
ADULT DAY CENTER APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 

For your convenience, an application checklist has been created to outline the required documents for 

each application submission.  Please upload all required documents in the Adult Day Center (ADC) 

application packet.  As a reminder, all policies and procedures must be established as part of the 

requirements for regulations and readily available upon request.  

 

Upon application submission and payment, if required, you will receive an acknowledgement 

email.  Applications are reviewed in the order they are received by our office.  The initial 

review time frame is 30 business days from the application submission date.   

 

The official rules for Adult Day Center are on record with the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office at 

http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/.  A courtesy copy of the rules for Adult Day Center can be found on 

Healthcare Facility Regulation Division website at https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-

facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations . 

 

The online application portal can be accessed at https://gahles.dch.georgia.gov/.  All correspondence 

regarding the status of your application will be sent to the email address provided for the contact person 

on your application. If additional documentation is required, you will receive an email from 

hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov  containing a link to the application portal and a verification code. 

Please open the email, copy the invitation code, and paste it into the provided link to check your 

application status. Upload the requested documents, confirm that all documents have been uploaded, 

and click submit. A confirmation email will be sent, indicating that your documents will be reviewed 

within 14 business days. Failure to upload the requested documents will result in the denial of your 

application. 
 

For information regarding Change of Ownership (CHOW), review Frequently Asked Questions on DCH 

website - https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facilities-provider-information/hfrdchowfaq. 

For questions regarding ADC Regulations, surveys, plan of corrections, permits, facility letters, 

Administrator and/or contact information update, i.e., email address, phone numbers, email the PCH 

Team at pchprogram.hfrd@dch.ga.gov . 

 

For general application questions, email the HFRD Applications and Waivers Team at 

hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov . 

 

Note:  Application fees are non-refundable.  All licensure fees must be paid in full prior to 

receiving a permit or license. 

 
Initial  
1.  Evidence from Georgia Secretary of State that the corporation, LLC, etc. Is registered, if applicable. If 
not applicable, provide other supporting documentation showing legal authority.   
2.  Documentation of city/county zoning approval or applicable documents 
3.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
4.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Frules.sos.state.ga.us%2Fcgi-bin%2Fpage.cgi%3Fd%3D1&data=04%7C01%7Csandy.dawson%40dch.ga.gov%7C3cdcf1116ee54b84749308d9b4d17163%7C512da10d071b4b948abc9ec4044d1516%7C0%7C0%7C637739633946343711%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000&sdata=V%2BMM%2FT8BDKir0cNWLZau0VY%2BwnXkuusJ5oCTZC95QKU%3D&reserved=0
https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations
https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/healthcare-facility-regulation/hfr-laws-regulations
https://gahles.dch.georgia.gov/
mailto:hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov
https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facilities-provider-information/hfrdchowfaq
mailto:pchprogram.hfrd@dch.ga.gov
mailto:hfrd.applicationswaivers@dch.ga.gov


5.  A copy of proof of ownership/legal control of the property (deed, lease, or bill of sale)  

6.  Fire Safety Inspection Report with no violations or hazards identified from the appropriate fire safety 

authority showing capacity load (inspection must be dated within 6 months of the application 

submission date) 

7.  Floor Sketch (label all rooms, doors, windows and provide measurements for all common areas) 

8.  Administrator & Owner Survey Form signed and dated by the Owner (must list all Individual Owners 

with 10% or more ownership interest). 

Note:  If there are no individuals that own 10% or more interest, provide a letter on the company 

letterhead stating this information. The letter must be signed by the owner or owner representative.   

9.  Satisfactory determination letter, dated within 12 months of the application submission date, from 

the DCH Georgia Criminal History Check System (GCHEXS). All administrators and individual owners with 

10% or more ownership interest must complete a fingerprint-based background check through GCHEXS. 

The owner of the facility may request access to GCHEXS by going to GCHEX.  For Fingerprint Background 

Check rules and regulations, visit the Secretary of State website at  111-8-12.  For additional 

information, please visit DCH OIG, or by calling at 404-463-7154 or by emailing at 

gchexs.user@dch.ga.gov . 

10.  Written approval for water source and sewage disposal system, i.e., water bill with sewage charges.  
If the facility uses a septic system, complete the Water and Septic Tank Report Form.  If the water is not 
provided by the city or county water system, provide a copy of a current water test (test must be dated 
within 6 months of application submission date).  
11.  A food service permit is required for adult day centers licensed to care for 24 or more participants.    

12.  A list of any other Adult Day Centers operated by the governing body. 

13.  If transportation services are provided, please provide proof of insurance coverage for 

property damage, uninsured motorist, bodily injury, and proof of vehicle registration. 

14.  A list of location mobile Adult Day Centers operated by the governing body (Name and Address) 

15. A copy of the Registered Nurse License (A current RN license is required for Adult Day Health 

Service/Medical Model) 

16.  Pictures of accessible Bathroom and Shower  

17.  Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees) 

 

Change of Ownership (CHOW) 

1. Evidence from Georgia Secretary of State that the corporation, LLC, etc. is registered, if applicable.  If 
not applicable, provide other supporting documentation showing legal authority. 
2. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 

3. Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 

4. Copy of the executed legal transaction documents for the business entity (Bill of Sale, closing 

documents, etc.).  This document must be signed by the previous governing body/owner and disclose 

the effective date of change of ownership/closing. 

Note:  While the sale is pending, the CHOW application can be submitted and note that the bill of sale 

will be submitted when the sale is completed.  This will allow HFR to start the review process prior to 

the ownership change. 

5.  A copy of proof of ownership/legal control of the property (deed, lease, or bill of sale)  
6.  Administrator & Owner Survey Form signed and dated by the Owner (must list all Individual Owners 
with 10% or more ownership interest). 

https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facility-licensure/georgia-criminal-history-check-system-gchexs
https://rules.sos.ga.gov/search.aspx?sortby=&hierarchysearch=yes&searchWithin=&wc=&query=background%20check&searchvalue=Subject%20111-8-12.%20RULES%20AND%20REGULATIONS%20FOR%20CRIMINAL%20BACKGROUND%20CHECKS
https://dch.georgia.gov/georgia-criminal-history-check-system-gchexs
mailto:gchexs.user@dch.ga.gov


Note:  If there are no individuals that own 10% or more interest, provide a letter on the company 

letterhead stating this information. The letter must be signed by the owner or owner representative.  

7.  Satisfactory determination letter, dated within 12 months of the application submission date, from 

the DCH Georgia Criminal History Check System (GCHEXS). All administrators and individual owners with 

10% or more ownership interest must complete a fingerprint-based background check through GCHEXS. 

The owner of the facility may request access to GCHEXS by going to GCHEX.  For Fingerprint Background 

Check rules and regulations, visit the Secretary of State website at  111-8-12.  For additional 

information, please visit DCH OIG, or by calling at 404-463-7154 or by emailing at 

gchexs.user@dch.ga.gov . 

 
Facility Name Change 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public  
 
Governing Body Name Change (not a change of ownership) 
1.  Evidence from Georgia Secretary of State that the corporation, LLC, etc. is registered, if applicable.  If 
not applicable, provide other supporting documentation showing legal authority. 
2.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
3.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
4.  Administrator & Owner Survey Form signed and dated by the Owner (must list all Individual Owners 
with 10% or more ownership interest). 
Note: If there are no individuals that own 10% or more interest, provide a letter on the company 
letterhead stating this information. The letter must be signed by the owner or owner representative.  

 
Decrease in capacity 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification  
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public  
 
Increase in capacity 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification  
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public  
3.  Fire Safety Inspection Report with no violations or hazards identified from the appropriate fire safety 

authority showing capacity load (inspection must be dated within 6 months of the application 

submission date)  
4.  Floor Sketch (label all rooms, doors, windows and provide measurements for all common areas) 

 
Change of Service Level from Adult Day Service to Adult Day Health Service 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public  
3.  A copy of the Registered Nurse License 
4.  Pictures of accessible Bathroom and Shower 
 
Change of Service Level from Adult Day Health Service to Adult Day Center 
1. Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2. Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public. 
 
Conversion from Adult Day Center to Personal Care Home 
1.  Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.  Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
3.  Documentation of city/county zoning approval or applicable documents  
4.  Fire Safety Inspection Report with no violations or hazards identified by the appropriate fire safety 
authority showing capacity load (inspection must be dated within 12 months of the application 
submission date).  A sprinkler system is required for 7 or more beds.   

https://dch.georgia.gov/divisionsoffices/hfrd/facility-licensure/georgia-criminal-history-check-system-gchexs
https://rules.sos.ga.gov/search.aspx?sortby=&hierarchysearch=yes&searchWithin=&wc=&query=background%20check&searchvalue=Subject%20111-8-12.%20RULES%20AND%20REGULATIONS%20FOR%20CRIMINAL%20BACKGROUND%20CHECKS
https://dch.georgia.gov/georgia-criminal-history-check-system-gchexs
mailto:gchexs.user@dch.ga.gov


5.  Electrical Inspection Compliance Form with no violations or hazards identified from a 
Georgia licensed electrician and the electrician’s State license number (inspection must be 
dated within 6 months of the application submission date). 
6. Floor Sketch (label all rooms, bedroom measurements, location of all doors, windows and bed 
placement for residents, provider’s personal living quarters, and staff)  
7.  Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees) 

 

Conversion from Adult Day Care to Community Living Arrangement 

1.   Notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification 
2.   Copy of photo ID that was shown to the notary public 
3.  Fire Safety Inspection Report with no violations or hazards identified by the appropriate fire safety 
authority showing capacity load (inspection must be dated within 12 months of the application 
submission date).  A sprinkler system is required for 7 or more beds.   
4.  Electrical Inspection Compliance Form with no violations or hazards identified from a 
Georgia licensed electrician and the electrician’s State license number (inspection must be 
dated within 6 months of the application submission date). 
5. Floor Sketch (label all rooms, bedroom measurements, location of all doors, windows and bed 
placement for residents, provider’s personal living quarters, and staff) 
6.  Licensure fee (see Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees) 

 



O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(f)(1)(B) Affidavit 
 

By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a license, permit or 
registration, as referenced in O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1, from the Department of Community 
Health, State of Georgia, the undersigned applicant verifies one of the following with 
respect to my application for a public benefit: 

 

________ 
 
________ 
 
_________ 

I am a United States citizen. 
 

I am a legal permanent resident of the United States. 
 

I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal 
Immigration and Nationality Act with an alien number issued by the 
Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration 
agency. 

 
My alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security 
or other federal immigration agency is:  _ 

 

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years of age or older 
and has provided at least one secure and verifiable document, as required by O.C.G.A. 
§ 50-36-1(f)(1)(A), with this affidavit. 

 
The secure and verifiable document provided with this affidavit can best be classified 
as:    

 
In making the above representation under oath, I understand that any person who 
knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation 
in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20, and face criminal 
penalties as allowed by such criminal statute. 

 
Executed in  (city),  (state). 

 
 
 

Signature of Applicant 
 
 

Printed Name of Applicant 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN 
BEFORE ME ON THIS THE 

DAY OF    

 
 
20   

 
 

 

NOTARY PUBLIC 
My Commission Expires: 



02/01/2012 

Water and Septic Tank Report Form 
 
 
Water and sewage systems must meet applicable federal, state and local standards or 
regulations.  This report form should be completed by the County Environmentalist from 
the County Public Health Department in which the facility is located if the community is 
served by a well and/or a septic tank.  If the community is served by public water 
and sewer, you only need to submit a copy of a current water bill.  
 

 

To be completed by applicant: 
 
Facility Name: __________________________________________________________    
 
Address: ___________________________________ City: ______________________ 
 
County: ___________________________________ Telephone: __________________ 
 
 

 
 

To be completed by the County Environmentalist: 
 
WATER (check only one): 
 
______  The facility’s water supply is from an approved source. 
 
______  The facility’s well has been tested and the report is attached. 
 
 
SEWAGE (check only one): 
 
_______  The facility is connected to a public or community sewage disposal system. 
 
_______  The facility is served by an on-site sewage system adequate for the proposed 

use for ___________________________ residents. 

                             Maximum Number of Residents 

 
 
County Environmentalist: ____________________________   ____________________ 
                                                            Print Name            Title 
 
Signature: _____________________________________   Date: __________________ 



 

 

 

  

Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees  
 

 
  

Licensure Activity Fee Frequency 

Application Processing Fees: 

• New Application 

• Change of Ownership 

• Change in Service Level (Requiring on site visit) 

• Name Change 

$300 Upon submission 

Initial License Fee 

(Same an annual licensure activity fee for each program 

type) 

Varies by program Submitted prior to 

issuance of license 

Involuntary Application Processing fee after unlicensed 

complaint investigation 

$550  

Follow-up visit to periodic inspection  $250 License renewal date 

 

License Type 

 

 

Fee 

 

Frequency 

Adult Day Centers    
Social Model $250 Annually 

Medical Model $350 Annually 

Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Centers (ASC)* $750 Annually 

Assisted Living Communities (ALC)   

25 to 50 beds $750 Annually 

                                                            51 or more beds $1,500 Annually 

Birthing Centers $250 Annually 

Community Living Arrangements*(CLA) $350 Annually 

Drug Abuse Treatment Programs* (DATEP) $500 Annually 

End Stage Renal Disease Centers (ESRD)   

1 – 12 stations $600 Annually 

13 - 24 stations 1,000 Annually 

25 or more stations $1,100 Annually 

Stand Alone ESRD Facilities Offering Peritoneal Dialysis Only $800 Annually 

Home Health Agencies*(HHA) $1,000 Annually 

Hospices*(HSPC) $1,000 Annually 

Hospitals*   

1 to 24 beds $250 Annually 

25 to 50 beds $750 Annually 

51 or more beds $1,500 Annually 

ICFMRs - Intermediate Care Facilities / MR 

(private)  

$250 Annually 

Narcotic Treatment Programs (NTP)  $1,500 Annually 

Memory Care Certificate  
for Assisted Living/Personal Care Homes  

$200 Annually 



 
 

 
   

 

 

Nursing Homes   

1 to 99 beds $500 Annually 

100 or more beds $750 Annually 

Personal Care Homes (PCH)   

                                                                   2 to 24 beds $350 Annually 

25 to 50 beds $750 Annually 

51 or more beds $1,500 Annually 

Private Home Care Providers*(PHCP)  Per Service  

Companion Sitting $250 Annually 

Personal Care Services $250 Annually 

Nursing Services $250 Annually 

Traumatic Brain Injury Facilities $250 Annually 

X-ray Registration $300 Initial Registration Only 

 

MISCELLANEOUS FEES  

 

Civil monetary penalties as finally determined  Case-by-case basis 

Late Fee – 60 days past due $150 Per instance 

Permit replacement $50 Per request 

List of Facilities by license type (electronic only) $25 Per request 

Returned Check Charge- as assessed by bank < $50 Per instance 

 

ACCREDITATION DISCOUNT INFORMATION 

 

 

*Eligible for a 25% discount if currently accredited by a nationally recognized accreditation organization 

approved by the department as having standards comparable to specific state licensure requirements and a 

complete copy of the current decision is submitted to the department at the time of annual license fee renewal.  

Currently the department will accept current accreditation at the level Medicare (CMS) accepts for deemed 

status from a CMS approved organization.  Below is the list of the current accreditation organizations approved 

by this department.  

 

Accreditation Organization Program 

Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC)  Ambulatory Surgery 

Accreditation Commission for Health Care, Inc (ACHC) CLA, HHA, Hospice, PHCP 

American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities (AAAASF) Ambulatory Surgery 

American Osteopathic Association Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program 

(AOA/HFAP) 

CAH, ASC, Hospital 

Center for Improvement in Healthcare Quality (CIHQ) Hospital 

Commission on the Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) CLA, DATEP, PHCP 

Community Health Accreditation Program (CHAP) Hospice, PHCP 

Council on Accreditation (COA) CLA, DATEP 

Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL) CLA, DATEP, PHCP 

Det Norske Veritas Healthcare (DNV Healthcare) CAH, Hospital 

The Joint Commission (JC) ASC, CAH, CLA, DATEP, 

HHA, Hospice, Hospital, 

PHCP 
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