Placement. Residents must have a Report of Physical Examination
completed by a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or physician's
assistant within 30 days prior to admission to the centerheme-erunit on
forms provided by Department. The physical examination must clearly
reflect that the resident has a diagnosis of probable Alzheimer's Disease
or other dementia and has symptoms which demonstrate a need for
placement in the centerspeciatized-unit. However, the centerunit may
also care for a resident who does not have a probable diagnosis of
Alzheimer's Disease or other dementia, but desires to live in the
centerunit as a companion to a resident with a probable diagnosis of
Alzheimer's Disease or other dementia with which the resident has a
close personal relationship. In addition, the physical examination report
must establish that each potential resident of the centerunit does not
require 24-hour skilled nursing care.
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(8) Post-Admission Assessment. The home must assess each
resident's care needs to include the following components: resident's
family supports, level of activities of daily living functioning, physical
care needs and level of behavior impairment.

(9) Individual Service Plans. The post-admission assessment must
be used to develop the resident's individual service plan within 14 days
of admission. The service plan must be developed by a team with at
least one member of the direct care staff participating and input from
each shift of direct care staff that provides care to the resident. All team
members participating must sign the service plan and the service plan
must be shared with the direct care staff providing care to the resident
and serve as a guide for the delivery of services to the resident. The
service plan must include the following:

(a) A description of the resident's care and social needs and the
services to be provided, including frequency to address care and social
needs.

(b) Resident's expressed preferences regarding care, activities and
interests.

(c) Specific behaviors to be addressed with interventions to be
used.

(d) Names of staff primarily responsible for implementing the
service plan.

(e) Evidence of family involvement in the development of the plan,

if possible, with incorporation of family and personal history to support

a person-centered approach to carewhen-apprepriate.

(f) Evidence of the service plan being updated at least quarterly or
more frequently if the needs of resident change substantially.

(10)  Therapeutic Activities. The centerunit must provide therapeutic
activities appropriate to the needs of the individual residents and adapt
the activities, as necessary, to encourage the participation of the

Proposed Amended Rules Chapter 111-8-62, Personal Care Homes
Presented to the BCH for Final Adoption on 8/12/2021
Page 40



residents. The following kinds of therapeutic activities must be provided
at least weekly with at least some therapeutic activities occurring daily:

(a} Gross motor activities; e.g. exercise, dancing, gardening,
cooking, other cutdoor activities.

{b) Self-care activities; e.g. dressing, personal hygiene/grooming;
{c) Social activities; e.g. games, music, crafts.
{d) Sensory enhancement activities, e.g. distinguishing pictures and

picture bocks, reminiscing and scent and tactile stimulation.

(11}  No licensed personal care home may provide or hoid itself out
as providing specialized care for residents with probable Alzheimer's
disease or other dementia or charge a differential rate for care of
residents with cognitive deficits that place the residents at risk of
engaging in unsafe wandering activities (eloping) unless it meets the
additional requirements specified in Rule 111-8-62-.19.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9, 31-7-1 et seq. and 43-26-32.
Pule 111-8-62-.20 Medications

(1) Self-Administration of Medications. Residents who have the
capacity to self-administer medications safely and independently
without staff assistance or supervision must be allowed to store their
own medications securely and self-administer medications if they so
desire.

(2) Assistance with Self-Administration. A resident who is not
capable of independent self-administration of medication may be
assisted and supervised in self-administration by staff to the following
extent;

{a) Staff providing such assistance or supervision may perform the
following:
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1. Take the medication, in its previously dispensed, properly
labeled container, from where it is stored, and bring the medication to
the resident.

2. Read the label, open the container, remove a prescribed
amount of medication from the container, and close the container, in
the presence of the resident.

3. Place an oral dosage in the resident's hand or in another
container where the resident requests assistance.

4, Apply topical medications.

5. Assist with self-administration of drops, inhalers, nasal sprays
and patches,

6. Return the medication container to proper secured storage.

7. Assist the resident's use of an EPI pen where the resident has
known severe allergies for which an EP{ pen has been prescribed on
condition that there is an established written protocol detailing how it is
to be used and when. The protocol must include immediately calling
Emergency Services, 911, after any use of the EPI pen.

{b) Staff assisting with or supervising self-administration of
medications must be proficient in English and able to read, write and
follow written instructions in English.

{3) Basic Medication Training for Staff Assisting with Self-
Administration. The home must provide and document medication
training for the unlicensed staff that are providing assistance with or
supervision of self-administration of medications to capable residents.
The medication training must be conducted with an appropriate
curriculum for providing medication assistance and include at least the
following topics:
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(a) The home's medication policy and procedures, including actions
to take if concerns regarding resident's capacity to self-administer
medications are identified.

(b) How to read prescription labels including common
abbreviations.

(c) Providing the right medication to the right resident at the right
time in the right amount and the right way including how to measure
various medications.

(d) Actions to take when concerns regarding medications are
identified.
(e) Infection control procedures relative to providing assistance

with medications.

(f) Proper medication storage and disposal.

(g) Recognition of side effects and adverse reactions for the specific
medications.

(h) Understanding the common classifications of medications,

typical side effects and adverse reactions and medications for which
unlicensed staff may never provide assistance with or supervision of self
administration.

(i) Proper documentation and record keeping using the Medication
Assistance Record.

(4) Medication Skills Competency Determinations. Unlicensed
staff in homes providing assistance with or supervision of self-
administered medications must demonstrate to a qualified supervisor
when hired and at least, annually thereafter, the necessary skills to
perform the medication tasks assigned competently.

(5) Memory Care Medication Administration. Medications for
residents living in the memory care center must be provided to the
residents by a proxy caregiver trained in accordance with the

Proposed Amended Rules Chapter 111-8-62, Personal Care Homes
Presented to the BCH for Final Adoption on 8/12/2021
Page 43



requirements of Chapter 111-8-100; a licensed registered nurse: a
licensed practical nurse working under the supervision of a physician or
registered nurse; or a certified medication aide subject to the
requirements set forth below.

(6) Certified Medication Aide Requirements. A home using
certified medication aides must meet the requirements below. CMAs
working in the memory care center may also assist non-memory care
residents in the same building.

(a) Check the Registry. The home must check to ensure that the
medication aides employed in the home are listed in good standing on
the Georgia Certified Medication Aide Registry and have no record of
being terminated for cause relating to the performance of medication
aide tasks before permitting the aides to administer medications.

(b) Administer Skills Competency Checks. The home must
administer skills competency checks to determine and document that
the medication aides who have been certified for more than one year
upon hiring continue to have the knowledge and skills necessary to
administer medications properly for the residents in care. The home
must use a skills competency checklist which meets the requirements
contained in the standardized clinical skills competency checklist used
to certify medication aides.

(c) Quarterly Observations. The home must use a licensed
registered professional nurse or a pharmacist to conduct quarterly
random medication administration observations to determine that the
aides are administering medications correctly and in compliance with
these rules and report any issues to the home’s administration for
resolution.

(d) Quarterly Drug Regimen Reviews. The home must secure the
services of a licensed pharmacist to perform all of the following duties:
(i) conduct guarterly reviews of the drug regimen for each resident of
the assisted living community and report any irregularities to the
assisted living community administration; (ii) remove for proper
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disposal any drugs that are expired, discontinued or in a deteriorated
condition or where the resident for whom such drugs were ordered is
no longer a resident; (iii) establish or review policies and procedures for
safe and effective drug therapy, distribution, use and control; and (iv)
monitor compliance with established policies and procedures for
medication handling and storage.

(e) Authorized Tasks for Certified Medication Aides. A home may
allow a certified medication aide to do only the following tasks related
the administration of medications utilizing only unit or multidose
packaging of medications:

(i) Administer physician ordered oral, via a feeding tube,
ophthalmic, topical, otic, nasal, vaginal and rectal medications;

(ii) Administer insulin, epinephrine, and B12 pursuant to physician
direction and protocol;

(iii) Administer medications via a metered dose inhaler;

(iv) Conduct finger stick blood glucose testing following established
protocol;

v Administer a commercially prepared disposable enema ordered
by a physician;

(vi) Assist residents in the supervision of self-administration of
medications; and

(vii) Administer liquid morphine to a resident of the community who
is the patient of a licensed hospice, pursuant to a hospice physician’s
written order that contains specific instructions for indication, dosage,
frequency and route of administration.

(f) Annual Competency Reviews. Complete comprehensive clinical
skills competency reviews for each certified medication aide utilizing the
skills competency checklist at least, annually after hiring to determine
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that the aides continue to have the necessary skills to perform the
medication tasks assigned competently. Such skills competency
checklists must be administered by Georgia-licensed registered nurses,
pharmacists or physicians, who indicate in writing that the tasks
observed are being performed competently.

(g) Proper Notice of Separation for Cause. Ensure that where a
medication aide is terminated for cause relating to the performance of
medication aide tasks, the aide is provided with the following: (i) a
separation notice that clearly describes the facts that support the
termination for cause; (ii) written notice that being terminated for cause
related to the administration of medications, if not successfully
appealed through a hearing on right to unemployment benefits will
result in the loss of good standing on the Georgia Certified Medication
Aide Registry; and (iii) the loss of good standing on the Certified
Medication Aide Registry will make the aide ineligible for hiring as a
certified medication aide by another assisted living community.

(h) Registry Notification. Submit to the Georgia Certified
Medication Aide Registry a copy of the Separation Notice for the
certified medication aide only if the separation related specifically to
the performance of medication aide tasks and the termination for cause
has either been finally upheld by the Department of Labor or the time

for appealing the Separation Notice has expired.

(7) Homes Conducting Certified Medication Aide Training. A home
choosing to provide a certified medication aide training program must
do all of the following:

(a) Utilize the state-approved medication aide training program
ensuring that the training is administered by a Georgia licensed
registered nurse, pharmacist, or physician;

(b) Require the aide to demonstrate the requisite clinical skills to
serve as a medication aide before a Georgia-licensed registered nurse,
pharmacist or physician utilizing the standardized medication

administration checklist developed by the Department;
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(c) Prepare the aide to take the written competency examination
to become a certified medication aide;

(d) Verify that the aide is in good standing on the Georgia certified
nurse aide registry;

(e) Provide information to the aide on the registration and
locations for taking the written competency examination;

(f) Provide the documentation to the Georgia Certified Medication
Aide Registry that is necessary to complete the application for
placement of the aide's name on the Georgia Certified Medication Aide

Registry; and

(g) Not permit the aide to administer medications independently
unless the aide is listed on the Georgia certified medication aide registry
in good standing.

(85)  Maintaining Records on Medication Assistance and
Administration. Where the home either provides assistance with, or
supervision of self-administered medications, or administershealth
matntenance-activities-invelving medications to residents, the home
must maintain a daily Medication Assistance Record (MAR) for each
resident receiving such service.

(a) The MAR must include the name of the specific resident, any
known allergies, the name and telephone number of the resident's
health care provider, the name, strength and specific directions
including a summary of severe side effects and adverse reactions for use
of each medication and a chart for staff who provide assistance or
administration to record initials, time and date when medications are
taken, refused or a medication error is identified (e.g. missed dosage).
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(b) The staff providing the assistance or administration of
medications must update the MAR each time the medication is offered
or taken.

(c) The home must make medication information concerning the
descriptions of medication, dosing, side effects, adverse reactions and
contraindications for each medication being administered to the
residents immediately available for reference by staff providing
medication assistance or administration.

(d) Staff providing assistance with or administration of medications
must document in the resident's record any unusual reactions to the
medications and provide such information to the resident, the
resident's representative and the health care provider as appropriate.

(e) Refills of prescribed medications must be obtained timely so
that there is no interruption in the routine dosing. Where the home is
provided with a new medication for the resident, the MAR must be
modified to reflect the addition of the new medication within 48 hours
or sooner if the prescribing physician, advance practice registered nurse
or physician assistant indicates that the medication change must be
made immediately. In homes, where unit or multi-dose packaging is not
available for immediate changes in medications, unit or multi-dose
packaging of the medication must be obtained when the prescription is
refilled.

(f) For any administration of liquid morphine by a certified
medication aide, staff shall observe and document the following in the
resident’s record:

(i) the resident’s need for PRN liquid morphine, including but not
limited to verbalizations of pain, groaning, grimacing or restlessness;

(ii) the date, time and location of the initial dose administered by a
licensed hospice health care professional;
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(iii) the dosage, time and route of administration for the morphine
administered in the community:

(iv) the training provided by the licensed hospice; and

(v) information regarding the special circumstances under which
the hospice was unavailable to administer the medication.

(69)  Orders Required for All Medications. A home must not allow its
staff to assist with, provide supervision of self-administered
medications, including over-the-counter medications, unless there is a
physician, advance practice registered nurse or physician assistant's
order or individualized prescription bottle, specifying clear instructions
for its use on file for the resident.

(#10)) Timely Management of Medication Procurement. The home
must obtain new prescriptions within 48 hours of receipt of notice of
the prescription or sooner if the prescribing physician indicates that a
medication change must be made immediately. If the pharmacy does
not have the medication needed for the immediate change, available
and has not obtained further directions from the physician, the home
must notify the physician of the unavailability of the prescription and
request direction.

(811) Storage of Medications.

(a) The home is accountable for having an effective system to
manage the medications it receives including storing medications under
lock and key, or other secure system to prevent unauthorized access, at
all times, whether kept by a resident or kept by the home for the
resident, except when required to be kept by a resident on his or her
person due to need for frequent or emergency use, as determined by
the resident's physician, advance practice registered nurse or physician
assistant, or when closely attended by a staff member. Additionally, for
controlled substances, the secure storage must be a locked cabinet or
box of substantial construction and a log must be maintained and
updated daily by the home to account for all inventory.
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(b) Medication kept by a resident may be stored in the resident's
bedroom, in a locked cabinet or other locked storage container. Single
occupancy bedrooms which are kept locked at all times are acceptable.
Duplicate keys for the resident's locked storage container and room
must be available to the resident and the administrator, on-site
manager or designated staff.

(c) Medications must be kept in original containers with original
labels intact.
(d) A home may stock over-the-counter medications such as aspirin

or acetaminophen for the convenience of residents who have PRN (as
needed) orders for the specific medication and dosage. However, where
the resident takes an over-the-counter medication daily as prescribed in
a written order by a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or physicians
assistant, such as vitamins or low-dose aspirins, the resident must have
an individual bottle of the prescribed medication that is kept for the
resident's individual usage.

(e) Unused or expired medications must be properly disposed of
using the current U.S. Food and Drug Administration or U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency guidelines for the specific
medications.

(f) The supply of liquid morphine on site shall be limited to 50 ml|
for each hospice patient in the home for which there is a physician’s
order for such medication.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9, 31-7-1, 31-7-2, 31-7-2.1, 31-7-12,
31-8-180 et seq. and 43-26-32.

Rule 111-8-62-.23 Infection Control, Sanitation and Supplies

(1) The home must have a supply of first-aid materials available for
use. This supply must include, at a minimum, gloves, band aids,
thermometer, tape, gauze, and an antiseptic.
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(2) A home must provide hand-sanitizing agents or soap and water
at the sinks, clean towels and toilet tissue at each commode.

(3) Hand washing facilities provided in both kitchen and bathroom
areas must include hot and cold running water, soap, and clean towels.

(4) The home must have an effective infection control program
which includes, at least the following:

(a) Training provided to staff on effective measures for minimizing
the spread of infections and food borne illnesses.

(b) Responding to disease outbreaks appropriately and
participating in infection control investigations.

(c) Staff demonstrating their understanding and use of proper
infection control practices in their delivery of care to the residents.

(d) Enforcing work and return to work policies to minimize the
spread of infection and illnesses.

(f) Providing notices as recommended by public health regarding
outbreaks and infestation issues to residents, staff and any visitors.
Homes licensed for twenty-five (25) or more beds must meet the

notification requirements of the Rules and Regulations for Disaster
Preparedness Plans, Chapter 111-8-16.

(5) The home must have an adequate supply of sanitizing and
cleaning agents, e.g. effective hand hygiene products, hand soap,
laundry soap, household disinfectants and other cleaning materials,
properly stored to prevent accidental ingestion but available for and
properly used in the home to minimize the spread of infections.

(6) Residents' private living spaces or bedrooms must be
thoroughly cleaned and sanitized after residents move out of the rooms.

(7) The home must clean the residents' private living spaces
periodically and as needed to ensure that the space does not pose a
health hazard.
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(8) Homes licensed for twenty-five (25) or more beds must follow
the additional infection control requirements set forth in the Rules and
Regulations for Disaster Preparedness Plans, Chapter 111-8-16,
regarding pandemic plans, supplies and policies and procedures.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-7, 31-2-9, 31-7-2.1, 31-7-12.3 and 31-7-
12.5.
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