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PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE CHANGES

Pursuant to the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act, Official Code of Georgia (0.C.G.A.)
§ 50-13-1, et seq., the Georgia Department of Community Health is required to provide public notice
of its intent to adopt, amend, or repeal certain rules other than interpretative rules or general
statements of policy. Accordingly, the Department hereby provides notice of its intent to revise the
Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of General Licensing and Enforcement Requirements,
Ga. Comp. Rules & Regs., R. 111-8-25. These rules are being proposed pursuant to the authority
granted to the Department in O.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-5 and 31-2-7. An exact copy of the revised rules and
a synopsis of the revisions are attached to this public notice.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

An opportunity for public comment will be held on January 13, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. via WebEx
audio. There will be no in-person attendance at the Department of Community Health. Follow these
instructions to join the event:

1. Copy the following link to a browser:
https://dchevents.webex.com/mw3300/mywebex/default.do?nomenu=true&siteurl=dchevent
s&service=6&rmd=0.2823139957865791 &main url=https%3A%2F%2Fdchevents.webex.c
om%2Fec3300%2Feventcenter%2Fevent%2FeventAction.do%3FtheAction%3Ddetail%26
%26%26EMK%3D4832534b000000046b7cla74a718cc9da9d741bd61a542fc0ad71falcel l
07b3fda88cb3285e45d4%26siteurl%3Ddchevents%26confViewID%3D1752657758540588
08%26encryptTicket%3DSDITSwAAAASSexgwEgArSg0PjukARWBVnwFnH7ko7q7x U
zkWo6d3w2%26

2. Click “Join Now.”
To join by telephone:

Call-in toll number (US/Canada)
1-650-479-3207
Access code: 127 476 9128

Oral comments may be limited to ten (10) minutes per person. Individuals who are disabled
and require assistance to participate during this meeting should contact the Office of General Counsel
at (404) 657-7195 at least three (3) business days prior to the meeting.
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Individuals wishing to comment in writing on any of the proposed changes should do so on
or before January 15, 2021. Due to reduced physical staffing at the 2 Peachtree St. location in an
attempt to limit the amount of exposure to COVID-19, DCH encourages written public comments
submitted in accordance with O.C.G.A. 50-13-4(a)(2) to be submitted via e-mail to the following e-
mail address: Public.comment@dch.ga.gov.

Any comments not able to be submitted via e-mail may be submitted via regular mail to the
following address:

Attention: Mary Peterkin

Office of General Counsel

Georgia Department of Community Health
2 Peachtree Street, NW, 40" Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303

Comments from written and public testimony will be provided to the Board of Community
Health prior to February 11, 2021. The Board will vote on the proposed changes on February 11,
2021,

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THIS 10" DAY OF DECEMBER, 2020

|

| /
-.j A e—
Frank W. Berry, Commissioner
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RULES OF
GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH
HEALTHCARE FACILITY REGULATION DIVISION

CHAPTER 111-8-25
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR ENFORCEMENT OF GENERAL
LICENSING
AND ENFORCEMENT REQUIREMENTS

SYNOPSIS OF REVISED RULES

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE: The Georgia Department of Community
Health proposes to revise the Rules and Regulations for General
Licensing and Enforcement Reguirements, Chapter 111-8-25. These
rules are being proposed pursuant to the authority granted the
Department of Community Health in O.C.G.A. § 31-2-5 and O.C.G.A. §
31-2-7.

MAIN FEATURE OF THE REVISED RULE: Revision of the rules to comply
with portions of House Bill 937, the “Disabled Adults and Elder Persons
Protection Act,” pertaining to enforcement fines, memory care
certificates and other matters.

Rule 111-8-25, “Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of General Licensing and
Enforcement Requirements”
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RULES OF
DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH
CHAPTER 111-8
HEALTHCARE FACILITY REGULATION

111-8-25
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR ENFORCEMENT OF GENERAL
LICENSING
AND ENFORCEMENT REQUIREMENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS
111-8-25-.02 Definitions
111-8-25-.03 General Licensing Requirements and Fee Schedules
111-8-25-.05 Sanctions

111-8-25-.02 Definitions

(1) "Administrative action" means the initiation of a contested
case as defined in the Georgia Administrative Procedures Act (APA),
0.C.G.A. § 50-13-2(2)}.

(2) "Alter ego" means a person who acts pursuant to the control
or influence of another while purporting to act independently.

(3) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department
of Community Health.

(4) "Department” means the Department of Community Health,
its agents and employees.

{5) "Document" means any book, record, paper, or other
information related 1o initial and continued licensing.

Rule 111-8-25, “Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of General Licensing and
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(6) "Facility" means any agency, institution, entity or person
subject to regulation by the department under Chapters 7, 13, 22, 23,
44 of Title 31, paragraph(8) of subsection (d) of Code § 31-2-4, Chapter
5 of Title 26, and Article 7 of Chapter 6 of Title 49 of the Official Code of
Georgia Annotated.

(7) "Final Adverse Finding" means

4a) the issuance of a ruling by the Commissioner on any appeal
from a decision of a hearing officer or hearing examiner pursuant to a
contested case involving the imposition of a sanction;

2b) when a decision of the hearing officers or hearing examiner
becomes final by operation of law because no appeal is made to the
Commissioner;

3c) where the parties to a contested case dispose of the case by
settlement; or

4d) where a facility does not contest within the allotted time
period a sanction imposed by the department.

(8) "Formal Order" means any ruling following an administrative
or judicial hearing or an emergency directive issued by the
Commissioner as authorized by law related to the initial or continued
licensing of a facility which requires the facility to take or refrain from
taking specified action. Formal orders include, but are not limited
necessarily to final administrative hearing decisions and settlement
agreements between the department and facilities. Additionally, formal
orders, as defined herein, may include any orders issued by the
Commissioner as authorized by law, such as but not limited to O.C.G.A.
§ 31-7-2.2 or as authorized by similar statues enacted after the effective
date of these rules.

(9) "Inspection" means any examination by the department or its
representatives of a facility, including but not necessarily limited to the
premises, and staff, persons in care, and documents pertinent to initial
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and continued licensing so that the department may determine whether
a facility is operating in compliance with licensing requirements. The
term "inspection" includes any survey, monitoring visit, or other inquiry
conducted for the purpose of making a compliance determination with
respect to licensing requirements.

(10) "Investigation" means any examination, conducted in
response to an allegation or allegations of noncompliance, by the
department or its representative of a facility, including but not
necessarily limited to the premises, and staff, persons in care, and
documents pertinent to initial and continued licensing so that the
department may determine whether a facility has violated any licensing
requirement.

(11) "License" means the official authorization granted by the
department pursuant to any of the provisions of law cited in Rule 111-8-
25-.01 to operate a facility physically located in Georgia. The term
"license" includes any permit, registration, commission, or similar
designation reflecting such authorization.

(12) "Licensee" means any person holding a license.

(13) "Licensing requirements" means any provisions of law, rule,
regulation, or formal order of the department which apply to facilities
with respect to initial or continued authority to operate.

(14) “Long-term care facility” means a licensed adult day center,
assisted living community, home health agency, hospice, intermediate

care home, nursing home, personal care home or private home care
provider.

(145) "Management or Control", for the purpose of imposing
the sanction pursuant to Rule 111-8-25-.04(1)(c) or 111-8-25-.04(2)(b),
means the exercise of or authority to exercise direction, administration,
or oversight over a facility's operations by certain persons which include
owners, directors, or administrators.
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(16) “Memory Care Certificate” means a certificate issued by the
department to a licensed assisted living community or personal care
home to authorize the operation of a memory care center.

(157) "Person" means any individual, agent, representative,
governing authority, firm, organization, partnership, agency,
association, corporation, facility, or other entity.

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§. 31-2-9, 31-7-2.1, 31-7-2.2, 31-7-3.2 and 31-7-
12.4.

111-8-25-.03 General Licensing Requirements and Fee Schedules

(1) No facility shall offer or provide services which are required to
be licensed under rules enforced by the department without a current
license issued by the department.

(2) No license shall be issued by the department unless the facility
is in compliance with applicable rules set forth in these rules, specific
rules applicable to the particular facility type and all licensure activity
fees due the department have been paid.

(3) Fees will be assessed to facilities and applicants for licensure
for the following licensure activities: processing applications for a new
license or a change in ownership, initial license fees, annual licensure
activity fees to maintain current license, follow-up visits to periodic
inspections, training materials, returned check and mail processing
charges and civil monetary penalties.

(4) Application for License. An application for a license to provide
regulated services shall be submitted on forms made available by the
department in a format acceptable to the department. No application
shall be acted upon by the department until the application is
determined complete by the department with all required attachments
and applicable fees submitted.
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(5) Where the department denies an initial license for non-
payment of fees or any other reason, such action may be taken by the
department prior to an administrative hearing on the denial being held.
The applicant whose license has been denied may obtain an
administrative hearing, subsequent to the decision to deny the license,
as authorized under Georgia law.

(6) Ongoing Licensure Activity Fees. All licenses issued by the
department require payment of ongoing licensure activity fees as
calculated by the department each state fiscal year, including the state
fiscal year that these rules take effect. For annual licenses, such
licensure activity fees will be due on the anniversary date of the
issuance of the previous year's license. For continuing licenses, such
ongoing licensing activity fees will be due October 31st of each state
fiscal year. The annual fees shall include the base licensure activity fee
and any additional fees incurred during the previous year. Such fees are
due and payable to the department within thirty (30) days of receipt of
the licensure activity fee invoice. Fees will be calculated by the
department in a manner so as to help defray the direct and indirect
costs incurred by the department in providing such licensure activities
for all programs, but in no event shall exceed such costs.

(7) Effective January 31, 2011, the department may revoke any
license if the facility has failed to pay the annually recurring licensure
activity fees within sixty (60) days of receipt of a written invoice from
the department. The revocation action is subject to written notice of
the proposed revocation and a right to receive an administrative
hearing on the amount past due and owing prior to the revocation
action becoming final.

(8) Schedule of Fees. Fees collected by the department are not
refundable, except in extraordinary circumstances as determined by the
department in its sole discretion. The decision of the department as to
whether to refund a payment is final and may not be appealed.

Payment of fees must be in a by-cheek-meneyorder—crediteard-or
ether form of eleetronie payment accepted by the department. Using
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any Some forms of electronic payment is-eptienal-but may result in an
additional convenience charge being added to the licensing fee that is

due. Any convenience charge for which the user is responsible must be
disclosed to the potential user before completion of the transaction. No
cash payments are accepted by the Department. The following schedule
of fees applies for the listed licensure activities:

Licensure Activity Fee Fee Frequency
Application Processing Fee, $300 Upon
Change in Ownership, Change in submission

|Service Level (requiring on site
visit), Name Change - Any Program

Initial  Provisional or Regular Varies by  Submitted with
License (Same as annual licensure |program lapplication
lactivity fee for each program type) processing fee

Involuntary Application Processing |$550
Fee subsequent to wunlicensed
complaint investigation

Follow-up  Visit to Periodic |$250 |License renewal
Inspection - Any Program date

Licenses and Certificates

Adult Day Centers {rules—to—be $250 Annually
developed) ** (social)

$350

(medical)
Ambulatory Surgical Treatment $750 Annually
Centers **

Assisted Living Communities**
(see Personal Care Homes)

Rule 111-8-25, “Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of General Licensing and
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‘Birthing Centers ** 25250 Annually

Clinical Laboratories ** $500 Annually
Community Living Arrangements i$350 « Annually
Hox

Drug Abuse Treatment Programs $500 Annually
ok z

End Stage Renal Disease Centers Annually
*oR

1-12 stations %SGOO Annually
13-24 stations 51,000 Annually
25 or more $1,100 Annually
Stand Alone ESRD Facilities |S800 Annually
Offering Peritoneal Dialysis Only

Eye Banks $250 Annually
éHMOS (if subject to licensure) 52,000 Annually
Home Health Agencies ** $1,000 Annually
Hospices ** M $1,000 Annually
Hospitals ** Annually
CAHS < 25 beds 5250 Annually
25 =< 50 beds 5750 Annually
> 50 beds 51,500 Annually
Imaging Centers ([rules to be!$3,000 Annually

developed) **

Infirmaries $250 Annually

Rule 111-8-25, “Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of General Licensing and
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lIntermediate Care Facilities/MR¥$250 Annually
(private) **

Memory Care Certificate** $200 Annually
Narcotic Treatment Programs **  $1,500 Annually
Nursing Homes ** Annually .
1=<99 $500 Annually |
> 99 $750 Annually
Personal Care Homes ** Annually
< 25 beds S350 Annually
25 =< 50 beds $750 Annually
> 50 beds $1,500 Annually
\Private Home Care Providers ** Annually
fFor each service offered: 1$200<-50  Annually
\Companion Sitter, er—Personal (per service) .
|Care and/or Nursing FTEg x%%
Maximum of $750 |S400->49
- Jbes
B : —r
Nursing Services Orly $500—<—50 Annually
$750—> 49|
FTES
. . :
c T ionSi Anntiaty
SD00
|49-FTEs

Traumatic Brain Injury Facilities 55250 éAnnuaIIy

X-Ray Facilities (per machine) $300 EAnnuaIIy
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Miscellaneous Fees

Civil monetary penalties as finally Case-by-case

determined basis

Late Fee: Sixty (60) days past due |$150 Per instance
Lists of Facilities by license type SiS Per request
(electronic only)

Replacement of Lost Permit $50 Per request
Returne{j check ﬁharge - as <S50 Per instance

assessed by bank

Special handling charges when Cost Per instance

required (special courier/mailing

costs)

Training materials - cost to $.25 per Per participant
reproduce for participant page, S5 per

disc
** Eligible for a 25% discount if currently accredited by a nationally
recognized accreditation organization approved by the
department as having standards comparable to specific state
llicensure requirements, and complete copy of current decision is
|submitted to the department at the time of renewal or is already
lon file with the department.

¥ %k %k

| | ; i W & —_— han 50
ETE e kil 00 halfti 20| !
employees/contract werkers:

Authority: 0.C.G.A. §§ 31-2-4, 31-2-7, 31-2-8 and 31-7-3.
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111-8-25-.05 Sanctions

(1) Sanctions against Licensees. When the department finds that
any licensee has violated any provision of Rule 111-8-25-.04,
Enforcement, the department, subject to notice and opportunity for a
hearing, may impose any one or more of the sanctions in subparagraphs
(a) through (f) below.

(a) Administer a Public Reprimand. If the sanction of public
reprimand is finally imposed, as defined by a final adverse finding, the
public reprimand shall consist of a notice prepared by the department
that the facility has been reprimanded; such notice shall include a
written report of the department's findings along with the facility's
response and corrective action plan.

1. Location of Notice. The facility shall post the public reprimand
in places readily accessible and continuously visible to persons in care
and their representatives. Additionally, if the facility maintains a
website, it shall post a web link in a prominent location on the main
page of the website that provides access to a copy of the public

reprimand.

2. Timing of Notice. The facility shall post the public reprimand
on the day the public reprimand is received by the facility and such
reprimand shall remain posted for a period of ninety (90) days.

3. Notice for Service Inquiries. During any period that the
reprimand is required to be posted, the facility shall advise persons
seeking services and representatives of persons seeking services of the
reprimand. In response to a notice by the department of the imposition
of a public reprimand, a facility may request that the department not
require the facility to advise persons seeking services and
representatives of persons seeking services of the reprimand if such
requirement would compromise its ability to provide services, and is not
feasible given the facility's range of services and the ways its services
are provided. Such request must be made within ten (10) calendar days
from receipt of the notice from the department. The department upon
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such a convincing showing, as well as a showing that the correction of
the violation has been achieved and will be sustained by the facility,
may elect not to enforce this requirement. If the department elects to
enforce the requirement and the facility appeals the imposition of the
sanction, the issue of this requirement may become an issue for
consideration by the hearing examiner at any hearing held on the
sanction, uniess waived by the facility.

(b) Suspend any License. The department may suspend for a
definite period or for an indefinite period in connection with any
condition which may be attached to the restoration of said license.

1. The department may impose the sanction of suspension for a
definite period calculated by it as the period necessary for the facility to
implement long-term corrective measures and for the facility to be
deterred from lapsing into noncompliance in the future. As an
alternative to suspending a license for a definite period, the department
may suspend the license for an indefinite period in connection with the
imposition of any condition or conditions reasonably calculated to elicit
long-term compliance with licensing requirements which the facility
must meet and demonstrate before it may regain its license.

2. [lf the sanction of license suspension is finally imposed, as
defined by a final adverse finding, the department shali effectuate it by
requiring the facility to return its license to the department. Upon the
expiration of any period of suspension, and upon a showing by the
facility that it has achieved compliance with licensing requirements, the
department shall reissue the facility a license. Where the license was
suspended for an indefinite period in connection with conditions for the
re-issuance of a license, once the facility can show that any and all
conditions imposed by the department have been met, the department
shall reissue the facility a license.

(c) Prohibit Persons in Management or Control. The department
may prohibit a licensee from allowing a person who previously was
involved in the management or control of any facility which has had its
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license revoked or application denied within the past twelve (12)
months to be involved in the management or control of such facility.
Any such person found by the department to have acted diligently and
in good faith to ensure correction of violations in a facility which has
had its license revoked or denied, however, shall not be subject to this
prohibition if that person became involved in the management or
control of the facility after the facility was notified by the department of
violations of licensing requirements giving rise to a revocation or denial
action. This subparagraph shall not be construed to require the
department to obtain any information that is not readily available to it
regarding any person's involvement with a facility. For the purpose of
this Rule, the twelve (12) month period will begin to run from the date
of any final adverse finding or the date that any stay of enforcement
ceased, whichever first occurs.

(d) Revoke any License. The department may revoke any license.
If the sanction of license revocation is finally imposed, as defined by a
final adverse finding, the department shall effectuate it by requiring the
facility to return its license to the department.

(e) Impose a Civil Penalty Fine. The department may impose a civil
penalty fine-net-to-exceed-atotalof$25:000; of up to $12,000 per day
for each violation of a law, rule, regulation, or formal order related to
the initial or continued licensing of a facility; provided, however, that no
such fines shall exceed $2540,000 for violations found during the same
inspection. and provided, further-thatre-fineray-be-imposed-against

- il ot . Eacil ich
bi : G : = £42U.S.C§
1396 rlh{{2HA}as-amended-whetherornotthese sanctionsactually
areimposed- If a violation is found on two (2) consecutive inspections,
there shall exist a rebuttable presumption that the violation continued
throughout the period of time between each inspection.

1. Categories of Violations. Violations shall be assigned a
category based upon the following criteria:

Rule 111-8-25, “Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of General Licensing and
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(i) Category | ($61201-$22000 per violation per day): A violation
or combination of violations of licensing requirements which has caused
death or serious physical or emotional harm to a person or persons in
care or poses an imminent and serious threat or hazard to the physical
or emotional health and safety of one or more persons in care;

(i) Category Il (53601-561200 per violation per day): A violation
or combination of violations of licensing requirements which has direct
adverse effect on the physical or emotional health and safety of a
person or persons in care; and

(iii) Category Il ($5100-52600 per violation per day): A violation or
combination of violations of licensing requirements which indirectly or
over a period of time has or is likely to have an adverse effect on the
physical or emotional health and safety of a person or persons in care,
or a violation or violations of administrative, reporting, or notice
requirements.

2. Fine Amounts. The specific amount of the fine for each
violation in each category shall be determined hased upon whether and
when the particular or similar rule, law, or order, or the act, omission,
incident, circumstance, or conduct giving rise to the violation of the
same regulatory requirement, or one substantially similar thereto, has
been cited by the department previously. In no case, however, shall a
facility be sanctioned for a violation characterized as a subsequent or
repeat violation unless the time frame identified in the acceptable plan
of correction has passed and the facility nonetheless has failed to attain
or maintain correction.

(i) Initial Violation. If the same or a substantially similar violation
has not been cited previously by the department within the past
twenty-four (24) months against the facility, it shall be considered to be
an initial violation. The fine amount for initial violations shall be the
bottom figure in the appropriate category.

(i) Subsequent Violation. If the present violation or a
substantially similar violation had been found and cited by the
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department as the result of the last inspection of the facility, or as the
result of any one other inspection during the previous twenty-four (24)
months, the violations shall be considered to be a subsequent violation.
The fine amount for subsequent violations shall be in the range
between the top and bottom figures of the appropriate category and
other factors, such as the existence of mitigating or aggravating
circumstances, shall be considered in determining the fine amount
within the range.

(iii) Repeat Violation. If the present violation or a substantially
similar violation also had been found and cited any two (2) other times
during the past twenty-four (24) months, it shall be considered to be a
repeat violation. The fine amount for repeat violations shall be the top
figure in the category.

3. Limitation of Fines. A single act, omission, incident,
circumstance, or conduct shall not give rise to the imposition of more
than one fine even though such act, omission, incident, circumstance, or
conduct may have violated more than one licensing requirement. In
such a case, the fine shall be based upon the highest category in which
any one violation resulting from the same act, omission, incident,
circumstance, or conduct falls. Correction by the facility of cited
violations tolls the continuation of the assessment of the daily fine,
provided, however, that the department shall confirm that such cited
violations were corrected.

4. Financial Hardships. In response to a notice by the department
of the imposition a fine, a facility may request that the department
reduce the fine amount if the fine would cause significant financial
hardship that would compromise its ability to provide care or services in
compliance with licensing requirements. The department, in its
discretion, upon such a convincing showing as well as a showing that
correction of the violation has been achieved and will be sustained by
the facility, may reduce the amount of the fine. If the department
proceeds with the imposition of the fine as proposed, the issue of
significant financial hardship may become an issue for consideration by
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the hearing examiner at any hearing held on the sanction, unless waived
by the facility.

5. Mandatory Fines. The Department shall impose a mandatory
fine of no less than $5,000.00 for a violation of a law, rule, regulation, or
formal order related to the initial or ongoing licensing of a long-term
care facility which has caused the death of or serious physical harm to a
resident in such facility. For purposes of this subparagraph, the term
'serious physical harm' means an injury which causes any significant
impairment of the physical condition of the resident as determined by
qualified medical personnel which may be proven by testimony or by
submission of the medical record. Any mandatory fine imposed by the
Department may not be reduced on the basis of financial hardship.

6. Federal Preemption. No fine, whether discretionary or
mandatory, may be imposed against any nursing facility, nursing home,
or intermediate care facility which is subject to intermediate sanctions
under the provisions of 42 U.S.C. § 1396 r(h)(2)(A), as amended,
whether or not those sanctions actually are imposed.

(f)  Limit or Restrict any License. The department may limit or
restrict any license as the department deems necessary for the
protection of the public (a provisional or temporary time-limited license
granted by the department shall not be considered to be a limited or
restricted license).

1. Limitation or restriction of a license may occur to:

4}i. prohibit the provision of a particular service or services when
a facility is unable or unwilling to render or perform the service or
services in compliance with licensing requirements;

2}ii. restrict the authorized number of persons cared for by a
facility when the facility is unable or unwilling to render care in
compliance with licensing requirements; and/or
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3}iii. prohibit a facility from caring for persons with specific types or
degrees of needs that the facility is not capable of meeting in
compliance with licensing requirements.

2. If the sanction of license limitation or restriction is finally
imposed, as defined by a final adverse finding, the department shall
effectuate it by sending the facility a restricted or limited license. Upon
receipt of the restricted or limited license, the facility shall return to the
department its original license. Upon expiration of the restriction or
limitation period, and upon proof by the facility that it has taken
effective corrective action and has sustained that action during the
period of the sanction, the department shall fully restore the facility's
license. The department shall take any steps it deems necessary to
verify compliance prior to the expiration of the sanction period so that a
compliant facility is restored its license without delay.

(2) Sanctions against Applicants. When the department finds that
any applicant for a license has violated any provision of Rule 111-8-25-
.04, Enforcement, the department, subject to notice and opportunity for
a hearing, may impose any one or more of the following sanctions in
subparagraphs (a) through (c) below.

(a) Refuse to Grant License. The department may refuse to grant
(deny) a license; provided, however, that the department may refuse to
grant an initial license without holding a hearing prior to taking such
action.

1. The department may deny an application for a license where
the facility has failed to demonstrate compliance with licensing
requirements. Additionally, the department may deny an application for
a license where the applicant or alter ego of the applicant has had a
license denied, revoked, or suspended within one year of the date of an
application, or where the applicant has surrendered the license or
transferred ownership or governing authority of a facility within one
year of the date of a new application when such surrender or transfer
was made in order to avert denial, revocation, or suspension of a license
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or payment of fines. For the purpose of determining the one-year denial
period, the period shall begin to run from the date of the final adverse
finding, or the date any stay of enforcement ceased, whichever first
occurs. In further determining whether to grant or deny a license, the
department may consider the applicant's overall record of compliance
with licensing requirements.

(b) Prohibit Persons in Management or Control. The department
may prohibit an applicant from allowing a person who previously was
involved in the management or control of any facility which has had its
license revoked or application denied within the past twelve (12)
months to be involved in the management or control of such facility.
Any such person found by the department to have acted diligently and
in good faith to ensure correction of violations in a facility which has
had its license revoked or denied, however, shall not be subject to this
prohibition if that person became involved in the management or
control of the facility after the facility was notified by the department of
violations of licensing requirements giving rise to denial action. This
subparagraph shall not be construed to require the department to
obtain any information that is not readily available to it regarding any
person's involvement with a facility. For the purpose of this rule, the
twelve (12) month period will begin to run from the date of any final
adverse finding or the date that any stay of enforcement ceased,
whichever first occurs.

(c) Limit or Restrict any License. The department may limit or
restrict any license as it deems necessary for the protection of the
public (a provisional or temporary time-limited license granted by the
department shall not be considered to be a limited or restricted
license).

1. Limitations or restrictions of a license may include any or all of
the following as determined necessary by the department:
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{i.} prohibiting the provision of a particular service or services
when a facility is unable or unwilling to render or perform the service or
services in compliance with licensing requirements;

{ii.} restricting the authorized number of persons cared for by a
facility when the facility is unable or unwilling to render care in
compliance with licensing requirements; and

{iii.} prohibiting a facility from caring for persons with specific
types or degrees of needs that the facility is not capable of meeting in
compliance with licensing requirements.

2. The department may restrict a license where any applicant or
alter ego of the applicant has had a license denied, revoked, or
suspended within one (1) year of the date of an application, or where
the applicant has surrendered the license or transferred ownership of
governing authority of a facility within one (1) year of the date of a new
application when such surrender or transfer was made in order to avert
denial, revocation, ef suspension of a license, or payment of fines. For
the purpose of determining the one (1) year denial period, the period
shall begin to run from the date of the final adverse finding or the date
any stay of enforcement ceased, whichever occurs first.

3. If the sanction of license limitation or restriction is finally
imposed, as defined by a final adverse finding, the department shall
effectuate it by sending the facility a restricted or limited license. Upon
receipt of the restricted or limited license, the facility shall return to the
department its original license if one was granted. Upon expiration of
the restriction or limitation period, and upon proof by the facility that it
has taken effective corrective action and has sustained that action
during the period of the sanction, the department may issue the facility
a license. The department shall take any steps it deems necessary to
verify compliance prior to the expiration of the sanction period so that a
compliant facility may be issued a license without delay.

(3) Extraordinary Sanctions Where Imminent and Substantial
Danger. Where the Commissioner of the department determines that
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the patients or residents in the care of an institution, community living
arrangement or drug abuse treatment program subject to licensure are
subject to an imminent and substantial danger, the Commissioner may
order any of the extraordinary sanctions listed in subsections (b}, {c], (d}
and {e), of this rule, 111-8-25-.05(3), to take effect immediately unless
otherwise specified in the order, without notice and apportunity for
hearing prior to the order taking effect.

{(a) Content of the Order. The order shall contain the following:
1. the scope of the order;
2. reasons for the issuance of the order;

3. effective date of the order if other than the date the order is
issued;

4, person to whom guestions concerning the order are to be
addressed; and

5. notice of the right to obtain after the issuance of the order, a
preliminary hearing and an administrative hearing regarding the
emergency order as a contested case.

{b} Emergency Relocation. The Commissioner may crder
emergency relocation of the patients or residents of any institution,
community living arrangement or drug abuse treatment program
subject to licensure to the nearest appropriate institution, community
living arrangement or drug abuse treatment program. Prior to issuing an
emergency order, the Commissioner may consult with persons
knowledgeable in the field of medical care and a representative of the
facility to determine if there is a potential for greater adverse effects on
patient or resident care as a result of the proposed issuance of an
emergency order. The Commissioner shall provide for notice to the
patient or resident, his or her next of kin or guardian and his or her
physician of the emergency relocation and the reasons therefore;
relocation to the nearest appropriate institution, community living
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arrangement or drug abuse treatment and education program and
other protection designed to ensure the welfare and, when possible,
the desires of the patient or resident.

1.  When provided with the notice of the execution of the
emergency relocation order, the institution, community living
arrangement or drug abuse treatment program shall make
patient/resident information available to the department in usable
formats.

2. The institution, community living arrangement or drug abuse
treatment program that is the subject of the emergency relocation
order shalf not impede in any way the Department's communications
with the patients/residents, next of kin or guardians of the
patients/residents and attending physicians.

3. The institution, community living arrangement or drug abuse
treatment program shall continue to provide care and services to the
patients/residents and shall prepare records reguired by the receiving
facility which are necessary to facilitate continuity of patient/resident
care for the patients/residents to be relocated.

4. The institution, community living arrangement or drug abuse
treatment program shall make any personal property, such as but not
limited to patient/resident funds, available to the receiving facility at
the time of transfer.

(c} Emergency Placement of Monitor. The Commissioner may
order the emergency placement of a monitor in an institution
community living arrangement or drug abuse treatment program
subject to licensure when conditions at the facility require immediate
oversight for the safety of the patients or residents.

1. Conditions. The placement of a monitor may he required
when one or more of the following circumstances are present:
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{i.} theinstitution, community living arrangement or drug abuse
treatment program is operating without a permit or license;

{itd the department has denied the application for a permit or a
license or has initiated an action to revoke the existing permit or license
of the institution, community living arrangement or drug abuse
treatment program;

{iii.} the institution, community living arrangement or drug abuse
treatment program is closing or plans to close and adequate
arrangement for the relocation of the patients or residents have not
been made at thirty (30} days before the date of closure; or

{iv} the health, safety, security, rights or welfare of the patients or
residents cannot be adequately assured by the institution, community
living arrangement or drug abuse treatment program. For example, the
department is informed that essential service vendors (electricity, gas,
water, food or pharmacy) have not been paid and anticipate
discontinuing service and the institution, community living arrangement
or drug abuse treatment program does not have a signed contract with
another vendor establishing that there will be no disruption in service.

2. Role of Monitor. The monitor may be placed in the institution,
community living arrangement or drug abuse treatment program for no
more than ten (10) days during which time the monitor shall cbserve
conditions and compliance with remedial action recommended by the
department. The monitor shall not assume any administrative
responsibility for the institution, community living arrangement or drug
abuse treatment program, nor shall the monitor be liable for any of the
actions of the institution, community living arrangement or drug abuse
treatment program.

3. Cost of Monitor. The institution, community living
arrangement or drug abuse treatment program shall pay the costs
associated with the placement of the monitor unless the
Commissioner's order placing the monitor is determined to be invalid in
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a contested case proceeding under the Georgia Administrative
Procedure Act, Chapter 13 of Title 50,

{d} Emergency Prohibition of Admissions. The Commissioner may
order the emergency prohibition of admissions to an institution,
community living arrangement or drug abuse treatment program when
such facility has failed to correct a violation of departmental permit
rules within a reasonable period of time, as specified in the
department's corrective order, and the violation could either jeopardize
the health and safety of the residents/patients if allowed to remain
uncorrected or is a repeat violation over a twelve {12) month period,
which is intentional or due to gross negligence.

(e) Emergency Suspension of Admissions. The Commissioner may
order admissions to an institution, community living or drug abuse
treatment program, may be suspended until the department has
determined that the violation has been corrected or until the
department has determined that the facility has undertaken the action
necessary to effect correction of the violation.

(f) Preliminary Hearing. The institution, community living
arrangement or drug abuse treatment program affected by the
Commissioner's emergency order, may request that the department
hold a preliminary hearing within the department on the validity of the
order and the need for its continuation. Such hearing shall occur within
ten {10) days following the request.

1.  Arequest for a preliminary hearing shall be made in writing to
the representative of the department designated in the emergency
order. Unless a request is made to appear in person, the preliminary
hearing shall consist of an administrative review of the record, written
evidence submitted by the institution affected, and a preliminary
written argument in support of its contentions.

2. Ifarequestis made to appear in person at the preliminary
hearing, the following information shall be included in the request, or
provided prior to the hearing:
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{i.} the name and address of person or persons, if any, who will be
representing the institution in the preliminary hearing;

{ii.} the names and titles of all other persons who will attend the
preliminary hearing; and

{iii.} any additional evidence the institution wishes to submit for
consideration at the hearing.

3.  Upon receipt of a request for a preliminary hearing, the
department shall set and give notice of the date, time, and location of
the preliminary hearing. The preliminary hearing shall be held within ten
(10) calendar days of receipt of the request.

4. If a personal appearance is requested, the preliminary hearing
shall consist of a review of the evidence in the record; any additional
evidence introduced at the hearing; and any arguments made. A sound
recording shall be made of the hearing.

5. Within seven (7) calendar days of the close of the preliminary
hearing, the department shall render a written decision. The decision
shall be divided as follows:

{i.} description of additional evidence submitted by the affected
institution;

{ii.} summary of the arguments and/or brief submitted by the
institution in support of its contention that the emergency order is
invalid,

{iii.} a statement as to whether the emergency order issued by the
department is found valid and the reasons therefore; and

fiv.d notice of the affected institution's right to obtain an
administrative hearing regarding the Commissioner's emergency order
pursuant to 0.C.G.A. § 50-13-13, if the emergency order is found valid
as a result of the department's preliminary hearing.
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6. Pending final appeal of the validity of any emergency order
issued as provided herein through the administrative hearing process,
such emergency order shall remain in full effect until vacated or
rescinded by the Commissioner.

(g} Cumulative Remedy. The department is not limited to a single
emergency action under these rules, nor is the department preciuded
from other actions permitted by other law or regulations during the
time an emergency order is in force.

{(4) Standards for Taking Sanctions. In taking any of the actions
pursuant to subparagraphs (1)}, {2) or (3) of this rule, the department
shall consider the seriousness of the violation or violations, including
the circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act or acts or
failure to act, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the physical
or emotional health and safety of the public.

{5} Non-Compliance with Sanctions. Failure on the part of any
facility to abide by any sanction, including payment of a fine, which is
finally imposed against it, shall constitute grounds for the impaosition of
additional sanctions, including revocation.

{6) Settlements. With regard to any contested case instituted by
the department pursuant to this Chapter or other provisions of law or
regulation which may now or hereafter authorize remedial or
disciplinary grounds and action, the department may, in its discretion,
dispose of the action so instituted by settlement. in such cases, the
department, the facility, and those persons deemed by the department
to be successors in interest to any settlement agreement, shall be
bound by the terms specified therein. Violation thereof by any applicant
or licensee, their agents, employees, or others acting on their behalf,
shall constitute grounds for the imposition of any sanctions enumerated
in this Chapter, including revocation.

{(7) Sanctions for Nursing Facilities. With respect to any facility
classified as a nursing facility, nursing home, or intermediate care hame,
the department may not take an action to fine or restrict the license of
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any such facility based on the same act, occurrence, or omission for
which: the facility has received an intermediate sanction under the
provisions of 42 U.5.C. § 1396 r(h)(2)(A), as amended, or 42 U.S.C. §
1395 i - 3{h})(2){B); or such facility has been served formal notice of
intent to take such a sanction which the Division of Medical Assistance,
hased on administrative review, or any other appropriate body, based
on administrative or judicial review, determines not to impose, provided
however, that nothing in this subparagraph shall prohibit the
department from using the provisions authorized by law in paragraph
(5) above.

Authority: 0.C.G.A, §§. 31-2-8, 31-7-2.2 and 31-7-4.
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