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Overview 
�  �You may keep your health coverage if you are eligible to receive 

a monthly retirement benefit from a Georgia-sponsored retirement 
system and are enrolled in State Health Benefit Plan (SHBP) coverage at 
the time you retire. You cannot begin SHBP coverage after you retire.

��  �You cannot continue your health insurance if you take a lump sum 
distribution from a Georgia-sponsored retirement system and do 
not receive a monthly retirement benefit payment.

��  �Your eligible dependents must also be enrolled in SHBP coverage at 
the time you retire to continue their coverage. Dependents may not 
be added after retirement unless you experience a qualifying event.

�  �Your health insurance automatically “rolls over” into retirement with 
the same coverage tier and dependents you currently have covered 
if you are receiving your annuity from the Employees Retirement 
System, Teachers Retirement System or the Public School Employees 
Retirement System. However, if you and/or a covered dependent are 
covered by Medicare, coverage will roll to the Medicare Advantage  
(MA) PPO Standard Plan of the health care vendor the retiree had 
as an active employee, provided SHBP has received and processed 
your Medicare information. If you are covered by another Georgia-
sponsored Retirement System, you must complete a Retiree/Surviving 
Spouse form to continue your health insurance in retirement.

�  �Once you are set up as a retiree at a Georgia-sponsored retirement 
system, you will receive a letter from SHBP that allows you to 
change your option and tier within 31 days of retirement.

 ��You may change coverage to a lower tier or discontinue your 
coverage at anytime, but once you discontinue the coverage, you 
cannot get it back unless you return to work in a position that 
offers SHBP coverage.

 ��If your address changes, you must notify SHBP to continue 
receiving health plan information. SHBP is not responsible if you 
fail to receive plan information or miss an opportunity or deadline 
because you did not keep your mailing address updated with 
SHBP. Please send a letter with the retiree’s name, social security 
number and new address to SHBP, P.O. Box 1990, Atlanta, GA 
30301-1990.
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Medicare and You
 ��If you are actively working for the state 
at age 65 or older, SHBP will pay primary 
benefits on you and your spouse; you are 
not required to enroll for Medicare until 
you retire.

 ��Medicare does not impose penalties if 
you enroll in Medicare after becoming 
eligible if you were actively working and 
had creditable group health insurance. 
However, you must apply within Medicare’s 
time limits once you retire. For information 
regarding Medicare enrollment, call 
1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) or visit 
the website at www.medicare.gov.

Note: The prescription drug coverage under the 
HDHP is not considered creditible coverage.  If you 
delay enrollment in a Part D Plan or SHBP Medicare 
Advantage  PPO — even if you are actively working 
past age 65 — Medicare will penalize you for late 
enrollment. You will pay the penalty every month 
thereafter.  
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If you and your spouse are retired and under age 65 without Medicare
 ��The $80 tobacco (if you or your spouse is a smoker) and $50 spousal surcharges apply

 ��SHBP will remain your primary insurer and options and premiums will be the same as an active employee until you or 
your spouse turn 65.

When you and/or your spouse or eligible dependents reach age 65 or become eligible for Medicare  
 ��You should enroll in Medicare Parts A and B as soon as you are eligible. Part A covers hospitalization and B covers 
your physician visits, tests etc.

 ��You will pay a higher premium until the SHBP receives proof of your Medicare enrollment and the change in 
premium is processed by the retirement system. You should submit a copy of your Medicare card to the SHBP the first 
of the month prior to the month you turn 65 to: SHBP, P. O. Box 1990, Atlanta, GA 30301-1990 or via our secure fax line 
at 866-828-4796.

 ��You must enroll in one of the Medicare Advantage (MA) PPO Standard or Premium plans if you wish to continue to 
receive the state contribution toward your health insurance premiums.

 ��CMS requires a physical address for MA enrollment. If the only address SHBP has on file is a PO Box, your request for 
enrollment in one of the SHBP MA PPO options will be denied by CMS.

 ��Delay in submission of Medicare information does not qualify for a refund of the difference in premiums.

 ��The SHBP MA PPO options include Part D, prescription drug coverage. You should enroll in Medicare Part D only 
if you wish to be covered in the HRA, HMO or HDHP option. If you enroll in one of these options you will pay the 
entire cost of the premium.

 ��You must continue to pay your Part B Premium to continue enrollment in a Medicare Advantage Plan. 

 ��You may enroll in the HRA, HMO, HDHP options, but you will pay the entire cost of the premium.

Changing Options
 ��An annual Retiree Option Change Period (ROCP) is held each fall and corresponds with the annual open enrollment 
period. During this time period, you may change your option for the next plan year. An ROCP packet will be mailed to 
your home prior to the start of the ROCP. Please make sure SHBP has your correct address. 
 ���Any changes made during the ROCP will be effective the following January 1.

Qualifying Events
Qualifying events allow you to make changes in your health insurance. You must submit the request to SHBP within 
31 days (90 days for newborn) prior to or after the qualifying event. The effective date of the change in coverage will 
be the first of the month following the request. If SHBP needs more information, you will receive a letter requesting 
information. If SHBP receives the documentation within the Plan Year, coverage will be retroactive to the later of the 
qualifying event date or the first of the Plan year. If the request is not received within this time frame, you will not be 
able to add the dependent to your coverage unless you experience another qualifying event.

Please refer to the Summary Plan Description for a complete detailed list of Qualifying Events.

Note: If you delay Medicare Part D/Medicare Advantage PPO enrollment for any reason including if actively working, you may pay 
a penalty if you enroll in a MA PPO or Part D Plan at a later date. 
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Surviving Spouses (living spouse of a deceased retiree) and eligible dependents  
If your surviving spouse or eligible children will receive(s) an annuity:

 ��Apply within 90 days of retiree’s death

 ��Current coverage can continue

 ���Premium will be deducted from annuity if the annuity is large enough to cover the premium; if not, payments must 
be made directly to the Plan 

 ��New dependents cannot be added to coverage 

If your surviving spouse will not receive an annuity:

 Coverage can continue if married at least one year

 Apply within 90 days of retiree’s death

 Premium paid directly to Plan

 Coverage ends if spouse remarries

 New dependents cannot be added to coverage

If your surviving child will not receive an annuity and there is no surviving spouse, the child may continue the 
coverage for 36 months through COBRA provisions.

What if you and your spouse both work for the state and are eligible for SHBP 
coverage?
 �If you need you + family coverage because you need to cover a dependent, the retiree or active employee may take 
you + family coverage. However, if the retiree will be covering the entire family instead of the active spouse, the 
retiree must have picked up you + family coverage during the last Open Enrollment period as an active employee.

 �If you are retiring and are covered as a dependent under your active spouse’s SHBP coverage, you have two options:

■ Remain as a covered dependent under your active spouse’s coverage, or

■ Enroll in coverage for you only during the last Open Enrollment period as an active employee.  

 �If one spouse is retired and the other spouse is still actively working, when your last dependent becomes ineligible 
for coverage, the active employee can change tier to you-only and the retiree can enroll in you-only coverage. The 
request must be submitted for both members within 31 days of the qualifying event. Both members must request 
the change to you-only. One cannot keep family coverage while the other requests you-only. 

 �If you and your spouse are retired, covered by SHBP and are both drawing a monthly retirement benefit from a 
Georgia sponsored retirement system, you may change from you + spouse or you + family coverage to each having a 
lower tier at any time. (The request for you and your spouse must be filed at the same time.)

For more detailed information, please refer to the Decision Guide or Summary Plan Descriptions (SPD) available at 
www.dch.georgia.gov/shbp.

Disclaimer: This material is for informational purposes. It is intended only to highlight principal eligibility and benefits. 
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