



Medicaid Provider Enrollment Revalidation Process Frequently Asked Questions

June 12, 2014 -- REVISED Program Background

Section 6401 (a) of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) established a requirement for all enrolled providers and suppliers to revalidate their enrollment information under new enrollment screening criteria. This revalidation initiative applies to those providers and suppliers who were enrolled on or prior to December 31, 2012. Providers who were enrolled as of January 1, 2013, will be required to revalidate their enrollment in the second phase of this process no later than December 31, 2018. They will receive their revalidation notice at a later time.

Between now and December 31, 2015, Hewlett-Packard Enterprise Services (HP) will mail notices to begin the revalidation process for each provider and supplier. Providers and suppliers must wait to submit their revalidation until being notified by HP. Please note that 42 CFR 424.515(d) authorizes the Georgia Department of Community Health (DCH) to conduct off-cycle revalidations.

Providers will have 60 days from the date of their revalidation letter to complete the revalidation process. Providers who do not complete revalidation within 60 days will have their enrollment deactivated or terminated from the Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids® program.

To improve efficiency and timeliness of the revalidation process, DCH will require all providers to revalidate **online only** using the Georgia Medicaid Management Information System (GAMMIS) at www.mmis.georgia.gov. Providers may not revalidate using a paper application. The revalidation process will require minimal data input and will focus on verification of a provider's current enrollment status. Providers will be required to verify their name, date of birth, Social Security Number, NPI, Tax ID number and license numbers.

Most providers should be able to complete the revalidation process in approximately 20 minutes or less.

Update Your Information on File with GAMMIS Now

HP will send revalidation letters to the provider's "mail to" or email address depending how they elected to receive their correspondence. In preparation for this process, it is important that providers access GAMMIS immediately to confirm that the correct "mail to" or email address is on file to prevent delays in receiving the revalidation letters. Providers should also access GAMMIS and ensure that their date of birth, Social Security Number, etc., are correct for each service location and provider number.

Application Fees Required for Service Locations

The ACA also requires that application fees be paid at initial enrollment and at revalidation for **institutional providers**. Application fees will be collected for each service location. The





purpose of the application fees is to provide additional funding to conduct various program integrity initiatives to reduce fraud, waste and abuse.

The application fee for 2013 was \$532 per service location. It will be adjusted by CMS each calendar year by the change in the Consumer Price Index, as statutorily mandated. CMS has determined that the fee for CY 2014 is \$542; on September 1, 2014, DCH will raise the fee to this amount. The application fee amount will be included in the revalidation notification letters that will be sent by HP.

The application fee does not apply to individual practitioners or those who are enrolled in Medicare or another state's Medicaid program. As mentioned previously, the fee applies to all service locations so the provider must be enrolled in Medicare or another state's Medicaid program at the same specific address location. In addition, DCH will implement a hardship waiver process for those institutional providers who are financially unable to pay the application fee.

For more information concerning the application fees, call HP at 800-766-4456 or send an email to RevalidationEnrollment2@dch.ga.gov. You can also review the Application Fees FAQs.





Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) Revalidation of Provider Enrollment June 12, 2014 -- REVISED

1. Which providers are required to revalidate their enrollment?

All existing Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids® providers who were enrolled prior to or on December 31, 2012, are required by CMS Federal guidelines to revalidate at least every five (5) years. These providers will be revalidated during the first phase of this revalidation process. Providers who were enrolled on or after January 1, 2013, will be required to revalidate their enrollment by December 31, 2018, in the second phase of this revalidation process.

2. Do providers who have revalidated with Medicare also have to revalidate with Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids?

Yes. Even if a provider has revalidated their provider agreement with Medicare, the provider must complete the revalidation process with Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids. If a provider is already enrolled in Medicare or another state's Medicaid program at the service location specified in the revalidation notice, no additional application fee is due to the Georgia Department of Community Health (DCH).

3. When will revalidation begin?

DCH implemented revalidation in April 2014. Revalidation will be conducted in phases from February 2014 through December 2015 for providers and suppliers who were enrolled on or prior to December 31, 2012.

Providers who were enrolled on or after January 1, 2013, will be required to revalidate their enrollment by December 31, 2018, in the second phase of the revalidation process.

4. What should providers do to prepare for revalidation?

Providers should review their current provider information in GAMMIS, verify that information, and update as necessary as soon as possible. Providers should check their NPI, Tax ID number, date of birth, Social Security Number, service location address, and "mail to" address. This update action will not preclude undergoing the revalidation process.

Providers will be sent a letter to their "mail to" address that will contain information about how to revalidate their enrollment. The revalidation process will be conducted **only online through GAMMIS** at www.mmis.georgia.gov. Therefore, it is essential that each provider's information is accurate in the system before revalidation letters are sent.

Note: Providers are required to notify HP within 10 days of changes in address. Providers can review or update their mail-to address information by logging into GAMMIS and clicking on





Demographic Maintenance. Providers needing assistance should contact HP Call Center at 800-744-4456. Providers should not begin the revalidation process until they receive their notification letters.

5. How will providers be notified that it is time to revalidate with Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids?

DCH is starting the revalidation process with those providers who have been enrolled the longest in the Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids programs. Although DCH/HP is sending a letter to providers 60 days in advance of revalidation, providers may also log on to GAMMIS to determine if they are required to revalidate.

DCH will alert each provider of the requirement to revalidate their enrollment at the time the provider logs onto GAMMIS under the "Providers/Provider Revalidation" section of the provider's account.

6. I am an individual practitioner enrolled as a Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids provider at five different service locations in Georgia. Will I need to revalidate all of them?

Yes. If you were enrolled at all five (5) locations prior to December 31, 2012, you will be required to separately revalidate your enrollment at all locations. You will receive a revalidation letter at each "mail to" address. Please make sure your demographic information is correct in GAMMIS for each service location and provider number.

7. May I revalidate using a paper application?

No. All revalidation must be completed online at www.mmis.georgia.gov.

8. What happens during revalidation?

The online revalidation process will require minimal data input and will focus on verification of a provider's current enrollment status. Providers will be required to verify their name, date of birth, Social Security Number, NPI, Tax ID number, and license numbers. Providers muse-numbers. Providers muse-numbers. Providers <a href="mailto:muse-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-numbers-

Facilities will be required to verify most of the aforementioned information as well as ownership disclosure information. Additionally, all providers will be required to sign a Statement of Participation and update their Sanctions/Exclusions information.

9. How long does the revalidation process take?

This process should take approximately 20 minutes or less. The GAMMIS system does not have a mechanism to save the revalidation application so providers are encouraged to have their licensure information available as a reference at the time of revalidation. Institutional providers should have their owners' and managing employee's information available.





10. What if I am an out-of-state provider?

The revalidation process is exactly the same for all providers. However, out-of-state individual practitioners and facilities who are **not** licensed by the state of Georgia will be required to upload their license(s).

11. What happens after the provider completes revalidation?

Once a provider completes the revalidation application, GAMMIS will check the data (Name, DOB, SSN, NPI, Tax ID, service location address, etc.) against the current data in the system. If all the data verifies, the revalidation will be approved and an approval letter will be mailed to the provider.

If the information provided is inconsistent with the current data, a Return to Provider (RTP) letter will be sent requesting additional information to correct the discrepancy.

12. When can I expect to receive my approval letter in the mail?

If no errors are found in the revalidation application, you can expect to receive your revalidation approval letter within 10 business days of submission.

13. What if I prefer my correspondence for the revalidation process to occur through email?

All providers, regardless of whether they receive their enrollment correspondence through mail or email should ensure that their correct mail-to address or email address is on file through GAMMIS so they will receive the notification to revalidate.

14. I'm concerned about providing my date of birth and Social Security Number. Why are they required?

As part of the ACA, DCH is required to conduct checks of all individual practitioners, institutional providers, as well as the owners, and managing employees against three federal databases – HHS OIG Exclusions List, Excluded Parties List System, and the Social Security Administration's Death Master File. Date of birth and Social Security Number are included in the verification process. The revalidation platform is secure and your information will be protected. You may reference this requirement in 42 CFR 455.436.

15. What action is taken if the provider's data in GAMMIS and what is provided on the revalidation application do not match?

If the data on the revalidation application does not match what is in GAMMIS (www.mmis.georgia.gov), an RTP letter will be sent to the provider notifying them of the discrepancy and give them an opportunity to make changes to the provider file. To minimize this possibility, providers should review their current provider information via GAMMIS and verify that their information is correct for each provider service location in advance of receiving a





revalidation notice. This data will include their Tax ID number, date of birth, Social Security Number, NPI, service location address, and mail-to address.

16. How long after I complete my revalidation should I wait before I submit claims?

There is no need to wait to submit claims. This process is seamless for the providers currently enrolled with Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids and will not affect claim submission or payment as long as you complete your revalidation within 60 days of the date of your notification letter.

The revalidation process will not affect payment of claims unless the provider fails to successfully revalidate within the designated timeframe.

17. Should we be concerned if we do not get a revalidation notice by a certain time?

No. This is a phased-in approach that extends for more than a year. It is recommended that providers who were enrolled prior to January 1, 2013, log on to GAMMIS at www.mmis.georgia.gov to check their revalidation status. However, remember that the first phase of revalidation applies only to providers enrolled on or prior to December 31, 2012.

18. What is the best avenue for following up with DCH or HP if after I have received my approval letter if I see incorrect information regarding my revalidation status in GAMMIS?

If information in your provider file is not correct, you will be prompted on the application to update your license or address information. Whether it is license or address update, you will be prompted after you submit your revalidation application to upload the updated information.

You may also send the information at a later time by going to GAMMIS at ww.mmis.georgia.gov and click on Provider Enrollment/Enrollment Application Status. Type in the Application Tracking Number (ATN) and exact name of the business (as detailed in your revalidation notice) and click "search." A link will appear to upload the license and/or Change of Information form.

19. What if I have not received an approval letter after a reasonable amount of time?

If you have not received your revalidation approval letter within 45 days, go to GAMMIS and Click on Provider Enrollment/Enrollment Application Status. Type in your ATN, the Last Name of Provider, and click on Search. This will provide you a status of your revalidation. Or call HP at 800-744-4456 or email DCH at RevalidationEnrollment2@dch.ga.gov. Additionally, if you have been sent a revalidation notice, when you log in to the GAMMIS secure web portal using the provider's username and password a message will appear that the provider is required to revalidate. This message will not appear until a revalidation notice has been sent.

20. Are there any application fees related to revalidation?

Yes. Certain institutional provider types will be required to pay a \$532 application fee when they revalidate. This amount due will be detailed in the notification letter that will be sent by HP. More





information about application fees is discussed in a separate Application Fees Frequently Asked Questions document.

21. How can I request an extension to file my revalidation application?

There is no extension process.

22. What if I need to update my service location address?

Providers cannot make changes to their service location address in Demographic Maintenance. If the entire practice has moved, a separate Change of Information form must be completed for each provider and submitted to HP by mail to the address on the form. Facilities must also complete the Change of Information form and attach a copy of their license reflecting the new service location address. It is recommended that providers also submit a cover letter on their businesses' letterhead requesting the change and attach the Change of Information form.

23. How do I add a Billing Agent to help me update Demographic Maintenance?

GAMMIS has a very good tutorial on how to add a billing agent. Go to GAMMIS (www.mmis.georgia.gov), click on Provider Information/Web Portal Training and then click on Billing Agent Account Registration and Maintenance. The tutorial lasts approximately 30 minutes.

24. I work in a physicians' office and I'm responsible for credentialing all the practitioners who work in our practice. One of our practitioners received the revalidation letter. How do I access the revalidation panel in GAMMIS?

To access to the revalidation panel, you must log in to the secure side of the GAMMIS web portal (www.mmis.georgia.gov) as the provider account owner using their username and password. You should not attempt to log in as a delegated user, which is your personal log in information. Providers should not begin revalidation until they receive the notification letter from DCH/HP. Additionally, when a provider logs in to the GAMMIS web portal they will see a message if they are due to revalidate their enrollment.

Note: Please only revalidate for the physicians in your practice for whom you have received individual revalidation letters. Revalidation will be an ongoing process that will eventually include all practitioners.

25. What happens if I fail to revalidate?

Providers who do not revalidate within the designated timeframe will be deactivated or terminated. Providers who decide to reactivate their Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids number beyond the window of opportunity for revalidation will be required to re-enroll in the Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids program.





26. I'm an institutional provider. I'm receiving error messages when I enter ownership information and the system will not allow me to continue. How can I get this corrected?

DCH recognizes that this has been an issue with providers and is working with its contractor to correct the issue. The system will not currently allow a business to enter more than one identical Federal Employer Identification (FEI) number because each business should have its own separate and distinct FEI number. Additionally, an individual (person) owner cannot also be listed as a managing employee.

When institutional providers are entering the ownership and managing employee information, they should follow the steps below.

- If the owner is a business, enter the ownership type, business name, address, FEI number and percentage of ownership. To enter another business owner, click "Add" and follow the same process. Each entry must have a separate FEI number.
- If the owner is an individual, enter the ownership type, first and last name, address, Social Security Number (SSN), FEI number (SSN and FEI number may be the same), date of birth, familial relationship and percent ownership. To enter another individual owner, click "Add" and follow the same process. It is recommended that you enter the same Social Security Number in the FEI field.

27. I'm also an institutional provider who has ownership in another Georgia Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids entity. How do I add this information?

When institutional providers are completing their revalidation application and they answer "Yes" that they have ownership in other Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids entity, they will be prompted to enter the Georgia Medicaid provider number of that entity. Once the proper number is entered, GAMMIS will self-populate the provider name and city. Refer to Question 26 for the process to prepare this section.

28. Where can I obtain more information about revalidation?

Providers can review Part I, Section 105.14, Medicaid/PeachCare for Kids. Additional information can be at 42 CFR 455.414. For more information about the federal requirements, access The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) website at: https://www.cms.gov.

29. How can I obtain more information regarding the new provider screening and other enrollment requirements?

A link to the Federal Register, Vol. 76, No. 22, dated February 2, 2011, can be found at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2011-02-02/pdf/2011-1686.pdf.

30. Who can I call if I have questions about the revalidation process?

Contact HP at 800-766-4456 regarding any questions about revalidation or email DCH at RevalidationEnrollment2@dch.ga.gov.