PERSONAL CARE HOME APPLICATION CHECKLIST

For your convenience, an application checklist has been created to outline the required documents for each application submission. Please upload all required documents in the Personal Care Home Application Packet. As a reminder, all policies and procedures must be established as part of the requirements for regulations and readily available upon request. To prevent any delays in the review process, please submit all documents at once.

Upon application submission and payment, if required, you will receive an acknowledgement email. Applications are reviewed in the order they are received. The initial review period is 60 days from the date of receipt. Failure to submit documents accurately and timely can result in a longer review period.

The official rules for Personal Care Homes are on record with the Georgia Secretary of State's Office at http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/. A courtesy copy of the rules for Personal Care Homes can be found on Healthcare Facility Regulation Division website at https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations.

The link to access the online application portal is https://forms.dch.georgia.gov/Forms/HFRD-Applications-and-Waivers-Intake. All written correspondence regarding the status of your application will be sent to the email address provided on your application. If additional documentation is requested, you will receive an email from workflow@dch.ga.gov. Please open the email from workflow@dch.ga.gov. Please open the entire link in browser, and upload the requested documents. Please continue to monitor your email, including your Junk/Spam folder for emails from workflow@dch.ga.gov.

For information regarding Change of Ownership (CHOW), please review Frequently Asked Questions on DCH website - https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facilities-provider-information/hfrd-chow-faq .

For general application questions, email hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov.

For questions regarding PCH Rules and Regulations and facility closures, email pchprogram.hfrd@dch.ga.gov.

Initial/New Permit

1. Application - completed and signed by the Owner

If a corporation - include Certificate of Incorporation and Articles of Incorporation for ALL corporations having an interest in the personal care home

If partnership - include Partnership Agreement

If Limited Liability Company (LLC) - include Certificate of Organization and Articles of Organization for ALL LLCs with an interest in the personal care home

If a non-profit - include documentation of non-profit status [501(c) 3]

If Individual - include statement of all owners and percentage of ownership.

2. Documentation of County/City Zoning Approval or applicable documents

- 3. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of ID that was shown to the notary public
- 4. A copy of Proof of Ownership for the property or a copy of the Lease Agreement
- 5. Fire Safety Inspection Report with no violations or hazards identified from the appropriate fire safety authority showing capacity load (must be dated within 12 months of application submission). A sprinkler system is required for 7 beds or more.
- 6. Electrical Inspection Compliance Form with no violations or hazards identified from a Georgia licensed electrician and the electrician's State license number (must be dated within 6 months of application submission)
- 7. Floor Sketch (label all rooms, bedroom measurements, location of all doors, windows and bed placement for residents, provider's personal living quarters, and staff)
- 8. Administrator & Owner Survey Form signed and dated by the Owner
- 9. Completed fingerprinting through Georgia Criminal Background Check System (GCHEXS) for all administrators and individual owners with 10% or more ownership (satisfactory determination letter on DCH letterhead must be dated within 12 months of application submission). For fingerprint background check requirements, visit https://dch.georgia.gov/georgia-criminal-background-check-system-gchexs.

Note: If there are no individuals that own 10% or more interest, provide a letter on company letterhead stating this information. The letter must be signed by the owner or owner representative.

- 10. Written approval for water source and sewage disposal system, i.e., water bill. If the facility uses a septic system, complete the Water and Septic Tank Report Form.
- 11. A Letter of Determination approved by the Office of Health Planning (OHP) for 25 or more beds. For more information, visit DCH-OHP website at https://dch.georgia.gov/con-applications-and-forms.
- 12. Notarized Affidavit of Financial Stability for 25 or more beds
- 13. Licensure fee is required. For more information, see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees.

Change of Ownership (CHOW)

1. Application - completed and signed by the **Owner**

If a corporation - include Certificate of Incorporation and Articles of Incorporation for ALL corporations having an interest in the personal care home If partnership - include Partnership Agreement If Limited Liability Company (LLC) - include Certificate of Organization and Articles of Organization for ALL LLCs with an interest in the personal care home

If a non-profit - include documentation of non-profit status [501(c) 3]

If Individual - include statement of all owners and percentage of ownership.

- 2. Provide a Bill of Sale or Transaction Agreement for the business purchase
- 3. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public
- 4. A copy of Proof of Ownership for the property or a copy of the Lease Agreement
- 5. Administrator & Owner Survey Form signed and dated by the Owner

6. Completed fingerprinting through Georgia Criminal Background Check System (GCHEXS) for all administrators and individual owners with 10% or more ownership (satisfactory determination letter on DCH letterhead must be dated within 12 months of application submission). For fingerprint background check requirements, visit https://dch.georgia.gov/georgia-criminal-background-check-system-gchexs.

Note: If there are no individuals that own 10% or more interest, provide a letter on company letterhead stating this information. The letter must be signed by the owner or owner representative.

7. Notarized Affidavit of Financial Stability for 25 or more beds

Governing Body Name Change

1. Application - completed and signed by the **Owner**

If a corporation - include Certificate of Incorporation and Articles of Incorporation for ALL corporations having an interest in the personal care home

If partnership - include Partnership Agreement

If Limited Liability Company (LLC) - include Certificate of Organization and Articles of Organization for ALL LLCs with an interest in the personal care home

If a non-profit - include documentation of non-profit status [501(c) 3]

If Individual - include statement of all owners and percentage of ownership.

- 2. Administrator & Owner Survey Form signed and dated by the Owner
- 3. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public

Facility Name Change

- 1. Application completed and signed by the **Owner**
- 2. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public

Decrease in Capacity

- 1. Application completed and signed by the **Owner**
- 2. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public

Increase in Capacity

- 1. Application completed and signed by the **Owner**
- 2. Fire Safety Inspection Report with no violations or hazards identified from the appropriate fire safety authority showing capacity load
- 3. Floor Sketch (label all rooms, bedroom measurements, location of all doors, windows and bed placement for residents, family, and staff)
- 4. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public

5. A Letter of Determination approved by the Office of Health Planning (OHP) for 25 or more beds. For more information, visit DCH-OHP website at https://dch.georgia.gov/con-applications-and-forms.

Conversion from ALC to PCH

- 1. Application completed and signed by the Owner
- 2. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public
- 3. Licensure fee is required. For more information, see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees.

Conversion from CLA to PCH

- 1. Application completed and signed by the Owner
- 2. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public
- 3. Licensure fee is required. For more information, see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees.

Memory Care Certification

Before you apply for a memory care certification, you must have a Personal Care Home permit. An application form is not required. Apply in the application portal.

- 1. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and copy of id that was shown to the notary public
- 2. Notarized Affidavit of Compliance
- 3. A copy of current PCH permit

O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(f)(1)(B) Affidavit

By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a license, permit or

	eorgia, the unders	signed applic		artment of Communit ne of the following wit
	I am a United Sta	tes citizen.		
	I am a legal perma	anent resider	nt of the United	d States.
	Immigration and N	Nationality Ad	t with an alier	nt under the Federa n number issued by the er federal immigration
	My alien number or other federal im	•	•	of Homeland Security
	t least one secure a			8 years of age or olde required by O.C.G.A.
The secure and ver as:			his affidavit ca	an best be classified
knowingly and willfu	ully makes a false, f be guilty of a viol	ictitious, or fr lation of O.C	audulent state	that any person who ement or representation 0-20, and face crimina
Executed in	(c	ity),		_(state).
		Signature	of Applicant	
		Printed Na	me of Applica	nt
SUBSCRIBED AND BEFORE ME ON T DAY OF	=			
NOTARY PUBLIC My Commission Ex	pires:			

Georgia Department of Community Health Healthcare Facility Regulation Division AFFIDAVIT OF FINANCIAL STABILITY

Effective July 1, 2021, required for both <u>Initial</u> Applications and CHOW Applications for Licensure for ALC and PCH of 25 beds or more (Interim Affidavit in use as of January 20, 2023.) i

	Name of Applicant for Facility Licensure:	
	Facility Address:	
ľ	Name of Certified Public Accountant (CPA):	
	Business Affiliation of CPA (if applicable):	
	CPA Firm License # (if applicable):	
	CPA License/Certificate #:	
	Mailing Address of CPA:	
	Email address of CPA:	
	Phone Number of CPA:	
	COUNTY OF:	
	STATE OF:	
	EFORE ME, the undersigned authority perso eposed as follows:	onally appeared who, being by me duly sworn,
1)	I have personal knowledge of the matters addre	essed in this affidavit the attestations made herein.
2)	I am over eighteen (18) years of age, and I am support of the facts stated herein.	of sound mind and capable of making this affidavit in
3)	and my license is currently active and in good	censed in the State of standing. My license number is firm is actively licensed with the Georgia State Board are information above.

4) I understand and acknowledge that the above-referenced applicant for facility licensure is requesting authority from the Georgia Department of Community Health (the "Department") to operate a personal care home or assisted living community that will provide personal care services to elderly and/or disabled individuals in the State of Georgia and that there are individuals under care of the

facility that may be vulnerable and in need of trustworthy oversight.

5)	A In executing this affidavit, I hereby swear documents ⁱⁱ for the previous fiscal year, for the above-res	
	OR	
	B In executing this affidavit, I hereby swear or in 5A above, I have reviewed sufficient financial documents above-referenced applicant for facility licensure. Strength of the superscript of the superscript in the superscript of the su	ents to make the required determination for
6)	In executing this affidavit, I hereby swear or affirm the documents pursuant to 5A or 5B above, the applicant financial resources to operate. I understand that the Delherein in making a determination regarding the applicant	for facility licensure has demonstrated the epartment will rely on the statements made
Sig	gnature of Certified Public Accountant	Date of Signature
Pr	rinted Name of Certified Public Accountant	_
SUE	BSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON	
THI	IS THEDAY OF	20
Nota	ary Public	
My	Commission Expires:	
i Plea	ase note that the above Affidavit of Financial Stability has been mod	ified pursuant to the Department's waiver

¹ Please note that the above Affidavit of Financial Stability has been modified pursuant to the Department's waiver authority in response to concerns received about language contained in the original affidavit regarding affirmation of the applicant's ability to operate as a going concern.

[&]quot;While this list is not exhaustive, said reviewed documents may include audited or unaudited documents such as Bank Statements, Personal Tax Returns, Business Tax Records, Invoices, Receipts, Income Statements, Balance Sheets, Profit and Loss Statements, Balance Sheets, Cash-flow Statements, Accounts Receivable/Accounts Payable, and Aging Reports.

iii A Pro Forma Statement or financial forecast consists of prospective financial statements that present, to the best of the applicant's knowledge and belief, an entity's expected financial position, results of operations, and cash flows. A Projected Income Statement is a snapshot of applicant's forecasted sales, cost of sales, and expenses.

PERSONAL CARE HOME APPLICATION

√ Check All That Apply				
o New Permit	o CI	nango of Address (not location	an)	
		o Change of Address (not location)		
o Change Governing Body (ownership)		nange of Capacity		
o Change of Governing Body Name	o O	.ner		
o Change of PCH Name				
1. Name of Home	(Are	a Code) Telephone		

2. Home Address Street	City	County	Zip	
3. Governing Body	(Are	a Code) Telephone		
4. Home Address Street	City	County	Zip	
2.00	,			
5. Type of Ownership o Individual o Church	o Corporation o Government	o Non-Profit o Partnerslo Other	nıp	
Registered Agent for Service (for Corpo				
To registered rigent for cervice (for corpe	oradori)			
7. Attach the Administrator & Owner Survey Form with the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of				
individuals or organizations having a 10%	or more ownership	interest in the facility.		
8. Indicate if you have previously owned and operated a Personal Care Home or Community Living				
Arrangement o No o Yes IF YES, please indicate in space #14 w	here vou previous	v operated a home.		
Requested Capacity (specific # of reside		Facility or Governing Body E	-mail Address	
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	,	, , ,		
11. Change in Capacity	12.	Previous Governing Body		
From To		,		
13. Previous PCH Name	14.	Previous PCH Address		
15. The above information is true and corr	rect to the best of r	nv knowledge. I understand	that submitting false	
information may result in denial of my appl				
Print Name of Owner		Date		
Signature of Owner				



Brian P. Kemp, Governor

Caylee Noggle, Commissioner

2 Peachtree Street, NW | Atlanta, GA 30303-3159 | 404-656-4507 | www.dch.georgia.gov

AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE

I,, the undersigned duly authorized representative of Name of Owner/Applicant			
, hereby attest that in furtherance of its application Governing Body			
for licensure, said entity has developed policies and procedures mandated under the			
rules and regulations indicated below. If the application for licensure is approved by the			
Department, these policies and procedures shall be implemented immediately by the			
facility. Additionally,understands that once licensed, it is Governing Body			
subject to unannounced periodic inspections at which time the policies and procedures			
shall be readily available for review for sufficiency and compliance with applicable			
rules and regulations. Deficient policies and procedures may subject the facility to			
sanctions pursuant to Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 111-8-25.			
1) Assisted Living Communities Chapter 111-8-63			
2) Home Health Agencies Chapter 111-8-31			
3) Hospices Chapter 111-8-37			
4) Narcotic Treatment Programs Chapter 111-8-53			



5)	Personal Care Homes Chapter 111-8-62	
6)	Private Home Care Providers Chapter 111-8-65	
This	_day of, 20	
		Signature of Authorized Representative
		Business/Facility Name
	BED AND SWORN ME ON THIS THE	
	=20	
NOTARY		
IVIY Comm	ssion Expires:	

ADMINISTRATOR & OWNER SURVEY FORM

Name of Facility:		County:		
Mailing Address:	(Dity:	Zi	p:
NAME OF ADMINISTRATOR	DATE OF BIRTH	SOCIAL S	ECURITY#	ALSO OWNER? Yes / No
NAME OF OWNER(S)	ADDRESS		PHONE IBER	PERCENTAGE OWNERSHIP
NAME OF OWNER(O)	ADDITEOS	NON	IDEII	OWNEROIM
Owner's Signature:		Date:		

ELECTRICAL INSPECTION COMPLIANCE FORM

ADDRESS:
OWNER:
OWNER'S CURRENT ADDRESS:
OWNER'S PHONE #:
OWNER'S EMAIL ADDRESS:
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE ELECTRICIAN NOTE TO ELECTRICIAN: Do NOT complete this form unless all information is listed
above regarding the location to be inspected.
I, have inspected the electrical system at the above listed community and have determined that the electrical system is maintained in a safe condition and is free of hazards.
I, have inspected the electrical system at the above listed community and have determined that the electrical
I, have inspected the electrical system at the above listed community and have determined that the electrical system is maintained in a safe condition and is free of hazards.
I,have inspected the electrical system at the above listed community and have determined that the electrical system is maintained in a safe condition and is free of hazards. Signature:
I,have inspected the electrical system at the above listed community and have determined that the electrical system is maintained in a safe condition and is free of hazards. Signature: Printed Name:

Water and Septic Tank Report Form

Water and sewage systems must meet applicable federal, state and local standards or regulations. This report form should be completed by the County Environmentalist from the County Public Health Department in which the facility is located if the community is served by a well and/or a septic tank. If the community is served by public water and sewer, you only need to submit a copy of a current water bill.

To be completed by applicant:

To be completed by a	pplicant:	
Facility Name:		
Address:	City:	
County:	Telepho	ne:
To be completed by th	ne County Environmentalist	:
WATER (check only one):		
The facility's water	supply is from an approved source	e.
The facility's well h	nas been tested and the report is a	ttached.
SEWAGE (check only one)	:	
The facility is con	nected to a public or community s	ewage disposal system.
•	ved by an on-site sewage system residents	
	n Number of Residents	
County Environmentalist: _		
	Print Name	Title
Signature:	D	ate:

SCHEDULE OF LICENSURE ACTIVITY FEES

Licensure Activity	Fee	Frequency
Application Processing Fees:	\$300	Upon submission
New Application		
 Change of Ownership 		
 Change in Service Level (Requiring on site visit) 		
Name Change		
Initial Li ense Fee	Varies by program	Submitted prior to
(Same an annual licensure activity fee for each		issuance of license
program type)		
Involuntary Application Processing fee subsequent to	\$550	
unlicensed complaint investigation		
Follow-up visit to periodic inspection	\$250	License renewal date
LICENSES	5	
dult Day Centers		
Social Model	\$250	Annually
Medical Model	\$350	Annually
mbulatory Surgical Treatment Centers (ASC)*	\$750	Annually
ssisted Living Communities (ALC)		
25 to 50 beds	\$750	Annually
51 or more beds	\$1,500	Annually
Birthing Centers	\$250	Annually
Clinical Laboratories*	\$500	Annually
Community Living Arrangements*(CLA)	\$350	Annually
Drug Abuse Treatment Programs* (DATEP)	\$500	Annually
End tage Renal Disease Centers (ESRD)		
1 – 12 stations	\$600	Annually
13 - 24 stations	1,000	Annually
25 or more stations	\$1,100	Annually
Stand Alone ESRD Facilities Offering Peritoneal Dialysis Only	\$800	Annually
Eye Banks	\$250	Annually
Home Health Agencies*(HHA)	\$1,000	Annually
Hospices*(HSPC)	\$1,000	Annually
Hospitals*	Ć250	A 11
1 to 24 beds	\$250	Annually
25 to 50 beds	\$750	Annually
51 or more beds	\$1,500	Annually
C M s - Intermediate Care Facilities / MR (private)	\$250	Annually
Narcotic Treatment Programs (NTP)	\$1,500	Annually
Memory Care Certificate for Assisted Living/Personal Care Homes	\$200	Annually
Nursing Homes 1 to 99 beds	ĊEOO	Annually
	\$500 \$750	Annually
100 or more beds	\$/50	Annually
Personal Care Homes (PCH) 2 to 24 beds	\$350	Annually
2 to 24 beds 25 to 50 beds	\$350 \$750	Annually
		Annually
51 or more beds	\$1,500	Annually

Private Home Care Providers*(PHCP)	Per Service			
Companion Sitting	\$250	Annually		
Personal Care Services	\$250	Annually		
Nursing Services	\$250	Annually		
Traumatic Brain Injury Facilities	\$250	Annually		
X-ray Registration	\$300	Initial Application Only		
MISCELLANEOUS FEES				
Civil monetary penalties as finally determined		Case-by-case basis		
Late Fee – 60 days past due	\$150	Per instance		
Permit replacement	\$50	Per request		
List of Facilities by license type (electronic only)	\$25	Per request		

ACCREDITATION DISCOUNT INFORMATION

*Eligible for a 25% discount if currently accredited by a nationally recognized accreditation organization approved by the department as having standards comparable to specific state licensure requirements and a complete copy of the current decision is submitted to the department at the time of annual license fee renewal. Currently the department will accept current accreditation at the level Medicare (CMS) accepts for deemed status from a CMS approved organization. Below is the list of the current accreditation organizations approved by this department.

Accreditation Organization	Program
Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC)	Ambulatory Surgery
Accreditation Commission for Health Care, Inc (ACHC)	CLA, HHA, Hospice, PHCP
American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities (AAAASF)	Ambulatory Surgery
American Osteopathic Association Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (AOA/HFAP)	CAH, ASC, Hospital
American Association for Blood Banks (AABB)	Clinical Laboratory
American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI)	Clinical Laboratory
Center for Improvement in Healthcare Quality (CIHQ)	Hospital
Commission on the Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)	CLA, DATEP, PHCP
COLA	Clinical Laboratory
College of American Pathologists (CAP)	Clinical Laboratory
Community Health Accreditation Program (CHAP)	Hospice, PHCP
Council on Accreditation (COA)	CLA, DATEP
Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL)	CLA, DATEP, PHCP
Det Norske Veritas Healthcare (DNV Healthcare)	CAH, Hospital
The Joint Commission (JC)	ASC, CAH, CLA, Clinical Laboratory, DATEP, HHA, Hospice, Hospital, PHCP

ANNUAL LICENSE RENEWAL PAYMENTS

The Rules and Regulations for General Licensing and Enforcement Requirements, Chapter 111-8-25, require licensed providers to pay licensure activity fees **annually**. The department no longer mails annual licensing fee invoices. **The annual fees are due October 31**st **and collected through December 31**st **each year without penalty.** A late fee of \$150 is automatically added to your balance on January 1st each year.

A new and simplified way to view and understand annual fees:

Fees paid between October and December 31st are good for the following *calendar* year. For example, if your annual fees are current, fees paid in November 2021 are good for Calendar year 2022.

Regardless of when your initial licensing fee was paid, the payment is good for that *calendar* year. For example, if you pay your initial license fee in June and are licensed in August 2021- The initial license fee is good for *calendar* year 2021. The renewal fee due in October 2021 is for calendar year 2022.

How and where to pay annual licensing fees:

You must pay your annual licensing fees in our payment web portal. This link is permanently located on the Healthcare Facility Regulation Home page. Here is the direct link for your convenience.

https://forms.dch.georgia.gov/Forms/Payments

The department accepts Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express. ACH payments are also accepted using your checking account.

LICENSURE ACTIVITY FEES COLLECTED BY THE DEPARTMENT ARE <u>NOT</u> REFUNDABLE.

If you have questions regarding annual licensing activity fees, please send your inquiry to:

HFRD.payments@dch.ga.gov